We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Concorde - WOW !”

Barbados Concorde Experience
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Experience a true legend; the only one in the Caribbean - the British Airways G-BOAE Concorde affectionately known as Alpha Echo. Your tour is for an approximate 45 minutes to 1 hour which includes an awe-inspiring presentation titled "Engineered for Speed" and being able to board the aircraft where they watch another presentation onboard of the in-flight experience of Concorde. Your tour guide takes you around the facility and provides you with all of the relative facts and historic features on the Alpha Echo Concorde. If you are at the airport you can take a brief walk across to the taxi stand area and enter through the side gate for easier access to the facility from there. There is no audio or video recording allowed on tour but guests are allowed to take as many photographs as possible. Guests are required to lock their bags in the lockers provided and they are also required to keep the key for their specific locker until they have completed their tour. (please note that one locker should be used per person as there are numerous lockers available for use therefore there is no need for various guests to share)
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Concorde - WOW !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

A must see if in Barbadoes. Apparently one one the best Concorde Museums in the world as you actually get on board the aircraft. As a former pilot, I was most impressed at the detailed & technical knowledge of the hosts. They not only "knew" the aircraft well but spoke passionately about it's performance & unfortunately the demise.

Suggest that you plan to rtn home a couple hours early to check in your luggage at the airport. Then make the short walk to the museum that is adjacent. The is also a coffee shop at the museum but the gift shop is somewhat poor. Remember it is closed on Mondays which is too bad.

Safe landings Mike

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki K, Manager at Barbados Concorde Experience, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and that our staff showed their competency. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
The Barbados Concorde Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    163
    22
    6
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bantry, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth seeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We went to see this because we had a couple of hours to kill before catching our flight home. It was definitely worth seeing and a fantastic opportunity to see this great plane up close. It would be a bit limited for disabled visitors but the staff have done their best to accommodate them by replicating the Concorde's seating arrangement on the ground floor.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki K, Manager at Barbados Concorde Experience, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and your rating. We appreciate you taking time for this review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Barbados Concorde Experience and we do hope we can welcome you back soon.
The Barbados Concorde Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“British / French expertise at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were fortunate enough to fly as passengers on Concorde 20 years ago - only a short trip from Paris to London, but enough to experience Mach 2.01 over the Bay of Biscay. Being able to see Concorde again (albeit in its upgraded state from when we flew) but in its entirety complete wit RR engines was very moving and the memories brought a few tears to our eyes.
The whole experience in Barbados is well thought out and executed. We went in the quiet season and had an entertaining tour and our own photo shoot. The beautiful aircraft is a great example of ingenuity and design that sadly is now in the past due mainly to economic pressures. By travelling faster that the rotation of the Earth the thought of taking off from Heathrow in the morning and arriving at Grantly Adams earlier the same day, is something that takes your breath away.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki K, Manager at Barbados Concorde Experience, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
The Barbados Concorde Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Sure is different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

You get to walk under her and get close to landing gear
- and see the little tail-wheel close up.
Detail.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki K, Manager at Barbados Concorde Experience, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for visiting the Barbados Concorde Experience and taking time to comment and rate our attraction. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
The Barbados Concorde Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are an aviation enthusiast like I am, a trip to the Barbados Concord Experience is a must. Located a few minutes form the International airport, this excellent museum is the home of British Airways Concorde G-BOAE. With the help of an extremely charming and knowledgeable tour guide, you're taken on board this legendary aircraft which is so well maintained, it's amazing to see. The only disappointing aspect was our inability of actually going into the cockpit, but one can understand the need to restrict access to this engineering beauty. The tour was definitely good value for money if you're really interested in seeing one of the few remaining Concords in the world and looking for a real aviation treat.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Papertrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki K, Manager at Barbados Concorde Experience, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments and taking time to rate our attraction. We are glad you enjoyed your experience and we hope we can welcome you back soon.
The Barbados Concorde Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbados Concorde Experience also viewed

Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
 
Saint Peter Parish, Barbados
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Barbados Concorde Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing