We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Resort Bonaire
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Kralendijk
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun Experience”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Plaza Resort is a little frayed around the edges in ways, but overall, is a nice place to stay and a good hotel experience. The staff is very accomodating and helpful and take care of problems and requests immediately. We checked in very late, that is, about 2:00 a.m., due to flying the worst airline in history, Dutch Antilles Express- do NOT ever fly this airline, but that's another story. When we checked in the A/C was not working, but when we called the desk about it in the morning, it was fixed and working great by the time we returned from breakfast. I called the desk and requested coffee creamers, and it arrived at the door in less than five minutes. The staff was very pleasant to deal with, with the exception of one female employee at the dining room, who complained that I was taking ice for my cooler from the restaurant as we had been told to do, because the regular ice maker was not working. When I told her that we were instructed to take ice from the dining room, she gave me the "you're full of it" look and stomped off. This lady needs instruction about the cusomer being king. The resort needs a little restoration in places- there are broken/missing tiles in the pool and some wood decks and fences are on their last legs. The location is good, close to the downtown area restaurants and bars etc. The dive shop was very helpful with information regarding dive/snorkel locations and safety info. There is actually only one restaurant open, as the Tipsy Seagull was closed for renovation during our visit. The Coconut Crash bar was very enjoyable and had great friendly bartenders, Liss and Walter. The beach area is very rocky, and difficult to enter the water due to the rocks, but this seems true for all the water entries on the island in our experience. The Plaza is a work in progress in some ways, but I would recommend it as a nice place to stay in Bonaire.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael700348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazaresortbonaire1, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Micheal, thank you for visiting Plaza Resort Bonaire. As you mentioned the resort is still a work in progress, hereby I mean that till now, the resort is not renovated completely. With a great team of strong men we're working on it every day. Though, we absolutely make sure our guests can enjoy their holiday in peace and in private.
We regret your negative experience with the female employee during your time in the restaurant. We'll approach this comment and make sure this won't happen again. Especially since we focus on a higher level of service nowadays, which you fortunately experienced with our front office.
Thank you for your comments, which enables us to do something about it.
Hope to see you again in Plaza Resort Bonaire. Kindest regards, the Plaza team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    353
    179
    91
    68
See reviews for
174
388
34
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is the second time I have been to PRB with 2 friends from US. The trip was for diving and we had been here in August of 2012, making it our second trip. The package price from travel agent made it more attractive than several other Caribbean locations. The resort was not too full and we found the rooms, quality of food, and dive services were much the same as last year (which is to say overall good) Had a nice room with ocean view (huge) Our room had an ac and sink problem upon arrival, and when we contacted the desk, maintenance was sent immediately and had it fixed in about an hour! impressive to me. The only small complaints were some slow service at the Banana tree restaurant at times. The facility and grounds are well-maintained and the people are friendly for the most part. The dive amenities are great, with a good dive shop, boats, staff and decent shore dives right off of the beach. But if you want to just hang out at the pool or bar you will enjoy that too. They seem to be doing a good job at PBR and I would definitely rec to any divers going to Bonaire!

Room Tip: ocean view and lagoon view rooms are both nice. All rooms seem to be HUGE
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazaresortbonaire1, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Maguson, great to have you once again in the Plaza Resort. We're pleased to hear that we have solved any inconvenience directly and appropriate. Thank you also for writing some improvement points. You mark the slow service at our restaurant. We will consider this and discuss your experience with the restaurant manager. Again thanks for writing a review and would like to see you again in Plaza Resort Bonaire. Kindest regards, W. Watts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Approximately one month ago I posted that due to airline delays in Philadelphia, Delta airlines determined that they were not able to provide flights to Bonaire, our vacation destination. Delta ultimately “cancelled” our flight and refunded our airfare. During this past month, we have spent many hours contacting our trip insurance provider, travel agent, and the Plaza Resort in an attempt to secure a refund or credit for our resort/dive package. Although our trip insurance provider determined that our cancellation circumstances did not qualify us for a reimbursement, I am thrilled to share that the Plaza Resort has granted us full credit for our resort/dive package. We are now looking forward to a wonderful vacation, in September, at the Plaza Resort. I would like to express special appreciation to the management at Plaza Resort, as well as, Debra and Milly at Maduro Dive Fanta-Seas for their exceptional customer care.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Krosedives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazaresortbonaire1, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We, as the Plaza Resort, are very glad to have dealt with this problem in a satisfactory way. We are excited to have you soon in our resort and create a wonderful experience for you! Thank you for your updated review, which is very important to us. Thank you and see you soon in Bonaire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I was with a group of divers that stayed at the Plaza the first week of June. We had a great time!! The food was great with plenty of choices, shore diving was easy always plenty of tanks at the entrances when we needed them. The rooms were huge and the AC was awsome. We stayed in the Lagoon view rooms and they were very nice and easy access to one of the shore dives. Tim the bartender was fantastic made the best Lava flow ever!! My favorite dessert was the chocolate soufflé. Toucan divers was great took us where ever we wanted to go and showed us many of seahorses and frog fish!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazaresortbonaire1, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi Ellan, great that you spend some time to review the Plaza Resort! We're honoured to hear you enjoyed Plaza and Bonaire. We read a lot of surprising comments concerning the Chocolate soufflé, so absolutely not one take out ! ;) Great to hear all those nice words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My family and I return to Bonaire every year or two and decided to try a different resort this time. We chose Plaza Resort because it had all of the amenities we were looking for - especially the all inclusive diving and food package. Sadly, this property failed to impress us and we will probably not be returning. Parts of the resort are very good and parts of it are subpar. The rooms are fine. They are large and have a wonderful air conditioning system. It is very quiet and able to handle the humidity. The resort is close to the airport but you really don't hear the planes unless you are outside. Our patio door was hard to open and there is no rack to hang wet gear on the patio (This IS a dive resort and gear IS wet!!). This would be a very easy fix. The location of the resort is wonderful. The shore dive is a recognized dive site and is sometimes accessed by boats. It has two entries and both are easy. Very nice reef from 30 to approximately 80 feet right off of the resort. The dive operation had great dive masters and the boats were well appointed. We dove three days in the morning and then were switched to the afternoon dives. I spoke with the manager of the shop and was told we had been moved to the afternoon so they could accomodate the large groups in the morning because that was what they had requested. I informed her that was what we had requested too but was told basically "too bad". I suggested one day morning, next day afternoon as that seemed equitable and was told no. This threw our whole schedule off and was definitly not appreciated.
The food at the resort was good - both off of the buffet and the menu. The chef did make accomodations for special orders which was appreciated. The buffet is plentiful and the menu extensive enough for most people. It did include two vegetarian choices. The service in the restaurant is absolutely horrible. We had to get up and ask for a menu most nights and then wait and wait to place an order.
The breaking point were the kids there for a baseball tournament. The Plaza Resort is a large property with many buildings. The management spread these kids around the whole resort and managed to irritate guests all over. We had many conversations with other guests who were kept up all night by these kids jumping on the floors and yelling at each other well past midnight. We called security almost every night to shut them up but this was slow service too. I realize kids make noise but why not place them all in the same area so as not to disturb everyone???
With a little tweaking and some teaching service to the staff, this could be a wonderful property. Our vacation was okay but it could have been wonderful. Too bad.

Room Tip: Rooms near the ocean are the farthest from the dive shop. If you shore dive, you will be lugging ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank topdivemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazaresortbonaire1, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Madam, first of all I want to thank you for reviewing Plaza Resort Bonaire. With interest, we've read your review. Sadly enough, Plaza haven't been your ideal accommodation this time. We take responsibility for the miscommunication, which occurred accidentally. Besides, we appreciate your praising words about the room, restaurant, buffet and facilities. Yet, we also take notice from your comments and tips, which we do see as improvement points. We would like to thank you again for this review and would like to have you again in Plaza Resort Bonaire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We just returned from a week at the Plaza Resort and it was very enjoyable. Apparently, it is under new ownership and has improved immensely, but it still missed the mark on a number of things. I'd actually put it between Average and Very Good, but the "misses" knocked it down to Average. There is an all-inclusive option but we did not use it and were very glad we didn't. We had breakfast included and then ordered off the menu for lunch and went into town for dinner. There are plenty of very reasonable, VERY good restaurants which are better than the buffet food at the resort.

Pro:

Great location, easy access to the airport and very little airport noise since it's not that busy. The dive operation was excellent (according to the two divers with me) and a rental truck gave them access to many different sites and easy access to town for dinners.
The hotel upgraded us to an ocean-facing Grand Suite which was very spacious. Easy access to the beach, pool and bar with plenty of storage and a refrigerator.
The beach is very nice and snorkeling and swimming in the lagoon were great. Bring along water shoes even to just swim because the entries are very rocky, but once you are in it's terrific.
The Tuesday night beach barbeque is worth it! Excellent ribs (pork and beef), fish and chicken along with multiple salads and desserts.

Cons (always just one step short of the mark):

Lighting on the walkways and at entries is inconsistent - some work, some don't.
The cleaning staff never changed our glasses or mugs the entire week. Additionally, whatever they use to mop the floors does not dry well and is sticky. On our last day we begged the maid NOT to clean the floor because we were trying to dry out dive gear and did not want any more moisture in the room. She refused saying she HAD to do it. Really? What happened to accommodating the customer???
We had three people staying in the room and several times had to call the front desk repeatedly for towels because the maid either left one or none.
The European-style bathrooms (separate toilet from sink/shower/tub) were nice but the shower design was pitiful and you had to put two towels in front of the open side to avoid soaking the floor. We heard of other rooms where two sides of the shower were open which was worse.
We were lucky not to be staying in the area where the little league teams were staying but heard they were very disruptive and they definitely were disruptive around the pool. That's not the resort's fault - their chaperones did not control them well - but it did detract from the experience.
Service in the restaurant was very slow, even when there were only two or three tables. There seems to be such a separation of duties that no one has a customer service attitude. We often had to wait 10 minutes at lunch just to be acknowledged and get a menu.
At breakfast, the omelette cook would often disappear for 10-15 minutes (not good when you are trying to make a dive time). Food would run out and it would take another 10-15 minutes for them to notice and replenish. It's crowded early due to divers but if you arrive around 9 AM, you will have to wait and hope there is food available.

If they work on their customer service and attention to detail, the resort will greatly improve and get better reviews.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of dive equipment opt for the ground level Junior or Grand suites. The stairs to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazaresortbonaire1, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam, I would like to thank you for commenting on Plaza Resort Bonaire. Indeed, we are in a new management team and we're keen that it already is recognized. We're glad to hear your positive reaction towards the room facilities. We'll take your negative experience with the cleaning maid into consideration, since we are upgrading our service level. We take these comments very seriously. Besides, your recommendations regarding diving help future guests planning their activities well. Thank you for this helpful comments. We hope to see you soon again in Plaza Resort Bonaire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We just got back from a week's stay at the Plaza Resort in Bonaire and I have to say that we were very happy with our vacation. Bonaire is a diving paradise and the Plaza was the perfect dive resort with the Toucan dive shop onsite and offering boat dives and shore dive support right from the hotel.
The accommodations were very nice. We stayed in a large and comfortable 1 bedroom with a nice shower and separate tub, great air conditioning and very comfortable bed. There was a fridge in the room and plenty of closet space and table tops so we could spread out all our diving gear.
The service was excellent and provided plenty of extra towels whenever we requested them. And they kept the room especially clean.
We had an all inclusive package and both my wife and I thought the food was very good. I ate from the buffet menu every night (which had a different theme each day) and I was very satisfied. My wife ate off the menu a few times and she thought that was good too. Again the staff was very nice and kept the drinks coming whenever we requested them. I will say that the dinning room staff got a bit confused at most meals, trying to deliver extra deserts to the many guests, but the head chef did a great job preparing the food.
The setting for the Plaza is beautiful, with inlets weaving through the property and boats moored nearby. There is a dive site right on the property that we used for familiarization and enjoyed the many fish we saw on this dive. Some of the common areas were a little run down, i.e. some of the decking boards need to be replaced and some of the tiles on the pool were missing, but overall the grounds were very attractive. There were parrots in the trees and plenty of other fascinating birds and lizards on the open air settings.
We went there with a large group to get in as much diving as we could and the Toucan dive shop on site did not disappoint. They kept filling tanks late into the night to ensure we had all the air we needed. The boats were very well run by expert captains, and our dive master in particular, was excellent. Dorte Muller did a great job keeping the junior level divers safe while ensuring the more experienced divers got in all they wanted to see. We learned about the geography of the area and learned some local folklore too.
If you want to go to a great dive spot and let the hotel spoil you, plan an all inclusive trip to the Plaza Resort. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericsweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazaresortbonaire1, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Eric, thank you for your review of Plaza Resort Bonaire. We're very keen to hear your praising words. We're pleased to have fulfilled your needs, especially to facilitate your diving experience. Thank you for these words, which are beneficial to us and to future guests. Would like to see you soon again in Plaza!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
0.9 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#11 of 21 in Kralendijk
46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 21 in Kralendijk
579 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sorobon Beach & Wellness Resort
2.4 mi away
Buddy Dive
Buddy Dive
#5 of 21 in Kralendijk
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Resort Bonaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Resort Bonaire

Property: Plaza Resort Bonaire
Address: J.A. Abraham Blvd 80, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kralendijk
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kralendijk
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Resort Bonaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoyment without limits, an all-inclusive vacation at Plaza Beach Resort Bonaire. This resort offers 126 spacious air conditioned oversized Suites, both Junior Suites and Grand Suites located either next to the Caribbean Sea or next to the marina laguna. Everything is included: from a delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet in our restaurant with sea view to water sport activities, a diving school and a cozy beach bar. With the best beach on Bonaire and a beautiful swimming pool, there is nothing that will stop you from having a vacation to always remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Plaza Resort Bonaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Resort Bonaire Hotel Kralendijk
Plaza Hotel Bonaire
Plaza Hotel Kralendijk
Plaza Resort Bonaire Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing