We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Well though and great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barbados Concorde Experience

Barbados Concorde Experience
Grantley Adams International Airport, Barbados
12464207027
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Experience a true legend; the only one in the Caribbean - the British Airways G-BOAE Concorde affectionately known as Alpha Echo. Your tour is for an approximate 45 minutes to 1 hour which includes an awe-inspiring presentation titled "Engineered for Speed" and being able to board the aircraft where they watch another presentation onboard of the in-flight experience of Concorde. Your tour guide takes you around the facility and provides you with all of the relative facts and historic features on the Alpha Echo Concorde. If you are at the airport you can take a brief walk across to the taxi stand area and enter through the side gate for easier access to the facility from there. There is no audio or video recording allowed on tour but guests are allowed to take as many photographs as possible. Guests are required to lock their bags in the lockers provided and they are also required to keep the key for their specific locker until they have completed their tour. (please note that one locker should be used per person as there are numerous lockers available for use therefore there is no need for various guests to share)
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well though and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was really a surprise, it is a small atraction but well though, they try to make you feel how flying on a concorde was. Staff was all very nice, well trained and polite. We enjoyed a lot! Easy access and parking helps a lot too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Camila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    133
    20
    6
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great time - I wish we had left more time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Rather than spend a couple of hours in the airport terminal we decided to visit the Concorde attraction after checking in our luggage. We only had about 45 minutes but wished we could have another 30 minutes. I was never interested in Concorde,or planes in general, but this was a fascinating tour. The tour guide was excellent, she tailored our visit to accommodate our timeline and she really knew her stuff. Why on earth we cannot all be travelling on planes like Concorde I will never know? However, I wish I could have had the opportunity to travel on Concorde for real. This was the next best thing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Troublenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great information shared by knowledgeable tour guides!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Having an aviation background, I must say I was impressed at the knowledge of the tour guide that conducted this. Spent a lot of time providing background and history of the Concorde and walk-thru of interior was great!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AngeloHard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Came out here by myself this time and it's still as good as every other time, although I have a personal driver from triple A's taxi service, brilliant prices and very honest and reliable thank you Barbados and Alex Darlington from triple A's taxi service . Here is number 827 2134

Helpful?
3 Thank elisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A very pleasant and informative visit about BD$30 pp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Firstly a brief warning, our guide book said open daily, but when we turned up on a Monday it was shut!
Actual opening days at present are Tuesday to saturday, so we turned up on Tuesday to find it was shut for a private function! I would suggest phoning to check before going.

The exhibition itself is excellent, and when we were there very quiet (only 4 other people in with us)
there are a couple of video presentations, a tour of the aircraft and some discussion from the guides.

For photographers the hanger is pretty dark so photography is challenging and the cockpit is behind Perspex with flash photography banned. We used the light from phones to illuminate some areas, but a flashlight would have been handy.

The staff are all pleasant and fairly well informed.
There is a small gift shop with T-shirts and the like and a small snack bar of sorts.

Cost was just over BD$30 per person

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbados Concorde Experience also viewed

Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Saint Peter Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Barbados Concorde Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing