We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience at the Sand Dollar Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sand Dollar Condominiums
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2008

We had a wonderful time in Bonaire and we're really pleased with our accomodations at the Sand Dollar Resort. We stayed in Unit A3 which was a beautiful studio that was literally a few steps away from the dive shop, The Reef restaurant and the pier. The room was lovely, spacious and tastefully decorated with an ocean theme. We loved having a kitchen equipped with all our needs and looking out to our patio with a view of the ocean and Kleine Bonaire from our dining table.
The diving was fantastic and Bonaire Dive and Adventures was professional and friendly. For our buoyancy check, we just jumped off the pier and did a beautiful dive in bari reef to start our week off. We loved diving 1,000 steps, karpata, alice in wonderland, and Jerry's Reef. All the dive sites were fantastic. Snorkeling was wonderful around bari reef, in our opinion, although we read some reviews that it was too deep and overrated. I mean we saw an octopus, moray eel, hundreds of fish in just 5 ft of water steps away form the pier. We couldn't get luckier.
We also kayaked through the mangroves. The guides were great and it was very educational. It was slightly more physically challenging than i thought during the swimming/snorkeling part. swimming through a channel against the current had me a bit out of breath, but it was worth it and so were the mosquito bites.
All in all, it was fantastic and we would definitely return to Bonaire and stay at the Sand Dollar.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RoseRed26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 297 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2008

My new husband and I visited Sand Dollar for our honeymoon. We loved our condo very much. The hotel staff was so friendly. The Reef restaurant was actually quite nice, and the breakfast that was included with the package really got us off to a great start. The value is, I think, great. The diving off the dock (Bari Reef) was actually some of the best on the island. The convenience of having tanks right on the dock to use was great. We loved our stay in Sand Dollar

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kyline84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2008

We've just returned from Bonaire and the Sand Dollar Resort. The staff are very friendly, the dive site right at your back door. The units are comfortable, clean and spacious (we stayed in a 2/2). We've previously only been diving in the Maldives, so shore diving at our leisure was a GREAT change of pace. The dive shop associated with Sand Dollar is Dive Adventure (Cressi Equipment) and they also have a resourceful camera shop - Fish Eye Photo. The staff throughout I can't speak highly enough of, all friendly and eager to help. Sand Dollar is also in a great location to do diving both in the north and in the south-and all the sites we were at were just fabulous. Although we rented a truck to get to the various dive sites there are a multitude of great restraunts all within walking distance. It is also a nice evening walk down by the shore all the way into town, about a 20 minute walk. If you have non diving members there is a lot to do on the island-highly recommend the Mangrove Kayak Tour. Also, we read, Sand Dollar has a child sitting service, we don't have children yet, but it is a great thing to keep in mind. We will be going back and staying at the Sand Dollar again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TimandSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

The Sand Dollar is simply a friendly, convenient way to vacation in Bonaire. The accommodations were ideal for a romantic couple getaway or a small group with kids no younger than 10. The condos were either a studio with a double bed in the main room with kitchen and full bath and patio, a two bedroom with a king, two twin beds (which could be joined to make another king), living and dining area and patio, or a three bedroom with the same as a two bedroom plus an additional bedroom with a queen bed and full bath. All condos had a separate, full bathroom for each bedroom. Bonaire itself is not a beach destination but a great place to scuba dive or snorkel. The Sand Dollars' Bari Reef was picturesque and full of life. The full kitchen made eating lunch a breeze and gave us the frugal option of cooking meals for dinner. If you are a gluten for television or need to keep in touch with those far away, this island and all its available accommodations are not for you. If you are a diver, adventurer and nature lover, this island is amazing. The Sand Dollar affiliate Bonaire Dive & Adventure offers plenty of activities at affordable prices. They will put all your activities on one tab and find the cheapest package for you. We also opted for the breakfast which was $8.00 per day (or $12.50 if you didn't pay in advance). This was worth the money with an omelet bar and a beautiful view to start each day. I could not find much to complain about at the Sand Dollar, although, the beds could use improvement. The stay is cozy and certainly not extravagant. The Sand Dollar offers convenience, comfort and friendly service, especially for Scuba divers. You may even catch a surprise visit from some Parakeets!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank photoendeavors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

Stayed: November 2007
7  Thank crashnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2007

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2007

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank cozdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
2.8 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#9 of 22 in Kralendijk
85 reviews
1.9 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 22 in Kralendijk
523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden Beach Resort
Eden Beach Resort
#15 of 22 in Kralendijk
409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 22 in Kralendijk
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Dollar Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dollar Condominiums

Address: Kaya Gobernador N. Debrot 79, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kralendijk
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range: $131 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sand Dollar Condominiums 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sand Dollar Condominiums, member of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Hall of Fame, offers guests everything they need to enjoy the best of Bonaire’s scuba diving with their “Ride to the Reef” packages including condo, diving and rental truck for island exploring. All Sand Dollar units have individual modems offering free high speed Wi-Fi, air-conditioned bedrooms, full kitchens, dining and living areas, and roomy porches or balconies overlooking the Caribbean Sea. The complex includes a pool, Eddy’s bar and restaurant, several seaside lounging areas, seaside grill areas, two tennis courts, deli and ice cream parlor. Several good restaurants and a full service gym are located within easy walking distance. Sand Dollar’s on-property dive partner Dive Friends Bonaire operates a dive center adjacent to the Sand Dollar Reception Office with a drive up tank station, rinse tanks, rental gear, private gear storage lockers that can be accessed 24/7. Tanks and benches for gearing up for shore diving Sand Dollar house reef Bari Reef are located seaside just steps away from a sandy beach entry. REEF organization rates Bari Reef the #1 site in the Caribbean/Atlantic for species richness, with a recorded 403 species to date. Tanks can be access from this are 24/7, enabling diving on the house reef dawn, day, dusk and night. In addition to having Dive Friends on-property facilities at their disposal, Sand Dollar guests have the added benefit of being able to swap out tanks for shore diving at any of the Dive Friends facilities at Dive Inn, Yellow Submarine, Port Bonaire and Hamlet Oasis. Dive boats depart from Dive Friends Yellow Submarine, a 3 minute drive in your rental vehicle, at 9:00 AM for morning 2-tank dives. You’ll be back in time for lunch to then take advantage of unlimited tanks for shore diving the rest of the day. Whatever your preference – studio or three bedroom, shore diving or boat diving, they have the condominium option and dive package perfectly suited for you and your fellow travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sand Dollar Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Dollar Condominium Hotel Kralendijk
Sand Dollar Condominium Kralendijk
Sand Dollar Condominiums Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing