We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat by Lac” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jibe City

Jibe City
Houston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to eat by Lac”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We hung out at Jibe City during our first day tour of the island. The food is actually really good. I would definitely recommend the Jibe Pita - it is more like a little pizza on a thick pita than a wrap. The windsurfers are fun to watch, and the sand on Lac is powder soft. I wanted to walk down the break to the good snorkeling spot, but we had a few brights and decided to call it a day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beamwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    81
    14
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Barbecue Night at Hangout Bar, Jibe City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

For a change of pace from all the restaurants on the Kralendijk side of Bonaire, we ate at the Thursday night Barbecue at The Hangout Bar at Jibe City on Lac Bay. We were brought a table hibachi of red-hot coals and and pieces of beefsteak, porksteak, fish, beef sate, and a seasoned hamburger patty (one of each per person to start), along with salad and baked potato. We grilled the items ourselves, and more were available on request. It is a very good value. The staff was attentive, and the atmosphere was casual and very friendly, and included singles, couples and families. It can get a bit breezy, since it's right on the beach, so we chose one of the more protected tables and had no problems.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
345 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a surface day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

During a break from diving we took a friend for her birthday to take surfing lessons, along with my wife they took an hour lesson and were quickly up and wind surfing. A great way to spend a surface day.
BTW, go next door for great burgers, fish sandwich, and ice old draft beer.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank VinoBambinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just CHILL!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have visited Jibe City three years in a row now. We rent a condo in Belnam Bonaire every year and are avid divers. We only eat out once while we are in Bonaire and that is at Jibe City - usually on our last day when we are not allowed to dive anymore.
It is on Sorobon Beach with a great view of windsurfers. The music is great and the servers are great - same ones every year! They are busy and its usually about 110 degrees so cut them some slack!!
We always have the seafood salad which is delicious but becoming a little pricey - but hey - treat yourself!
The drive to Sorobon is worth it. So beautiful.
See you next year!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EmnRob67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Fun place to hang out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for a few hours and enjoyed every minute of it. Right on the beach an is just a great place to chill out. Water is beautiful and food just as good. Didn't have a problem with service but they were very busy as cruise ship in town... Had the daily special which was reasonably priced and delicious. They also have a large container of chilled water for free.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jibe City also viewed

Kralendijk, Bonaire
Bonaire, Caribbean
 

Been to Jibe City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing