We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accommodations with a great dive op on property.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We traveled with a group of 23 other people.

The property was nice. The view from our waterfront room was beautiful.

The on-property dive operation was excellent.

There were several problems with air conditioners in a couple of the rooms. A call to the front desk took care of those issues. There were occasional shortages of towels.

The rooms were fairly well maintained and relatively clean.

The biggest complaint heard throughout the week from many in our group was the constant lack of service at the on-property restaurant. The food was very tasty and was priced as should be expected at a tourist destination... more expensive than it should be. The issue always came down to the HOURS it would take to get through a simple meal. The excuse of being on "island time" is overused. The guests should be on island time... not the staff. A fish sandwich lunch could easily take 2+ hours.

Because of the boat schedule, you are almost required to eat lunch on property in order to make the afternoon dive boat.

We ate dinner off property more than on... just to get away from the resort and see the town.

All considered, we had a great time. But, I think our next trip would have us explore other accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BWDscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Divi Flamingo on Bonaire has been the host of The Digital Shootout, www.thedigitalshootout.com, for many years. We have been there 4 times, once as participants of the event, and 3 times as staff of the event. As participants (vacationers), we found the dive resort to be much more than you'd expect from a typical scuba diving centric resort. What reallty shines about Divi is the ease of accessibility for diving. A healthy house reef with tanks at the ready for 24-7 shore diving, large lockers right on the dock for gear storage and convenient donning and doffing, comfortable (large and shaded), fast boats, and a knowledgable dive staff. If you want to explore the island, just load up your rental truck with tanks from the drive-up tank storage in the parking lot and go.

As staff members of The Digital Shootout, Serge de Groot, the Dive Operations Manager, and his entire team are key to making the Bonaire event a success year after year. IMO, no other dive operator on island could do what Serge and crew do for our event.

Room Tip: The studios with kitchens are closer to the dive shop and dock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newmediasoup2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a nicely remodeled waterfront room. House keeping kept the accommodations clean although there was a shortage of towels periodically that required a call to the front desk for replenishment.

The staff was attentive, polite, and responsive to our questions and needs.

We chose Bonaire for the diving and selected Divi based on our travel agent's recommendation. We were not disappointed. Divi Dive is a first rate diving operation; professional and safe. The crew worked to accommodate special needs although I wished they would have been more assertive in confronting unsavory behavior by some of the guests. A night dive off the dive deck with the tarpon is not to be missed. Note: a small padlock is required when storing your gear in the resort dive lockers. They are available at a reason price in the dive shop if you forget.

The food at Chibi Chibi was fresh and competitively priced if otherwise unimaginative. Made to order omlettes in the morning was always a good start to the day. We chose to walk the short distance to town for most dinners.

The beach side bar had a great happy hour from 6-7pm

WiFi was available for $40 USD per week per device. We had a strong signal both in our room and at the bar.

The power appeared to get interupted at night causing the alarm clock to reset. We used our smart phone to wake us in the morning.

We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Water front rooms are limited, 201-204, 101-104 are recommended. Rooms in the 700s are closest to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After staying all over the world I found out there really is such a thing as "island time." Unfortunately that is not an excuse for poor customer service, quality, mosquitoes, lack of towels and just bad service in general. Yet, the Divi Flamingo in BONAIRE turns out to NOT be the worst place, but better than most, even with ALL of its misgivings. Slow service, general poor customer service attitudes at all levels of the hotel, and maids that let mosquitoes in the rooms (and I mean LOTS of them) so much so you have to live under your sheets and cannot breath fresh air all night long in the room. There were some glimmers of hope and good aspects of DIVI Flaminigo however, the beds and pillows were comfortable, the rooms really DID have Air Conditioning that worked, and the food was very good--but slow in coming, something that simply cannot be tolerated when you have to catch a dive boat at 8am!! Management has turned over and the new GM says she will be trying to make changes--all well and good, but doesn't mean a DAMN thing if they do not do it! Porches need mosquito screening in the newer sides...the older part already does. The hotel does not have it's own onsite laundry and so makes lots of excuses why patrons are limited to and simply can't get towels and face clothes. I had to wipe my face with toilet paper. Actually after I bitterly complained about my wife needing it for make up and such, they scrambled to fine (a face cloth). But again, after reading all of the reviews of many other hotels on BONAIRE, I would have to now say in comparison, that I would still stay at DIVI because it had the overall best rating. There is NO EXCUSE for being lazy, saying NO to customers, or simply making up excuses as the islanders go there, but maybe that is the way their educational system works in BONAIRE. It sure isn't the way it is in Amsterdam. To the General Manager--"don't try to make changes do it damn it and do your job."

Room Tip: Read a lot about other hotels in Bonaire
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ceo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We arrived in Bonaire very early in the morning, enjoyed check in and a breakfast buffet was waiting for us. Next was check in at the dive shop and a dive briefing before lunch with a suggested check out dive. The room was not available until much later and this proved to be a problem.....as we were tired and wanted to unpack and rest before starting our dives. I guess the airline contributes to this problem with the overnight flight landing so early in the morning. Finally around 4:30 pm our room was ready and it was great....very nice and roomy.
The resort was great, food was good and the diving was great! Lockers on the dock, near the boats meant no time spent dragging dive gear back and forth. The boat was spacious, if not the fastest one in the fleet. Our crew was helpful and kept us entertained.
One suggestion for future travel....if you arrive very early in the morning you might consider paying a little extra to have the room available on arrival. My plans for my return trip!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is our third trip to Bonaire and we have always stayed at Divi. The scuba diving is top notch. Serge and his dive masters are attentive to your needs to make sure you have a hastle-free diving experience. There are lockers on the dock to store your equipment as well as rinse tanks and access to tanks 24/7. My daughter took the open water course with Endro and became certified thanks to the excellent teaching staff. The hotel seemed to be understaffed but the scuba/snorkeling at Divi outweighs the negativeness of the hotel portion.

Room Tip: Select a studio room if you want to have a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is our 25th trip to Bonaire and DIvi Flamingo. Just when I think the diving can't get any better--it does. Divi DIve is the BEST! Serge runs an amazing dive operation along with dive masters who are focused on making sure you have a GREAT diving experience. I am not sure how Serge does it but each diver is treated with respect, patience, and care. The new boats are so wonderful-one even has a shower on board--what a treat ! Our diving was really thought out by the dive masters and they made sure we had a sampling of dive sites that reflected the uniqueness of the Marine Park. In my mind there just isn't any place better to dive on Bonaire than Divi.

Room Tip: If you can afford the studio --go for it. They are located right next to the dive shop. Each unit ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
1.2 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#11 of 22 in Kralendijk
71 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 22 in Kralendijk
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 22 in Kralendijk
515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Resort Bonaire
Plaza Resort Bonaire
#8 of 22 in Kralendijk
1,053 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eden Beach Resort
Eden Beach Resort
#15 of 22 in Kralendijk
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino

Address: J.A. Abraham Boulevard 40 | Bonaire, Dutch Caribbean, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kralendijk
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kralendijk
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range: $151 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort & Casino allows you to experience the simple pleasure of tropical life. Whether you want to lounge around all day by one of our two freshwater pools, test your luck in our on-site casino at night, relax with a massage in the on-site spa, or scuba dive and snorkel through the beautiful Caribbean ocean, our Bonaire resort offers a truly memorable experience for all ages. Divi Flamingo is colorful, laidback, and fun; our resort and casino serves as the perfect home base for divers and vacationers drawn to explore the unpretentious island and stunning waters surrounding Bonaire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Flamingo Beach Hotel Kralendijk
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort And Casino Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing