We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truck food”

Cactus Blue on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 125 Restaurants in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cactus Blue also known as Cactus Blue Bonaire and as Cactus Blue on the Beach A cosy little food truck located at "Donkey Beach" offering great burgers and cold drinks. Donkey beach is located directly underneath the approach-route for planes at the landingstrip of the airport. The new owner - Thamara - will serve you with a smile. She starts cooking from around 11 am till around 3.00 pm. Monday thru Friday during high season. most recent info always on our Facebook page (Cactus Blue on the Beach) Group (sunset) dinners and catering for party's & events upon request.
Smith River
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Truck food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was the only really excellent meal we had on the island. The Cactus Blue truck at Kite beach was a treat. Had the Kite burger and watched the sunset over the beautiful ocean. This had to be the best buger I have had in a very long time. Kudos to Cactus Blue.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddwildbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    141
    44
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best fish burger ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were in Bonaire for 2 weeks in January, and stopped at the Cactus Blue Truck twice for the Lion Fish Burgers, and they were delicious!!! The second time we even saw the fish freshly cleaned while we watched and in short time had a great meal:)...Don't miss this treat. The owner was great to chat with too! Very professional.The view and atmosphere was wonderful. Nothing better than great food, eaten in the sun, watching the ocean, with your toes dug into the warm sand:)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snorkelprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Gem On The Southern Coast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Past the salt mountains along the southeastern coast of Bonaire, we stumbled upon Cactus Blue's colorful mobile restaurant, and what a find! The guy serving up the food and drink (wish we'd gotten his name) was incredibly welcoming, and we feasted on a delicious lion fish burger. I can't wait to visit Bonaire again, and track down Cactus Blue!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tammyj83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown
1 review
“Good Food, Good View, Good Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Made a point of visiting to try the Lion Fish Burgers. Not really a burger but rather a nice grilled fillet on a lightly toasted soft bun with shredded lettuce and fresh tomato. Excellent. The fish itself is very light in flavor and was totally fresh as well. We also had the Blue Burger which was hand made as we watched, griddled with fryed sliced onions, a strip of very lean bacon, melted slice of Gouda and finished with lettuce, tomato and sauce. My bride loved it.

The view here is excellent and watching the Kite Surfing was hypnotising. Well worth the visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ezdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjo, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Kickass burgers saves the day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

After being out kitesurfing all day long it sure is nice to have some really high quality burgers served by Hagen. Even though it is a food stand Hagen is more professional than most restaurants and I still enjoy them after eating there every day for over 3 weeks now.

Sometimes in the weekends Hagen also arranges BBQ at Atlantis kite beach and you can bring your own food and drinks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anhede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Blue on the Beach also viewed

Kralendijk, Bonaire
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Been to Cactus Blue on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing