We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a special meal”
Review of Cafe Luna

Cafe Luna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cafe Luna, the award-winning restaurant on the rooftop of Little Arches Hotel, boasts one-of-a-kind panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea in a Mediterranean-style al fresco setting. One of the most romantic restuarants in Barbados, Cafe Luna offers individualized service with a smile in an intimate setting under the stars.
london
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good for a special meal”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We wanted to treat ourselves to a really nice dinner at least one night and were told that this was the place to go.
It’s set on the rooftop of a boutique hotel opposite the sea quite near Miami beach, it’s on the backstreets though so don’t get the little buses as you’ll get lost, you need a taxi for this one.
It’s very quiet and dimly lit with candles/fairy lights so it has a romantic feel to it but the night we went there were large family groups also so as two friends we didn’t feel left out.
The food was nice, good portion sizes, not huge but not at all stingy. Taste was fresh and seasoned well; my main was the Linguine with swordfish in a tangy red sauce with capers and was really tasty. A stand out dish!
We had large prawns to start and a rum&raisin crème brulee to finish which was very boozy.
A 3-course meal with a cocktail set us back approx $265BDs which is about £78 and this was the most expensive meal we had on the island.
Compared to other meals on the island, not sure it was worth the extra money, but when we thought about it in terms of a 3-course meal for £39, it wasn’t bad at all.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank uktraveltips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    202
    61
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a special experience!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had the pleasure of having both a lunch and a dinner at beautiful Cafe Luna. The restaurant is on the roof of the charming Little Arches Hotel. The open air setting is breathtaking at night
with the decorative lights around the restaurant and the stars, moon, sea breeze, etc. At lunch it was very quiet, only a few people. We came in on the late side and they accomodated us. Staff were very friendly. The food was excellent, and the dinner entrees were very generous and quite creative. If I lived in Barbados this would definitely be one of my go- to restaurants. The boutique
hotel looks like a charming and funky place to stay, and it is an easy walk to beautiful Miami Beaqch.. Unique and charming pool area too. One of our two best dinners during our 2 week stay Although the setting is elegant they are informal in terms of their dress code, which was good for us as we were in relaxing mode..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dolphin02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great setting, but...”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This boutique hotel is a gem, and we had high expectations for the restaurant. One odd thing that happened- the lady re-confirmed our dinner reservation with a 7:30 AM phone call, which woke the whole family up.

The service was s-l-o-w but this is Barbados after all. The food was good, but I think we were expecting something else for the price tag and reviews. Unless there is new management, I'll probably pass next time. But the hotel looks fab!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Infosourcer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Credit
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, lovely view”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We are repeat visitors to Cafe Luna. Just went for Moo's Sushi night and it was a fantastic evening. Everything on the menu is great, we have never had a bad meal here and the service is excellent. The view and ambience on the rooftop is beautiful. We have stayed in the hotel in the past, but could not get in this year. The owners were kind enough to let us use the courtesy room to shower and change after a day on the beach. How gracious.
This is a gem in Barbados and I cannot say enough about it! I was surprised to see a couple of poor reviews....if you don't let them know at the time, they cannot fix it. I have had nothing but outstanding service here each and every time we have attended. Always go above and beyond to accommodate any request. We will definitely be back - hopefully soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Poor food, poor service, overpriced”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

The service here is very slow and inconsistent. We waited about 20 minutes for our wine but then our starter and main courses came 5 minutes apart. The food was below average, rubbery shrimp, tasteless fish and overcooked chicken. The price was way too much for what was received, we were expecting excellence but received canteen food with slow and inattentive service. There are far nicer places to go in this area, don't bother with cafe Luna.

Helpful?
5 Thank deeedeee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Luna also viewed

Christ Church Parish, Barbados
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
Dover, Christ Church Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Oistins, Christ Church Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Cafe Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing