We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A big disappointment after all” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Resort Bonaire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plaza Resort Bonaire
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Kralendijk
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A big disappointment after all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I had read the very mixed reviews on this place, but was encouraged in that recent reviews seemed more positive. In the event, it was a disappointment.


The resort is looking a little tired and run down, though the rooms are a grand size and the beds nice and firm. A major complaint was the wifi. For a resort that sets itself as an upmarket alternative, having no wifi for over half my stay - and a very slow one that dropped out ALL the time for the rest - is just not acceptable in this day and age. Like the hotel, it was all just a little underachieving. Be warned - the wet season brings with it a MASS of mosquitoes, so if you scratch, don't come at this time. The food with the "all inclusive" package is pretty ordinary - but then I suppose one is really there for the diving.

And this is where the place REALLY falls down! I have never met a more surly, sour and unhelpful front of house dive staff as here. In 6 days, I was only able to do morning boat dives on one day, because all mornings had been booked by groups. I suggested the dive centre simply switch schedules for one or 2 days, putting the groups on the afternoon, but they were not prepared to do this. Any couples or singles were thus put on afternoon boats. As the same dive masters accompany boats both morning and afternoon, this meant that no deep dives were possible in the afternoon, as the instructors had done 2 deep dives in the morning. There were no lockers available to store gear - which meant lugging it from the dive boat to the room each day (including weight belt) - tedious. The "one size fits all" rental mask was way too small for my face and leaked the whole time. The centre's excuse for all problems was that they were very full with some big groups. My response was that this was the centre's problem, not mine. So - second grade treatment as a single diver. Couples I spoke to had the same reaction. Safety and pre-dive briefings were pretty variable, depending on the dive instructor. The fact that most divers are experienced is no excuse to slack off on safety etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravellingAussie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazaresortbonaire1, Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your review and appreciate you taking the time to let us know of our short comings and what needs to be improved. We have taken note of your points as described.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    303
    153
    83
    66
See reviews for
143
339
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had a great stay there at thanksgiving. Been going there for about 8 years and it is always a good time. Toucan diving does a great job, and Jackson is a great Captain. Will go back again next year. If they are available, ask for the Grand suite Ocean, they are the best rooms at the resort. The Banana Tree resturant is good for breakfast and lunch. The Tipsy Seagull is a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Take a Grand Suite Ocean, best at the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GBHSENOIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazaresortbonaire1, Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your review and your positive comments about the Plaza Resort Bonaire. Thank you for kind words on the staff and this will be shared with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Plaza Resort offers very good value overall, the room was very nice, the diving was good at Toucan with Frank and Hermann, and the hotel staff was very friendly to us and treated us well. The all inclusive package is hard to beat with all food and drinks taken care of, food at the Tipsy Seagull was a bit extra but well worth it. The only negative I could think of is the food in main dining area could stand some improvement, but overall the experience was very positive. The shore diving was good as well, and the hotel property was well laid out. Bring Skin so Soft to keep the bugs off, and you will have a great time. We will definitely be going back ...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMACK232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazaresortbonaire1, Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We appreciate the time which you have taken to share your vacation experience while at our beautiful Resort. We appreciate your feedback as it will better assist us in improving the present product that we have. We are grateful for your positive comments about our all inclusive package and the service of our staff. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I enjoyed the hotel. It seemed adequately maintained and included all the amenities. The facilities are created and arranged for diving. They make easy to dive. The week I spent in Bonaire I never left the hotel unless it was to shore dive. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazaresortbonaire1, Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment your recent vacation spent at our Resort. We are grateful for your positive comments about the diving and our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a great stay at Plaza for our dive vacation. Based on previous reviews I had some reservations about staying but the all inclusive package was attractive enough to give it a try. For this review I will contrast some of the negative comments I read with our actual experience.
Junior suite lagoon view is very large. No problem with 3 adults. Our room was cleaned daily and we recieved new towels each day. We just ate at the Banana Tree buffet. Overall the food was excellent. I would agree the breakfast buffet was not so good but they had granola cereal that I liked. It is a buffet so there is not the typical come by the table all the time service. If we needed something we just asked-no problem. For the couple of meals I did not like, I just ordered pizza and it was pretty good. Free internet service worked best at the bar and restaurant but it also worked in the balcony end of our room. The dive operation was also excellent. We got our paperwork and checkout stuff taken care of the afternoon we arrived. The boat was never crowded. They made sure we went to a wide variety of sites and helped us decide on our shore dives. We were never rushed to get out of the water or to get back to the dock. Bonaire means shore diving and that operation worked fine as well. Back up the truck and load up the gear - no problems. The all inclusive band was not uncomfortable to me! Walk up to the bar- grab a drink. Hanging out at the dive shop? Grab a drink. Hungry? All you can eat buffetts for breakfast lunch and dinner! We had an issue with the car rental but it was resolved to my satisfaction over the phone. If I go back to Bonaire I will stay at Plaza Resort again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tbjones33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazaresortbonaire1, Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing with us your review based on your past vacation experiences here at the Plaza Resort Bonaire. We are grateful for your positive comments and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The renovated rooms are huge, most are ocean front, and they are very comfortable. The free internet works ok, and there's a lot of space for clothes and gear in the room. Showers should be modified to avoid spilling water all over the bathroom and even the room! The whole complex has a very nice and tranquil atmosphere, and I would recommend it to my friends. The service however was quite poor, but it seems its a common problem in Curacao and Bonaire. Our phone kept ringing without any one calling (at 1am, 3am...) and we could not get it fixed even after calling and asking twice. The room was made every day, but not really cleaned. Food was mediocre at best. The dive shop staff were nice and the only helpful people in the hotel. Bring repellent, mosquitoes are bad everywhere on the island, including the hotel...

Room Tip: Definitively ask for a renovated room! Also, if you're diving, ask for a room as near as possibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andreawwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazaresortbonaire1, Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your excellent comments about the resort and the staff of Plaza Resort Bonaire and we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in a junior suite, lagoon view. Loved the location with beach in front and lagoon behind however this resort is in need of rennovation. The reception area has broken steps and is very dark, the bedroom although a great size was very dated, the pool steps were missing a lot of tiles making them quite rough and the treadmill in the fitness room had a large tear down the middle of it. Dinner in the Tipsy Seagull was great, food in the main restaurant was average. We loved the beach bar which is right in the sand. If you're looking for somewhere for a short stay for diving then I would recommend it, but it's not the best looking or most luxurious place if you're just looking to chill in the sun.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
0.9 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#11 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
1.9 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#3 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
2.6 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 21 in Kralendijk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sorobon Beach Resort
Sorobon Beach Resort
#12 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Resort Bonaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Resort Bonaire

Property: Plaza Resort Bonaire
Address: J.A. Abraham Blvd 80, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kralendijk
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kralendijk
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Resort Bonaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoyment without limits, an all-inclusive vacation at Plaza Beach Resort Bonaire. This resort offers 126 spacious air conditioned oversized Suites, both Junior Suites and Grand Suites located either next to the Caribbean Sea or next to the marina laguna. Everything is included: from a delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet in our restaurant with sea view to water sport activities, a diving school and a cozy beach bar. With the best beach on Bonaire and a beautiful swimming pool, there is nothing that will stop you from having a vacation to always remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Plaza Resort Bonaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Resort Bonaire Hotel Kralendijk
Plaza Hotel Bonaire
Plaza Hotel Kralendijk
Plaza Resort Bonaire Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing