We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time going to this restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Luna

Cafe Luna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Cafe Luna, the award-winning restaurant on the rooftop of Little Arches Hotel, boasts one-of-a-kind panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea in a Mediterranean-style al fresco setting. One of the most romantic restuarants in Barbados, Cafe Luna offers individualized service with a smile in an intimate setting under the stars.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Third time going to this restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have beent to the island of Barbados five times in the last 6-7 years. Our recent visit was March 8th-March 11th, 2013. We returned to the Cafe Luna as I was a fan of this restaurant the last two times we were there. It is a small restaurant at the Little Arches Hotel over looking the Miami Beach or what they call Enterprise Beach. You have to go down a narrow hallway and up two flights of stairs since its on the roof top of the hotel. (Not good for handicap) It has an adorable fountain in the center with wonderful cafe style lighting. We tried to get a reservation at this restaurant on Saturday night beginning about 2pm that day and was told they were booked. Upon hearing this we immediately requested reservations for the following night. The service was average but the food was just as I remembered. I ordered the Tuna ceviche spring rolls. The tuna was fully cooked (no the way I would have preferred) but very good. Of the six of us in the party no one ordered off the price fix menu. All off us enjoyed our meal with the majority of us ordering seafood and one ordering a beef dish. He was the only one who did not enjoy his meal and we joked you "dont order meat on an island, you order fish". This place never disappoints. Recommend

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Turkswedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    199
    61
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Exquisite Roof Top Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have been to Café Luna at the Little Arches Hotel often and have never been disappointed with anything.
This time we were seated along the vine covered railing overlooking the pool, with a light breeze whispering through the Casuarinas.
The menu is international and local in flavour with a Prix Fixe menu for $79 Bds, which included a starter/appetizer, main course and dessert. The wine list is extensive and suitable for the hot climate.
The Prix Fixe included a local “lion shark” with a salsa topping, vegetables that were excellent. The starter salad was crisp and well presented. The King Fish was blackened, slightly piquant also accompanied by vegetables.
Desserts were a rum and coconut crème brulée and a mango raspberry cake.
The service was excellent, with the staff present at the right moments and not intrusive at all.
Overall a highly recommended restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with good food and good service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I eat here frequently as I live in Barbados and it is a nice place to have a special dinner. Go enjoy a meal, you will not regret it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nytaz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Cafe Luna is one of our favorite restaurants in Barbados. We dined here twice on our last visit two years ago and again in this most recent trip. We think it actually got better since our last visit. The location right on the water near Miami Beach is beautiful. Dining under the stars makes for a great atmosphere. The service is among the best we have experienced anywhere on the island. On this visit we enjoyed the tuna spring rolls with wasabi mayo which were excellent, the sesame crusted tuna with peppercorn sauce, and the Parmesan seafood pasta. Every dish was perfect and the prices are very reasonable by Barbados standards...the full meal including a bottle of wine was $130 USD. We highly recommend Cafe Luna and plan to return on our next trip to Barbados.

Helpful?
Thank midazolamintor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustang, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A special place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

A very nice small place.to spend time with that someone special. You can not beat the view and the food. Boo ( chief and motivator) is terrific. Good food and fun to visit. You won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRIPDIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Luna also viewed

Christ Church Parish, Barbados
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
Dover, Christ Church Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Cafe Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing