We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christ Church Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolphin Inn
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing stay!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed at Dolphin Inn for 10 days at the end of May. That was my second time staying with Iris. She was very accommodating and everything was spotless. Great location!!! Dover Beach is only a 3 minute walk away. In close proximity to St. Lawrence Gap, where there are many bars and restaurants to choose from. Amazing stay and would definately visit a third time! Thank you for your hospitality Iris:-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrycja1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    13
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
40
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Lovely apartment in the quiet end of St. Lawrence Gap with all the amenities.A/C, ceiling fan, full kitchen, clean room, fully supplies kitchenette, closet space, side table, quaint decor and great safety features. Hostess was a peach. Price very affordable. No pool or fitness center but near all the great sites of The Gap :-)

Room Tip: Ratings for Swimming Pool and Fitness Center do not apply as there were none at this location. N/A w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missterious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at the Dolphin Inn for 2 weeks and enjoyed it so much i decided to stay longer for an extra week . My time at the Dolphin Inn was amazing , the owner Iris is so friendly and it surprised me to see that she does everything her self , from managing to cleaning to receptionist to secretary ... she is quite the all rounded woman , now i read some reviews about how she is mean and loud and a whole bunch of other crap , but none of that is really true , yes she is loud , but in the most friendly and fun way ever , Iris always tried her best to meet my needs and even, arranged a taxi for me when i needed transportation , she called places for me to book tours and even offered advice when i sat and had personal conversation with her while she was cleaning my room ..... I was impressed by the cleanliness of this place .... and if anyone is looking to stay in Barbados at an affordable price , located near to night life ,beach and food ... yet still have a great night's rest because this place is always extremely quite , then i recommend staying at the Dolphin Inn .... BTW there are also apartments in the back under the name of the Blue Dolphin Apartments .. i am goign to try these out next time i visit Barbados :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stacy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

On the south coast of Barbados is a lovely little guesthouse called Dolphin Inn, run by a helpful Austrian woman called Iris. It is light, welcoming, roomy and, best of all, great value for money on an expensive island. An en suite double costs £45 per night, and there's also a kitchen, dining area, living room with TV and verandah. It is just a stroll away from beautiful, secluded beaches and the bars and restaurants of St Lawrence Gap. Using the "reggae" buses helps to reduce the costs further. Make sure you visit the small beach near the Graeme Hall nature sanctuary; we watched two turtles swimming in the sea there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mascot09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Lovely place! Great location,very clean,affordable and a very friendly owner Iris to host you. The taxi driver Nigel was very reliable and always up for a laugh! I will definitely stay at Dolphin Inn Guesthouse again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 785AsifJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

I stayed in Apartment #2 for ten days/nights. It was very relaxing, clean and enjoyable. What a great location!!! Dover Beach is a 5 minute walk away. In close proximity to St. Lawrence Gap, there are many bars and restaurants to choose from. When not in the mood for eating out, Dover Market is nearby so that you can purchase food to prepare in your room. This is not a 5 star hotel; however, it meets the needs for a relaxing stay away from home. Renting a car is an option; however, access to public transportation is a short 5 minute walk away. Additionally, you can make arrangements with Nigel, a taxi driver, for more personal transportation needs. I found NIgel to be very reliable. Iris, the owner, is a very friendly person who goes out of her way to make sure that all of your needs are met. For the traveller on a budget who wants to experience a relaxing atmosphere, great hospitality, and a great location, you can't find a better value. I highly recommend the Blue Dolphin Inn apartments.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Atlgoldenglove65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed in apartment #1 and it was such a nice peaceful place to retreat to every night. It had everything we needed and was so close to fantastic dining, or the grocery store if you wanted to pick up items and cook at the apartment. This was exactly what we are looking for, a clean no frills place with peace and quiet.

Each morning we started our day with cooking some breakfast and eating on the patio with our little feathered friends. There isn't a view from the apartment but it is surrounded with plants so you have privacy from the surrounding properties. In addition to the table we had breakfast at we also had lounge chairs on the deck if we felt like laying around outside before taking the 5 minute walk to the beach.

We also had free local calls which was nice for us to make all of our tour bookings, dinner reservations, and connect with friends staying on the island. At the time we were there the internet was only a $10us flat fee for the entire stay which was also nice to look up different things while we were on the island. Nightlife is a short 10 minute walk to The Gap restaurants and bars galore.

This is really a great place and our only wish was that it was right on the beach but then it would have been more expensive. Iris took good care of us and she and her daughter are quite the singers if you catch them out on the town. We also loved visiting with the resident turtles on our way in and out everyday. Watch out if you are wearing red and appear to be a tasty hibiscus flower :-) Overall this was an excellent value for us!

Room Tip: Apartment #1 was private since it was located on the end. You would have a neighbor on the right if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jerilynjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
South Gap Hotel
South Gap Hotel
#6 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Southern Palms
Southern Palms
#3 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Property: Dolphin Inn
Address: #66 Dover Terrace, 15023, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: We are located on the beautiful south coast of Barbados just 3 minutes walk away from Dover Beach one of the island's best, Turtle Beach and Casuarina Beach. If you are taking a taxi, we are located between Luigi's Restaurant and the Carib Blue Apartments in Dover Terrace. We are 15 minutes from the airport and 20 minutes from the capital city of Bridgetown. Guest House: The Dolphin Inn Guesthouse consists of 4 bedrooms, each with a private bathroom. Each room has adjustable room fans, mosquito nets and security bars on the window. 3 rooms also offer air conditioning. Everybody can use the nice breezy verandah, large living room (with satellite TV, radio and telephone) and dining room. A fully equipped big kitchen with refrigerator, freezer, oven, microwave, coffeemaker and toaster is available for use by guests. A laundry room for hand wash is also available. If it is getting too hot, enjoy a cool drink underneath the umbrella behind the house. Apartments: The Blue Dolphin Apartments are comprised of four built studio apartments, in the beautiful tropical garden behind the Dolphin Inn Guesthouse. Each studio apartment has a fully equipped kitchenette with a 2 burner-stove, microwave, coffee-maker, toaster and a fridge/freezer. You can enjoy satelite TV and a radio or the nice breeze outside in the veranda between coconut and banana trees! A safety-box is located in each apartment as well as A/C (if requested US$ 5.- extra per day). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse & Blue Dolphin Apts. Hotel Christ Church
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse And Blue Dolphin Apts.
Dolphin Inn Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing