We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not good enough for the price”

Cactus Blue on the Beach
Ranked #9 of 138 Restaurants in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Cactus Blue also known as Cactus Blue Bonaire and as Cactus Blue on the Beach A cosy little food truck located at "Donkey Beach" offering great burgers and cold drinks. Donkey beach is located directly underneath the approach-route for planes at the landingstrip of the airport. The new owner - Thamara - will serve you with a smile. She starts cooking from around 11 am till around 3.00 pm. Monday thru Friday during high season. most recent info always on our Facebook page (Cactus Blue on the Beach) Group (sunset) dinners and catering for party's & events upon request.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lionfish burgers where a bit of an overpriced deception! We understand that the once abundant lionfish gets a little scarce, but to notice that on two overpriced minibuns with a lot of iceberg salad and some tiny bits of fish was a deception. Quality is ok but for this kind of money I'll go elsewhere next time.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Derk2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 926 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

Stopped for a quick lunch after diving. The burger was great and cooked perfectly. Service was friendly and the stand was easy to get to along side of the road. Only trouble is we never knew what days they would be there.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank WendyT330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018

The operator was very friendly and of course the view is great. I loved the lionfish wrap even though the market price 17$ gave me a bit of sticker shock. Lionfish is really expensive all across the island for two reasons: the visitors to Bonaire tend to be eco-minded and seek out eating lionfish to 'do their part' and the aggressive eradication efforts have paid off limiting the supply. So I am not saying it is over priced necessarily but it is expensive.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MikeMichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Ate here twice on latest trip and had the Kite burger both times and was excellent. Its a bit messy but who cares, it tastes great!! Very pleasant owner who cooks burgers to order for fair price. Just so nice to eat in shade and look across water at Klein Bonaire and city, can't wait to go back!!!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank yUCATANpAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

We try to visit every trip. If you want Lionfish, arrive earlier than later. The burgers are great also. Even I was surprised at the size of the "Man's burger". It was delicious. Thamara is a very kind and smiling soul. And her spot at Donkey Beach is great when needing a surface interval!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Blue on the Beach also viewed

Kralendijk, Bonaire
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Been to Cactus Blue on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing