We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big taste from a small trailer!”

Cactus Blue on the Beach
Ranked #5 of 127 Restaurants in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Cactus Blue also known as Cactus Blue Bonaire and as Cactus Blue on the Beach A cosy little food truck located at "Donkey Beach" offering great burgers and cold drinks. Donkey beach is located directly underneath the approach-route for planes at the landingstrip of the airport. The new owner - Thamara - will serve you with a smile. She starts cooking from around 11 am till around 3.00 pm. Monday thru Friday during high season. most recent info always on our Facebook page (Cactus Blue on the Beach) Group (sunset) dinners and catering for party's & events upon request.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Big taste from a small trailer!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Cactus Blue sets up the tiny food truck at KiteSchool on the SW side of the island daily, and serves up fantastic grilled goodness all day long. Get their early if you want a Lionfish Burger as they go very quickly! I am a celiac, and the chef was able to prepare my burger as a platter. Food truck fare at it's best - and on the beach!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    532
    151
    48
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Linn, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An idealic Beach Setting”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Much has been written about the food because it's delicious. i'd like to talk about the setting. I've been to Bonaire a dozen or so times and I've traveled much of the world. For me, there's something about that beach with the kiters, the kites, the turquoise water the setting sun in the evening. It's a wonderful vibe that's as Idyllic as I've ever experienced. Hagen is a cool and personable guy--a chef making burgers on the beach. If you visit the island--you'll allways remember eating at Cactus Blue on the Beach.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonairebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Lionfish Sandwich”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Fantastic place to eat on the beach. Food is always good. Lionfish sandwich is great. We always eat here at least once during our stay.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

You will have to tough time finding better food on the island. The owner sold his restaurant in town and set up a mobile catering trailer that he takes to the kite beach everyday. You will not be disappointed here.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerport, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always a hit !”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I always look forward to a visit with Hagen on Kite Beach.

The best Burgers and LionFish that you could get on Bonaire. Relax on one of his lounges and enjoy the KiteBoarders whil you relax with your Lunch. This is a not to be missed experiance.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank avernola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Blue on the Beach also viewed

Kralendijk, Bonaire
 
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Been to Cactus Blue on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing