We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot at the seaside, poor beds in the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Ik like Divi for its location near the centre of Kralendijk, at the seaside, with a fantastic view from the breakfast place and from the restaurant Chibi Chibi.
The rooms however are less fantastic; beds cheap and too short, airconditioning making a lot of noise.
It is a large resort and thus lacks any personal touch.
I prefer the smaller hotels.
Fine pools, parking and good breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businesstravel0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,066)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

880 - 886 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2009

I took my 13 year old daughter to get her dive certification in August, 2009. The "pool work" is done in the shallows of the ocean making for a great experience. This is a perfect place if you or your child want to have a flawless introduction to diving.

We stayed in the timeshare section near the swimming pool and dive operation. Bonaire is a Dutch island near Venezuela so the people staying at the Divi were a mix of Americans, Dutch, and a few South Americans. As others have said, the Divi is not fancy, but it is clean and the service is a good deal better than one often finds in the islands.
- the dive operation is first rate. Not full concierge style, but convenient and efficient. The instructors and dive masters were excellent and attentive.
- breakfasts get a bit redundant, but have good variety of fruit, cereal, egg / omelet station, breads. We had a fair amount of bfreakfasts in the room.
- Chibi Chibi restaurant for lunch is excellent. Perfect after morning dives.
- there are many good restaurants on the island (walking distance from the Divi), so it is worth trying out dinners off site.
- Rooms have been upgraded with new kitchens and 3/4 bathrooms,
- ask them to show you how to adjust the airconditioning; it is a confusing remote control. Our room was "refrigerated" until I finally figured it out,
- We didn't open the slider to the screened porch because we had smokers on both sides.
- Internet in the lobby, but not in the rooms.
- My daughter met other kids her age also getting certified and made great friends.
- On the final day, she went wind surfing at Jibe City. Bring lots of sunscreen and if you are not wind surfing, stay in the shade.

Overall a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyinnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Probably not the fanciest hotel on the island but well-kept and everything is clean, nice&cosy rooms, laid back atmosphere. Very friendly people and good service. The hotel has a restaurant and a snack bar, car rental etc... Good location: the hotel is only 6mins walk away from the city where you can find more restaurants and shops. Great place for diving, good dive boats and professional & friendly dive masters.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

The Divi is a clean, convenient resort with a good restaurant and an excellent dive operation right on the premises. The facilities are perhaps a bit worn in some areas, but the staff is friendly, attentive and the rooms are kept clean. We purposely went to Bonaire, and in November, because the threat of a tropical storm that far south and that late in the season was unlikely. Murphy's law always steps in though! A major tropical storm struck the island 2 weeks before our arrival and the Divi was hit particularly hard - several of the piers were washed away, one of the dining areas was destroyed and a dive boat owned by the Divi was slammed up on the beach and destroyed. Evidence of recent storm damage was apparent upon our arrival and many areas were being repaired. We still had a great time and the diving was excellent, although the visibility was somewhat compromised due to the recent storm. Above about 35 feet, there was significant coral damage visible, especially to the soft corals and staghorns. Even still, we typically had 60 plus feet vis on every dive. I did 14 dives during our week, but my wife thought 10 was enough. Bonaire is a nice island and the people are friendly. The Divi is just a short walk to the edge of town and about a mile from the epicenter. You will not find the level of accomodations that can be found on the more commercialized "resort" islands, so if you want the mega resort experience, go to Mexico or the Bahamas , etc. etc. The resort features on Bonaire are much more spartan, but maybe that is part of the appeal. The Divi Flamingo is a nice place to stay and the dive operation is outstanding - we would return to Bonaire and stay at the Divi again. Some things key points from our trip:
- Dive the salt pier, much junk to explore and many schools of fish under the pier.
- Whether you stay at Divi or not, do consider diving with them as based on our observations they have more larger boats and all of them are covered, or have a covered area.
- Rent a car and drive around the island, there are some interesting sights (the park, the salt mounds, the slave huts, Rose's restaurant - can't remember the town, but it is an authentic little cafe where only one item is usually served each day (selected by Rose) and it is always outstanding.
- Where sunscreen before you go to the airport on departure day - we had to stand on the tarmac for about 45 minutes after checking in for our flight. There is no shade once outside the gate (you walk across the ramp and then up the open steps to board your 757). This is not an uncommon experience we heard from frequent travelers. Bonaire is close to the equator therefore the temperature doesn't vary much so it is fairly hot - upper 80's every day we were there in November.
-Go see the donkey sanctuary, lot's of friendly donkey's on reserve - make a donation if you can as the facility needs your financial support!

All in all a good trip and the Divi is a good value.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rickkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

Our thirteen person group was organized by a dive shop in Hudson, WI.
Divi is a seaside property apporoximately a half mile walk from downtown Kralendijk. The grounds were attractive. There were two pools--one in the main courtyard and one near the dive shop. The pool in the main courtyard varied from shallow to deep. The pool near the dive shop was only deep. Our room was attractive and comfortable, albiet a bit small. It had a full bath/shower and two double beds, was equiped with a small refrigerator, and a had a deck overlooking the main courtyard. The restaurants were open air with a seaside view.
We enyoyed the breakfasts (the staff made wonderful omlets) and specialty dinners (bar-b-que, taco and pasta). The dive shop and personnel were first rate. The dive lockers were conveniently located on the dive dock. They were pre-assigned by the dive shop. Remember to bring your own lock. Otherwise a lock could be purchased for $5 from the dive shop. Our group mainly dove by boat. It is the only way to reach the Klein Bonaire dive sights. There were two morning and one afternoon boat dives. Shore diving form the resort was unlimited. The first dive, termed an "orientation dive", was from shore. You could dive as many night dives as desired. I only did one--too tired from the day dives. Since the restaurants operate on "island time", night dives could start quite late. An unlimited nitrox package (32%) is available for $100 for the week. Our divemasters, Geertje and Orlando, were also first rate. They were very good at finding the more obscure critters, eg, seahorses and frogfish. Don't miss the Hilma Hooker wreck dive. The dives were mainly wall dives outbound at 60-80 ft and inbound in the shallows at 20-30 ft. The density of small fish were incredible---most schools of blue and brown chromis consisted of hundreds of fish.
Rent a car. Tour the island. It's both beautiful and historic. Although a desert island, I believe we arrived at the end of the green season. In addition to scuba, the island is a hotbed of windsurfing around Lac Bay.
Enjoyed Bonaire and would recommond both the island and the resort.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WICrispy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

We can start by saying our plane landed in Bonaire at 5:15 in the morning. The U.S. agent that books the packages for the Divi Flamingo asked the hotel for an early check- in and scheduled our check-out dive for 9:30 that same morning. When we got to the hotel and asked for early check- in they immediately said no. When we showed them the agents letter asking for early check in they still said no. We thought we would have to change in the public bathroom in order to make the scheduled dive. At 9:15 someone had checked out and we quickly changed and made the alleged check-out dive. Turns out it is not a check-out dive at all. It is a meeting to tell you not to touch things but primarily it is a sales pitch to get you to rent cameras from the local photo shop. After the briefing, you are free to dive on your own. No bouyancy check or anything in water involving the dive shop, so we did not have to show up in our gear at all. We wished there was a check-out dive as we saw people shattering coral heads with thier fins, literally kicking over sponges which take thousand of years to grow to a good size, and even one lady grabbing a gorgonian and ripping it from the ocean floor because she had no control of bouyancy. They did not even ask for a cert card, settling for your word on what your cert number might be. Virtually every photographer over the week grabbed whatever part of the reef they had to in order to take a picture. The reefs in Bonaire will not last long under these conditions. After speaking to the divemasters about the situation in the water the did finally start to watch a little closer and in fact did have to lift several people off the reefs by thier regulators 1st stage connectors. If you stay there, Rofino, Orlando and Luis are the best divemasters and will listen to your concerns as they are concerned about the safety of the reefs and their jobs. I strongly advise you leave your tanks on while taking the boat ride to a site. We saw 6 blown o-rings in the first three days, all after the tanks had been pressurized for 3-4 minutes. Had the tanks not been left on, the blowouts may have occured underwater. Everyone on the boat was concerned. There were several days we had 17 to 19 people on the boats including the capt. and divemaster which was way too crowded both on the boat and in the water. After complaints, the number of people decreased. Unfortunately, there is little ocean life. We are told the storms that hit over the last few years caused bigger fish to leave, and a disease virtually wiped out the moray population. The amount of coral and sponge are good. We did two dives where there are no fish and only coral and sponge except for some small schools of bait fish. The hotel is old and moldy around the bath and toilets. The dressers did smell when opened as someone mentioned in another review. We saw no renovations but heard some of the time shares had been done. There is a managers rum punch party on Fridays but they did not tell us. They did put a flyer in your room everytime there was a paid event, however. We noticed over a hundred people at the punch party 10 minutes before it ended and we were told to show our room key to get a drink. No one asked for a room key as 75% of the people there where locals who were not staying at the hotel. Your room cost seems to subsidize the locals free drinks. Same for the taco, bbq and pasta night. There were so many locals and thier kids there that we were told we would be placed on a waiting list to be able to eat. In other words, paying a couple hundred bucks a night has no preference over the locals who pay the 14 dollars to pig out. We went to town for dinner instead. Also, the dock for the cruise ships is right next to the Divi. Usually two ships at the dock. Thousands poor into town and hundreds into the Divi. Forget about a quiet resort. It is open to everyone. The beach is literally 10 feet of sand and should you like to put a blanket on it everyone would have to walk over you to use it. I compare this hotel to a Mexican budget hotel without the nice beaches of Mexico but at three times the price we paid in Akumal. The bugs were not as bad as many Caribbean islands. I would recommend the plaza resort or the more expensive Harbour Village for nicer rooms. Capt. Don's rooms are not too good but the waters at that resort have better fish life and although no beach the diving is good there. We visited all the major resorts while looking to purchase real estate, but decided for a lot of reasons Bonaire was not for us. Beware! DO NOT LEAVE ANYTHING in your car as it may be gone when you get back. They tell you to leave your car wide open because it is too hot, but it is actually due to a bad theft problem. We even heard home alarms going off while looking for houses to purchase. Bonaire diving, the hotels and the food at the numerous restaurants we tried all seemed sub standard. Better luck on our next island I hope.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stilllookingColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Divi for one week. We went there with 9 others as part of a scuba dive trip. Our arrival and check in was quick. Our room was nice. Not on the beach but large. Stand up shower only. 2 full size beds. Modest furnishings. Not luxury but I expected worse. The in room fridge was nice! We stocked up with water and diet coke from a local grocery not too far away on day one. The diving was great! Lots of fish and the staff was fabulous. Their locker system is convienent (bring your own lock). Very organized and well run establishment! The breakfast buffet there is great. Made to order french toast, pancakes, eggs etc). The location is great for venturing out for lunch or dinner. I went to the casino once and it was nice. Free drinks while gambling was a nice touch. Overall, great location, moderate rooms, good food, GREAT diving.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniellepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
1.2 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#10 of 22 in Kralendijk
95 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 22 in Kralendijk
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Plaza Resort Bonaire
Plaza Resort Bonaire
#8 of 22 in Kralendijk
1,155 reviews
2.2 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 22 in Kralendijk
524 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eden Beach Resort
Eden Beach Resort
#15 of 22 in Kralendijk
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino

Address: J.A. Abraham Boulevard 40 | Bonaire, Dutch Caribbean, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kralendijk
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kralendijk
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range: $166 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort & Casino allows you to experience the simple pleasure of tropical life. Whether you want to lounge around all day by one of our two freshwater pools, test your luck in our on-site casino at night, relax with a massage in the on-site spa, or scuba dive and snorkel through the beautiful Caribbean ocean, our Bonaire resort offers a truly memorable experience for all ages. Divi Flamingo is colorful, laidback, and fun; our resort and casino serves as the perfect home base for divers and vacationers drawn to explore the unpretentious island and stunning waters surrounding Bonaire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Flamingo Beach Hotel Kralendijk
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort And Casino Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing