We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Captain Don's Habitat
Nearby Hotels
Eden Beach Resort(Kralendijk)
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sand Dollar Condominiums(Kralendijk)(Great Value!)
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribbean Club Bonaire(Kralendijk)(Great Value!)
$250
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Paradise Resort(Kralendijk)
$189
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$325
$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buddy Dive(Kralendijk)
$189
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$404
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sonrisa(Kralendijk)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveler rating
203
172
57
40
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
172
57
40
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrum runnersdiving freedomdive staffdive operationbedroom bungalowshore divegreat diveboat dives a daydive lockersklein bonairenight divefront office staffair tanksmarine parkonsite restaurantfishthe cottages
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 500 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Just got back from Captain Don's. It was a great experience. The room was clean with a very nice view. The staff was nice , all the dive masters were very good, and the dive shop was set up for easy diving. Unite Airlines lost my luggage with my dive gear, the dive shop let me use all their gear at no charge. I will definitely be back to Captain Don's.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was my first time at Capt. Dons and Bonaire. My new husbands second time, he was here about 20 years ago. Our room was beautiful. The only complaint I have is that we made coffee every morning and when I requested more I was refused! House keeping was fine but when I went to look through the phone book it seems like it had not been dusted in a while. Really no big deal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had a great time diving in Bonaire and staying at Captain Don's Habitat. The staff was very friendly and the dive shop and access to air and nitrox was great. They had a restaurant onsite and the food was above average. Also every room came with a truck as part of the package so you could go and do as much diving on any part of the island. It also had a great dive spot directly behind the resort.

Room Tip: They had a variety of rooms from condos, suites, hotel style rooms. Most rooms overlooked the water in some way.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Full disclosure: we've been coming here since 1993, and have owned a cottage managed by Habitat since 1998. Since there are many good resorts on the island, why did we settle at Habitat? The location is excellent, and the dive operation just gets better. You may know that Captain Don Stewart died in late May, so one only "meets" the captain in spirit. However, the manager Claire and dive operation manager Roger both work hard to improve the resort, its rooms and services. As owners, we care deeply about the resort, the happiness of guests, and the quality of the dive operation. The resort is continuing to upgrade those rooms not yet upgraded, with flat screen TVs, coffee maker, microwave, and mini-fridges, new furniture and bathrooms. As divers (both of us have thousands of dives around the world), Habitat remains our go-to site. The reef in front of the resort is home to everything worth seeing in the waters, from turtles, cephalopods, fishes, and rays scooting by; we probably have a thousand dives between us just on this reef. The dive operation makes it painless to don a tank and go in and out, and of course, three boat trips a day round out dive options.

Rum Runners, the on-site restaurant, was not great for a while, but Flores and his team have brought the food quality up to the best standards of the island. The Monday BBQ is deservedly popular. We can't speak to breakfast there since we make our own, but our friends tell us it is good, particularly the omelets.

FYI, there are five types of rooming options: the original (and soon to be fully upgraded) ocean view rooms; the recently-constructed ocean view suites, quite deluxe; the original bungalows, with two bedrooms and baths, full kitchens, living area, simply furnished; and the newer bungalows around the pond, which vary according to the owners, but all offer two bedrooms, two baths, kitchens, living area with TV and large porch. Fifth are ocean front villas, with full kitchens and many beds and baths, best for groups or large families.

Resorts on Bonaire are virtually never luxurious--no turn-down service, basic toiletries, average linens--and my rating reflects Habitat's totality for a dive resort, not its similarity to a Four Seasons or Aman resort. If you want to dive your brains out, Habitat really is the home of diving freedom.

Room Tip: If you want the best views, the new suites are terrific. For budget families, the original bungalows are great values.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great place to run your dive adventures from. All the basic necessities that you need. Nothing fancy just a good place to stay. The boat dives are great and scheduled for your group. Roger is a class act and is there to help with any questions. Even told us how to deal with the local hospital for a small emergency.

Room Tip: All rooms should be updated within the next year. I was in the rooms that will be updated. The new rooms looked great.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews