We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Flamingo Sanctuary

Ranked #28 of 100 things to do in Bonaire
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to one of the largest flamingo breeding grounds in the western hemisphere--over 10,000 birds. This area is not open to visitors.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

So many pink birds to stare at-its quite remarkable and they are very close up. A good attraction especially for kids.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mwm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Level Contributor
360 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Flamingos Galore”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

We visited this as part of a tour of Bonaire taking in all the main attractions.

we were told a lot could be seen but I think you really need binoculars if you want a closer view.

Whilst many could be seen in the distance from the viewing points they were in reality just a lot of pink dots as they were so far away. Even an 8x zoom on a camera was not enough to get up close and personal as the picture included shows.

Still it was a pleasant stop but unless you are very lucky do not expect to see anything close up.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Wacky the Wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Only 5 flamingos.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

You cannot actually go into the sanctuary, but the waters are visible from the road. The flamingos are not in residence on Bonaire. We were told that they have gone to Venezuela and Aruba since the water has become too brackish for the shrimp they eat. We could see 5 flamingos from the road, but not the flocks we had imagined. Allow time for driving around the southern part of the island to see the old slave quarters, salt flats & lighthouses.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JCrabFWTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Flamingos in Nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

I've never seen so many flamingos in the wild. It was great to drive through & see them - very colorful from all the brine shrimp in the salt mines. All sizes, colors & shapes!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“can't see anything”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

This is a protected area on the southern part of the island near the salt flats. There is no access anywhere near the flamingos so don’t expect to see them unless you have binoculars. The drive around the southern tip of the island is nice in itself, but don’t count on seeing any flamingos. We DID see flamingos near Lac Bay, from the road along the north side of the bay to the mangrove kayaking center. If you see any, drive slow and take care not to disturb them! Leaving the road is forbidden.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lifestartsat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flamingo Sanctuary also viewed

Bonaire, Caribbean
Bonaire, Caribbean
 
Bonaire, Caribbean
 

Been to Flamingo Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing