We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just... wow!”
Review of Cafe Luna

Cafe Luna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cafe Luna, the award-winning restaurant on the rooftop of Little Arches Hotel, boasts one-of-a-kind panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea in a Mediterranean-style al fresco setting. One of the most romantic restuarants in Barbados, Cafe Luna offers individualized service with a smile in an intimate setting under the stars.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just... wow!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My overall depiction of Luna could be resumed, by now, with the image of its chef, Mark de Gruchy, wearing shorts and a kamikazi head band: Bold!

The regular people of Barbados are quite polite, but here, they bounce the curve. The place by itself would be amazing, with the fresh seabreeze and the intimate mood that you feel when you got here.

The drinks are outstanding and not soooo pricey, with a special mention for the moolicious one

And the food... oh, boy! Even when the option is not so caribbean, they make it tastes so, with flavors overcoming flavors in a burst of sensations, of sweet and salty, with that swing that only 365 days of sun per year can bring.

I stayed in Barbados with my girlfriend for one week, and I must say this was, by far, our best meal (and we went to others fancy restaurants, like Tides, for an example).

I payed every single dollar happily, and must say: the canadian kamikazi guy is doing a hell of a job in here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pierodavila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    202
    61
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great service, good food”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The service at Café Luna definitely stood out as the best we experienced in Barbados. The staff were attentive and kind, we felt at home. Food portions were always very generous and were great value. The sushi and other starters/main courses didn't blow our minds but the fresh fish salad with goat's cheese and caramelised walnuts and the guava coconut brulee most definitely did. Also provided a great view of the sunset.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tree3te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, Excellent food”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hidden away on the South Coast next to Miami beach Cafe Luna is located on the top floor of Little Arches, a lovely boutique hotel.
The setting is very Mediterranean and has quite intimate mood lighting making it perfect for a romantic meal. All their dinner courses look incredible, very carefully presented and full of flavour. A lot of detailing has gone into the restaurant and it really tells!

We were however turned away because we werent staying there when my family and I tried to have breakfast.

Barring that it is a wonderful little restaurant and highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming, frendly service. Great food special for the summer season, with comp glass of wine....perfect”
Reviewed September 14, 2013


Lovely visit to the bar and restaurant in the summer early evening with my children. Great summer special menu @ gd price n comp glass of wine, made it a must. Cheesecake to die for. Freindly and cheery service, no rush to eat. Fun summer evenings

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprise”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We eat in restaurants frequently. We just eaten at the Cliff a few nights back and went to this restaurant for a quick snack. We found the service but most important the Meal to be very good.
It was a special on a Wedsnesday 3 courses. We paid extra for desert but it was worth the extra charge. Price per meal was outstanding for a good quality dinner. No ocean view ( unless your on very outside) but lovely patio overlooking the stars. Great change up.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Luna also viewed

Christ Church Parish, Barbados
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
Dover, Christ Church Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Cafe Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing