We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Bonaire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I get amused every time I go there, I get always surprised that the resort gets better and better.
The rooms are spacious, clean with great views of the sunset!
From the moment you arrived, you get superb service, no matter how busy they are they always have smile and a kind word for you.
The food at Casabas is incredible, the fish with mango salsa, is incredible. I stayed for a week, and eat there every day. As New Yorkers we are not use to the Caribbean relaxed service, we want everything as soon as possible, but you are in the Caribbean, and all the food is prepared as order, so all items are super fresh.
The dive operation is absolutely great, from the dive center very organize, friendly staff, the boats are always on time and the dive masters know where to find the most unique things.
I recommend this place to any one who would,like to have the best diving or snorkel experience.
Hotel in walking distance to town and great restaurants.
You can't get better service in Bonaire, and I know, since I visit a lot of hotels in my years of going to Bonaire.
Congratulations to the great General Manager Sarah for keeping such a tight ship

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are overlooking the ocean, very romantic, the studios are great for families since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gespineira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have been coming to Divi Flamingo since I was too young to remember. This was an annual trip with my family to our timeshare so my father could scuba dive and we could just enjoy a week away from everything. By the time I was 12, I received my PADI certification at Divi Bonaire and, finally, 2 years ago, at 28, I returned to Divi Flamingo with my now-husband to expose him to his first ever diving experience.
There is no better place to learn how to dive. The water is gorgeous, crystal clear and warm...there are amazing reefs that you can enjoy from shore by snorkel or scuba, there are wrecks or night diving....you can truly enjoy discovering new things day after day every time you go.
Divi Flamingo's dive shop has always been the best and most friendly. It's so easy to access tanks at any time and they have any and all types of equipment. You have your own private locker for the entire week on the dock so you don't have to carry all your stuff back and forth.
The food is also delicious and the people on the island are so friendly. You can walk or ride a bike almost anywhere and, what else can I say...it's just perfection.
OH and if you like gambling....check out the barefoot casino at the hotel!
Can't wait to go back again and again!

Room Tip: I've only ever stayed in the studios and happen to love them because they are closer to the dive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

As a diver and a person who enjoy the warm weather, this resort is the best. They cater to you needs ,have very nice rooms, and the restraunt is great for your lunch and dinners. They dont charge al lot for food and the food is very good. The staff goes out of their way to help you in all aspects of your stay. The dive operation is the best I have seen in all aspects from boats, guides
to your set ups in the am, you could not pick nicer people.

Room Tip: Stay in the better rooms with a great sun set!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plumberone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at the Divi Bonaire the first week of January for a week. I'm neutral rating the place because there isn't much to choose from. The best part of the resort is the location, you can walk to downtown. It's right on the water so you can go swimming/snorkeling. The snorkeling was fantastic, hundred's of different varieties of fish. I didn't scuba because I was recovering from the flu but that's the real reason people go to Bonaire. The water temp was 81 and the underwater visibility was unlimited. The rooms were fine, TV and internet access. I had the breakfast buffet every day. Believe it or not, their pancakes were great. I would stay here again because of the location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTCurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

we went to bonaire in the carribean in october as only one of us dives we try to find place that suit us both. this was absoleutly ideal serge and the whole dive team made us both very welcome .we had lots of fun with louis and george on the dive boats. this suited us perfectly as there were two dives leaving about 8-30am which meant we were back around 12-30pm so we could then do something as a couple in the afternoon.
everything about the diving there was spot on the boats all left when they were supposed to, if you had done several dives the team tried their best to see you visited different sites.Serge and his team were all so good as every day there were 4 boats all leaving at the same time.
we had a wonderful holiday here diving with DIVI FLAMINGO would really recomend them if you are giong to this lovely island one day we hope to return but there is still a lot of world to see

    • Value
    • Service
Thank mantabrother2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The dive operation was supurb! Max and Luis made the week fun and enjoyable. We did two morning boat dives and an afternoon boat dive the first two days. After that, we switched to doing the afternoon shore dive on our own. Lockers were provided, but bring your own rust proof (combination) lock or you'll buy a cheap (key) lock for $5. Be prepared to set up your own equipment EVERY dive. While the dive masters do remove your tank upon exiting from the water, it is your responsiblity to set up your BC each time. Although it wasn't a deal breaker, we are used to diving places that set your equipment up for you and by the end of the week, it does get tedious. Rinse tanks were available and clean dry towels were available at the bar or front desk. We did nitrox becasue we weren't sure how many dives we were going to do. In the future, it is not necessary. Tanks were available for check out to do shore diving, very easy and convenient.

The hotel staff seemed less than thrilled to have guests staying there. Front desk staff continued to have personal conversations with each other while guests waited to get their attention. Staff rarely made eye contact and the "good mornings" were few and far between. We had the definite feeling that we were merely a nuisance.

The rooms were adequate; basically what we expected. Simply furnished, comfortable beds. We struggled with adjusting the air conditioning and temp of the refridgerator, but both were cool and effective. Multiple requests had to be made for hand towels and wash clothes, as some days these were provided, others they weren't.

We stayed in an ocean front room based on other Trip Advisor recommendations. We would do so again, but we were in room 124, the furthest room from the dive shop, next to the second pier. The wall in front was cement, so if sitting outside on the deck, you could not even see the ocean unless you stood up. Opt for a room with a railing and on the second floor. (We saw plenty of these from the boat.)

The bar was nice with happy hour nightly although the managers reception brought more locals then hotel guests and required at least a 15 minute wait for drinks. They could definitely use more staff on those nights. The drinks were reasonable in price and taste. Bring bug spray, although the bugs weren't terrible.

Breakfast was included and was standard fare. They varied the juices and the fruit to give some variety. We didn't eat lunch or dinner at the hotel. Lunches we made in our room from some items we got at the grocery store. There are plenty of delicious dinner options close by.

Next time, we'll rent a house but do the morning boat dives through Divi. We absolutely loved the dive experience but we're less than thrilled everything else.

Room Tip: See tips above for room selection
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlsearles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our first dive vacation was at the Divi Flamingo in Bonaire in 2003. We have tried other locations in the Caribbean, but have concluded 10 years later that the Bonaire diving experience, combined with the great hospitality at the Divi Flamingo, is second to none. The rooms are not “fancy,” but are clean, well furnished, and reasonable. The dive operation is exceptional; lockers are provided, the boats are well maintained, the dive shop is full service and does not take advantage of the island location with high prices, and the dive masters are personable, attentive, and experienced. We especially like the location; downtown is within walking distance, and there are numerous outstanding restaurants within walking distance, as well. You can choose a 5-star dining experience every night, or there are many other choices if your food budget is limited. The Divi offers two excellent restaurant choices, and has several specials each week that are excellent and affordable. The dive package we select includes an excellent breakfast each day, with many made-to-order choices. In addition to two boat dives in the morning, tanks are available at any time for unlimited shore diving – which is the best anywhere. We always look forward to returning each year, and do-so more often when the budget allows.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricandVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
1.2 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bonaire
Courtyard by Marriott Bonaire
#10 of 22 in Kralendijk
102 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 22 in Kralendijk
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Plaza Resort Bonaire
Plaza Resort Bonaire
#8 of 22 in Kralendijk
1,198 reviews
2.2 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 22 in Kralendijk
533 reviews
2.1 mi away
Captain Don's Habitat
Captain Don's Habitat
#11 of 22 in Kralendijk
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino

Address: J.A. Abraham Boulevard 40 | Bonaire, Dutch Caribbean, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kralendijk
#2 Spa Hotel in Kralendijk
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range: $156 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort & Casino allows you to experience the simple pleasure of tropical life. Whether you want to lounge around all day by one of our two freshwater pools, test your luck in our on-site casino at night, relax with a massage in the on-site spa, or scuba dive and snorkel through the beautiful Caribbean ocean, our Bonaire resort offers a truly memorable experience for all ages. Divi Flamingo is colorful, laidback, and fun; our resort and casino serves as the perfect home base for divers and vacationers drawn to explore the unpretentious island and stunning waters surrounding Bonaire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Flamingo Beach Hotel Kralendijk
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort And Casino Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing