We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Awesome time!”
Review of Waterlands Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waterlands Village
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Perfect! Awesome time!”
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Wow! What can I say an awesome vacation. Our place was beautifully situated within the community. Pool was refreshing and enjoyable. The cottage is extremely comfortable with a beautiful Caribbean breeze throughout. Plenty of sheets, towels and blankets are provided. We liked the midweek exchange of towels and linens. The outdoor shower came especially handy when arriving back from the awesome dive spots throughout. Private gated community...we felt very safe... We will be back….you can be sure of that!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foundmytreasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

My husband and I had our first trip to Bonaire at the end of February and we absolutely loved it. On other trips to the caribbean we have stayed at small resorts/bed and breakfasts, but liked the idea of having our own villa, so the Waterlands was perfect. It really is like having your own home while you are on Bonaire, but without the isolation of a private rental. If you enjoy doing your own thing while on vacation without lots of crowds and having the option of cooking your own meals (in a very modern kitchen, I might add), then this is the place for you. It was also very secure and well maintained, which was a huge plus.

The waterlands are located about a mile or so outside of the downtown area, so it's nice and quiet, but still close enough that it's not a hassle to get into town. It's also close to the airport (you really could walk) but we were never bothered by airport noise. There's a wonderful pool with a swim-up bar (you are your own bartender though) and the whole place is just very serene and relaxing, just like Bonaire! We stayed in a smaller garden view villa, but there were also larger 2-3 bedroom villas and it appears they are all pretty similar. I can't wait to go back!

We are not divers but kept ourselves very occupied on the island with snorkeling excursions, touring the national park (set aside a whole day to do it right), and visiting the donkey sanctuary. Bring lots of sunblock and bugspray and have fun!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank kaly_rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kappa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

On our 14th trip to Bonaire we stayed at the new waterlands village. It is just an awesome place. The swimming pool has a really cool water falls that comes on during happy hour time at the swim up bar. Bring your own !!! There is no bartender. We went scuba diving every day and the dive sites are just a short truck ride away. You need a truck at any place that you stay at in Bonaire. The rooms are brand new and very spacious. Waterlands village is very quiet and peaceful - the airport is just a short walk away but the noise from the planes is not a problem. It is a gated community so you feel very safe.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FriendlyKappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed two weeks at this resort, which we found to be very pleasant. Very nice accomodation (self-service with kitchen etc., not a hotel!), nice common pool, pleasant distance to airport and the city centre. A reason to come back to Bonaire!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jvermeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geldermalsen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

In May 2009 we again have spent our vacation at the Waterlands Village Resort.
The resort is beautiful, well maintained and Indonesian styled and it has a nice swimming pool.
You can choose cottages at the waterfront or situated in the garden.
The houses are spacious and well equipped. The porch in front of the house is lovely and the perfect spot to enjoy the sunset with a cool drink in the pleasurable company of friends.
The Plaza resort is on a short walking distance where you can enjoy the facilities of a good restaurant and several beach bars.
Yes, you can walk through Plaza Resort to the center of Kralendijk. You´ll find there a remarkable choice of good restaurants.
We were lazy this time and have spent most of the time in the swimming pool, on the beach or snorkeling. The underwater world is really breathtaking. Bonaire is a real ´divers paradise´.
If you´re lucky you can dive or swim with the friendly dolphins which have their habitat around Bonaire.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emerald09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

First of all: Waterlands is NOT a hotel, it is a resort with 24 seperate cottages, either at the beach or in the garden. We have spend our last three holidays there (August 2008, October 2008 and now May 2009). The cottages are beautifull, with lovely beds, great porches and a very well equipped kitchen and super fridge. If you don't want to cook, you can walk over to Plaza (back entrance is next to entrance of Waterlands) or walk through Plaza to Divi or to town.
It was only opened last August and you see the garden grow every time.
We are visiting Bonaire for several years now and Waterlands is our preferred choice. So is AB Car Rental: before we arrive on Bonaire we set a time to be picked up, the friendly staff of AB is always there early to pick us up and, sure, sometimes we have to wait at the desk for the paperwork, we are not the only ones wanting to be helped! We relax, we are on holiday, Bonaire is unhurried, that's why we like it so much.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank In-love-with-Bonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2008

Do not stay at the Waterlands Village unless you are planning to stay there for a while. It is listed as a hotel or resort but the reality is that it's set up as a timeshare or apt. You get towels that shed lots of lint and no toiletries. There are no phones in the rooms either and there was barely a half roll of toilet paper. You get charged for excess use of electricity and the insects were plentiful not to mention that you get charged a cleaning fee. The furnishings are really nice and there's even an outdoor shower but like I said, this is not a hotel. It's within walking distance to the airport but NOT close walking distance to the main eating areas. There are no onsite restaurants and none nearby. We got in a few hours late and the manager left and didn't even bother to wait for us. I had told asked her in plain English to set up a dive for us since we only had one day to dive in Bonaire and she told me she would arrange that as well as provide the boat schedule to Klein Bonaire. When we got there, she told me she had cancelled our dives since she received no confirmation from us and did not know when we were leaving although my email specifically said we only have that 1 day to dive. She also did not provide a boat schedule. She expected us without cell phones to be constantly waiting around for her in the morning even though she did not communicate when she would get into the "resort" and we felt she was unreliable and really put a damper on our vacation as she did not do anything she said she would and thus, we spent a lot of time waiting for her, instead of diving or seeing the sites.
On top of that, do not rent a car from AB Car Rental - a place this woman also recommended. The car rental will quote you one price and then tell you it was a mis-quote and then charge your credit card without even waiting for you to reply to them (if you book online or over the web). It was the old "bait and switch". They tell you they are located very close to this hotel but meanwhile it's at least a 20 min walk. We decided it was too far and told them to pick us up, it was at least 30 minutes before they arrived and so for a location that is "close" I am not sure why it took so long. Also when they pick you up, you still have to wait in a long line to get assistance - even though the reservation was already booked in advance and paid for. The overall process probably took 1.25 hour. I suggest going to another car rental company as they too are unreliable.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank missslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
1.3 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Djambo
Djambo
#4 of 47 in Kralendijk
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments
Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments
#14 of 47 in Kralendijk
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blachi Koko Apartments Bonaire
1.3 mi away
Bonaire Seaside Apartments
Bonaire Seaside Apartments
#14 of 21 in Kralendijk
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Divers Paradise Bonaire Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterlands Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterlands Village

Property: Waterlands Village
Address: Kaya International, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterlands Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private place at the waterside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Waterlands Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterlands Village Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing