We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking night !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Luna

Cafe Luna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Cafe Luna, the award-winning restaurant on the rooftop of Little Arches Hotel, boasts one-of-a-kind panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea in a Mediterranean-style al fresco setting. One of the most romantic restuarants in Barbados, Cafe Luna offers individualized service with a smile in an intimate setting under the stars.
Orillia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking night !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

My friend and I had a wonderful dinner tonight at Cafe Luna. We were immediately mesmerized with the gorgeous view of the sun setting over the sea. We started our dining experience with the hot duck salad and the baked camembert basket, which was absolutely mouthwatering. For our entrees we had the fresh yellow-fin tuna and the Caribbean swordfish. We were very impressed and would highly recommend it. This restaurant was definitely the best way to end an already breathtaking trip. A must do for when you visit Barbados!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sommez V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    195
    60
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“An amazing Dining Experience not to be missed!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Cafe Luna delivers the Sun, the Moon and the Stars! It's the romantic & fun holiday restaurant one dreams of.
Moo the Manager went out of his way to help pair an amazing wine with an even more amazing meal. The service was engaging without being invasive and the food was devine.
One of the best overall dining experiences had to date.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cozy, Secluded dining with a great view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Cafe Luna was nothing short of amazing! We had dinner reservations at 6:30 that evening and when we arrived it was a full on down-pour. The staff were scrambling to get the restaurant tables organized since half of their dining space is under the stars in the terrace. They managed to get everything in place without so much as a hiccup. The bartender was quick in getting our drinks and he made them perfectly! our dinner was delicious and once we were stuffed we had to haul ourselves home.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible dinner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

The food was delicious and the setting was perfect, these are the only positive things that I have to say about this restaurant.

If you are hungry or thirsty DO NOT GO HERE. The service is the worst I have ever received. Drinks that were ordered didn't turn up, a birthday cake that was promised for my girlfriend didn't turn up, we didn't receive our 3 courses. they advertise 3 courses for 79 BBD, this is a LIE. it is 79 not including VAT. DO NOT GO TO THIS RESTAURANT, IT IS THE WORST IN BARBADOS.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a dissapointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

having read reviews we thought we would make the taxi ride for dinner out at Cafe Luna. Our table was booked for 7:30, we arrived at 7:20 and were asked to sit at the bar. We pressumed they had to re arrange tables ( 40% of tables are outside with no cover) The barman offered me a drink but not my husband! Then other customers started comng in two couples who arrived after us were seated before us....its now 7:45. No one has spoken to us to let us know whats going on......... we have not been offered another drink or a menu to look at. Then another couple come in.......they get a table.....7:55! The "manager" comes over and says our table is ready...8:00. No appology. We are taken to our table. I ask why it has taken so long to get seated. It had rained a little before we arrived and he said he had not had his conversation with "the big man" today. Eventually we ordered. when the food came it was good.
Our evening was ruined. This is an expensive resturant (cost of evening 310 barbados, 60 taxi) and the food is good BUT the service was terrible. At one point four members of staff were standing round a cocktail mixer watchng it go round!!
All we can say is the kitchen did a good job but they were badly let down by the front of house staff. There are plenty of good resturants in Barbados. We wont be frequenting this one again!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinmomma, Owner at Cafe Luna, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
I do believe we have replied to your husband on the same subject, yet we see you were upset enough to start a new TA account to write about it again. So let me apologise for causing you such upset at the wait that you were so distressed it necessitated the writing of two reviews about the same experience.
All I can tell you is what I already posted- We are sorry that you feel that waiting at the bar was in any way uncomfortable, I know what it's like to be asked to wait when you are hungry and have a reservation. However, that's not uncommon in the restaurant world. It was poor form that you weren't kept up to date as to the reason for the delay and we are very sorry for that, but it has been showering off and on every single night since Christmas and, as you quite rightly point out, much of our dining is outdoors. Rather than move tables inside, we prefer to leave them outside whenever humanly possible. It's often the case that if we are a) wiping the tables dry or b) waiting to make sure the rain isn't going to start up again, then we ask people to wait at the bar rather than leaving anyone standing uncomfortably by the entrance. If people were sat before you it may well be that their table was indoors and hadn't had to be dried. This involves re-polishing glasses, changing silverware and napkins, so in a restaurant where the majority of dining is outdoors, this can take a little time.
I will pass on your remarks to the management team as it's never good to hear that otherwise good food is let down by poor service. Again, apologies for the wait, but at Café Luna, with so much outdoor dining it's a trade off we have had to make. The idea of covering the restaurant has come up many times but we've never met a single patron who wants us to put a permanent roof there (the wind and wide span prevents an awning) so it's something we have to live with and just try our best to be quick in getting people seated on time.
Regards
Mark Cothran and Moo DeGruchy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Luna also viewed

Christ Church Parish, Barbados
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
Dover, Christ Church Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Oistins, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Cafe Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing