We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sand Dollar Condominiums
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed at the Sand Dollar from July 26 to August 2nd. We stayed the unit C-6. Our unit was beautifully appointed and fully furnished ( completely stock kitchen ). The balcony is huge and fully furnished so anyone can enjoy a beautiful ocenview at any time. The balcony has a protective netting to stop the birds from getting in, but still lets you enjoy the view. The owners have place several hooks in the balcony that you can hang anything and let it air dry. The unit has plenty of hangers in every closet. The master bedroom has a king size bed which I found hard and a bit uncomfortable for my back. The master bathroom has double sinks, so no tug of war.
The breakfast buffet is great with some great tropical fruit everyday, omelets or fresh eggs, breads, muesli and preserves and great coffee. Eddie and Sonia do a fabulous job! They also offer lunch.
The staff at the front desk most pleasant, but in keeping with caribbean state of mind, things are not done in a fast manner. (Being Puertorrican myself I went along and laugh.)Our safe was not working on Saturday afternoon and it took until Monday to have it fix. Another issue are the towels. The maids don't received the clean towels until the afternoon and sometimes we will return to the unit find it clean but the dirty towels that we had left on the floor still there. Suggestion ? Tip the maid and ask for extra towels the first day.
There are barely no lounge chairs on the grounds and the ones they have are not in good shape. And again the issue of the towels.
Something that I truly missed? A good outdoor jacuzzi.
Something that they should have, but I didn't miss? Washer and dryer.

  • Liked — Fully furnish kitchen and beautifully decorated condo
  • Disliked — Hard bed
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WMW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    101
    29
    10
    9
See reviews for
66
96
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yardley, pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

This was our third trip to the Sand Dollar. We stayed there Aug 10-17, 2008 . We had two wonderful previous trips to Bonaire and decided to return for a third time. ...All three trips our stay was at the Sand dollar.

Diving in Bonaire is so simple and extraordinary- a huge fishbowl. The Sand Dollar was our choice because of the affordability, location & accommodations. We had a two bedroom - 2 1/2 bath. There is a great house reef - Bari reef. The staff was always very hospitable.

We did not have any problems with petty crime - The dive instructors specially tell you NOT TO LEAVE ANYTHING IN THE CAR. We always followed their instructions and we have NEVER had a problem.

We flew in on Continental's red eye non stop from Newark to Bonaire. We booked the extra nite, so we had a place to crash when we got in early AM. Our days were full of diving from the shore (we prefer this over boat dives). Throw your tanks in the truck and find a dive spot.

We had breakfast daily included in our pkg. The Sunrise Restaurant provided this for us daily. Evidently the Sunrise is a facility not owned by the Sand Dollar condo association. So, they are permitted to book events without informing the condo management (from what I can understand). We were informed on Thursday (a flyer was placed in our door) that Friday nite there would be a THREE DJ ALL NITE LOCALs CLUB PARTY AT THE SUNRISE. The party started at 10PM and went until 4AM - Needless to say we did not sleep a wink (we were in F10). The music -- bass thumping party clubmixing with a DJ YELLING ALL NITE INTO THE MICROPHONE UNTIL 4AM WAS QUITE DISTURBING. In fact, we had to cancel a kayak snorkeling trip scheduled for the next day. We informed management that we were quite upset over this event. They informed me that they understood and would talk to the management at the Sunrise. We were then informed that THERE WAS ANOTHER PARTY ON SATURDAY NITE!! bUT, we should not be too upset because it was a SALSA PARTY!! This party went on until 2AM ...we had a 6AM flight the next morning. We had to be up at 3AM!! So, enough said. If the management of the condos allows this to continue we shall choose to go elsewhere. My daughter did ask for Management of the Sand dollar to meet with us - but, sad to say -- he never showed up.

My suggestion is to email management of the Sand Dollar and ask them if any LOCAL ALL NITE PARTY events will be taking place at the Sunrise Restaurant during your stay. We were glad we were not diving the next day. ALL NITE PARTIES AND DIVING DO NOT MIX WELL.

We will email management and inform them of our disappointment. This was extremely disheartening. If you have any questions you can email me. I would like management to make a comment on this as well.

  • Liked — Easy diving in the house reef. ....Views from our condo window,
  • Disliked — could be cleaner
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jkutsmeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2008

Disappointed with our stay at this condo complex. We had a regulator and dive computer stolen from our truck right in front of the condo one night. The room we were given at first (after waiting for over an hour for someone to show up at the office) had a broken air conditioner. The room we ended up with was as far from the dive operation as we could get. and had just a sliver of view to the ocean. Had to drive to the dive operation each time. The pool is enclosed by a fence and away from the ocean a ways. It did not have any chaise lounges set up. The Reef restaurant located at the waters edge and next to the dive dock was closed and we were forced to drive to a good restaurant or eat at Eddy's (the only other choice) which was very limited and not very good. The boat dives are very crowded if you can even get a spot and unless you sign up in the office with your group very early on in your stay you will have no choice where to go on the dive. The boat captain's always chose the closest site if the boat had "DMC" written on the board.
The best thing about this place is the shore diving is very convenient off the dock to Bari Reef, which was one of the best on the island. They always had lot's of tanks available and other helpful things like freshwater gear rinse tanks and such.
Lastly, do not rent from AB car rental unless you like very old beat up stick shift small pick-ups.

  • Liked — Location to Bari Reef
  • Disliked — Food, Accomodation, Security
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KYnowCADiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, N.Y>
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2008

We had a wonderful time in Bonaire and we're really pleased with our accomodations at the Sand Dollar Resort. We stayed in Unit A3 which was a beautiful studio that was literally a few steps away from the dive shop, The Reef restaurant and the pier. The room was lovely, spacious and tastefully decorated with an ocean theme. We loved having a kitchen equipped with all our needs and looking out to our patio with a view of the ocean and Kleine Bonaire from our dining table.
The diving was fantastic and Bonaire Dive and Adventures was professional and friendly. For our buoyancy check, we just jumped off the pier and did a beautiful dive in bari reef to start our week off. We loved diving 1,000 steps, karpata, alice in wonderland, and Jerry's Reef. All the dive sites were fantastic. Snorkeling was wonderful around bari reef, in our opinion, although we read some reviews that it was too deep and overrated. I mean we saw an octopus, moray eel, hundreds of fish in just 5 ft of water steps away form the pier. We couldn't get luckier.
We also kayaked through the mangroves. The guides were great and it was very educational. It was slightly more physically challenging than i thought during the swimming/snorkeling part. swimming through a channel against the current had me a bit out of breath, but it was worth it and so were the mosquito bites.
All in all, it was fantastic and we would definitely return to Bonaire and stay at the Sand Dollar.

  • Liked — Convenience, cleanliness and proximity to dive sites!
  • Disliked — There could have been better lounge chairs on the property.
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseRed26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2008

My new husband and I visited Sand Dollar for our honeymoon. We loved our condo very much. The hotel staff was so friendly. The Reef restaurant was actually quite nice, and the breakfast that was included with the package really got us off to a great start. The value is, I think, great. The diving off the dock (Bari Reef) was actually some of the best on the island. The convenience of having tanks right on the dock to use was great. We loved our stay in Sand Dollar

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kyline84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2008

We've just returned from Bonaire and the Sand Dollar Resort. The staff are very friendly, the dive site right at your back door. The units are comfortable, clean and spacious (we stayed in a 2/2). We've previously only been diving in the Maldives, so shore diving at our leisure was a GREAT change of pace. The dive shop associated with Sand Dollar is Dive Adventure (Cressi Equipment) and they also have a resourceful camera shop - Fish Eye Photo. The staff throughout I can't speak highly enough of, all friendly and eager to help. Sand Dollar is also in a great location to do diving both in the north and in the south-and all the sites we were at were just fabulous. Although we rented a truck to get to the various dive sites there are a multitude of great restraunts all within walking distance. It is also a nice evening walk down by the shore all the way into town, about a 20 minute walk. If you have non diving members there is a lot to do on the island-highly recommend the Mangrove Kayak Tour. Also, we read, Sand Dollar has a child sitting service, we don't have children yet, but it is a great thing to keep in mind. We will be going back and staying at the Sand Dollar again.

  • Liked — Location and comfort
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TimandSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

The Sand Dollar is simply a friendly, convenient way to vacation in Bonaire. The accommodations were ideal for a romantic couple getaway or a small group with kids no younger than 10. The condos were either a studio with a double bed in the main room with kitchen and full bath and patio, a two bedroom with a king, two twin beds (which could be joined to make another king), living and dining area and patio, or a three bedroom with the same as a two bedroom plus an additional bedroom with a queen bed and full bath. All condos had a separate, full bathroom for each bedroom. Bonaire itself is not a beach destination but a great place to scuba dive or snorkel. The Sand Dollars' Bari Reef was picturesque and full of life. The full kitchen made eating lunch a breeze and gave us the frugal option of cooking meals for dinner. If you are a gluten for television or need to keep in touch with those far away, this island and all its available accommodations are not for you. If you are a diver, adventurer and nature lover, this island is amazing. The Sand Dollar affiliate Bonaire Dive & Adventure offers plenty of activities at affordable prices. They will put all your activities on one tab and find the cheapest package for you. We also opted for the breakfast which was $8.00 per day (or $12.50 if you didn't pay in advance). This was worth the money with an omelet bar and a beautiful view to start each day. I could not find much to complain about at the Sand Dollar, although, the beds could use improvement. The stay is cozy and certainly not extravagant. The Sand Dollar offers convenience, comfort and friendly service, especially for Scuba divers. You may even catch a surprise visit from some Parakeets!

  • Liked — It is an escape with a friendly, family feel. Scuba diving and snorkeling were the main attraction.
  • Disliked — Beds just average.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank photoendeavors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
2.8 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 21 in Kralendijk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#3 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
0.2 mi away
Captain Don's Habitat
Captain Don's Habitat
#8 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buddy Dive
Buddy Dive
#5 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Dollar Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dollar Condominiums

Property: Sand Dollar Condominiums
Address: Kaya Gobernador N. Debrot 79, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kralendijk
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sand Dollar Condominiums 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sand Dollar Condominiums, member of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Hall of Fame, offers guests everything they need to enjoy the best of Bonaire’s scuba diving with their “Ride to the Reef” packages including condo, diving and rental truck for island exploring. All Sand Dollar units have individual modems offering free high speed Wi-Fi, air-conditioned bedrooms, full kitchens, dining and living areas, and roomy porches or balconies overlooking the Caribbean Sea. The complex includes a pool, Eddy’s bar and restaurant, several seaside lounging areas, seaside grill areas, two tennis courts, deli and ice cream parlor. Several good restaurants and a full service gym are located within easy walking distance. Sand Dollar’s on-property dive partner Dive Friends Bonaire operates a dive center adjacent to the Sand Dollar Reception Office with a drive up tank station, rinse tanks, rental gear, private gear storage lockers that can be accessed 24/7. Tanks and benches for gearing up for shore diving Sand Dollar house reef Bari Reef are located seaside just steps away from a sandy beach entry. REEF organization rates Bari Reef the #1 site in the Caribbean/Atlantic for species richness, with a recorded 403 species to date. Tanks can be access from this are 24/7, enabling diving on the house reef dawn, day, dusk and night. In addition to having Dive Friends on-property facilities at their disposal, Sand Dollar guests have the added benefit of being able to swap out tanks for shore diving at any of the Dive Friends facilities at Dive Inn, Yellow Submarine, Port Bonaire and Hamlet Oasis. Dive boats depart from Dive Friends Yellow Submarine, a 3 minute drive in your rental vehicle, at 9:00 AM for morning 2-tank dives. You’ll be back in time for lunch to then take advantage of unlimited tanks for shore diving the rest of the day. Whatever your preference – studio or three bedroom, shore diving or boat diving, they have the condominium option and dive package perfectly suited for you and your fellow travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sand Dollar Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Dollar Condominium Hotel Kralendijk
Sand Dollar Condominium Kralendijk
Sand Dollar Condominiums Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing