We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Villa in Barbados”
Review of Villa Jarrow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Jarrow
Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Villa in Barbados”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I stayed at the Villa Jarrow with a group of friends in September 2011. We had read the previous reviews and were concerned by some of them but thought we would give it a chance....we LOVED it! The Villa is amazing with its stone walls and immense charm. The photos cant begin to describe how beautiful it really is. The Villa is tucked in between two restaurants so during the day you basically have the beach to yourself (with the exception of the local fishermen leaving out in their boats). Comments about the "flotsam" on the beach were lost on us as the only thing we saw was a little seaweed/kelp that gave us the chance to find and help save 8 baby sea turtles! Jarrow is at the very beginning of the St. Lawrence Gap and therefore the perfect location. You can walk the entire gap, to eat, shop, drink or whatever suits you. The Villa is clean and the staff was wonderful. Patrick was more than gracious to us in our stay even making recommendations on places for us to visit and places that we most likely would not have enjoyed. The reviews about the noise can somewhat be justified due to the street however if you have ever been to Barbados in this area you are already aware that everything is on the street unless you are in a stuffy hotel/resort, which is not what the Villa Jarrow is about! If you are a light sleeper, which I am, ear plugs do the trick and that small compromise is definitely worth the pleasure of staying in this gorgeous place! If I get the opportunity to come back I will stay here again anytime as we had the time of our lives at the Villa Jarrow!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alma, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2011

What a beautiful home you are providing for people to rent during their visit. This was probably the most fulfilling vacation I have had in many years and I travel a lot. The house was inviting, peaceful, clean and comfy. It was just like it was my very own home away from home. I like vacations where I am in the middle of the locals; where I can meet them, mingle and interact with them. Villa Jarrow is in an incredible location in the Gap, making it easy access restaurants, shopping, people, beaches, grocery stores and interacting with the locals. The beds were comfy the house was safe and secure and I never once felt like I wasn't at home. The breeze from the beach made it very comfortable to sit around and relax (not that we did much of that!). The waters in front of the house were peaceful and even though it's not really a private beach, it sure felt like it was to us. We pretty much had free reign of the beach in front of the house, other than a few locals we met who would come to swim with us. The management of the house was smooth, between the owner and his employees, the house was perfect for our vacation.

So perfect in fact, I am working on booking my next stay at Villa Jarrow!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Just spent 2 weeks at Villa Jarrow & had an amazing time. The Villa is absolutely charming. Sure it has it's quirks but it's extremely well maintained & spotlessly clean. It has a fabulous deck from which to watch the comings & goings of the fishermen, seabirds, sand crabs, sailboats etc.
The location could not be better. It's right at the beginning of 'The Gap'. This means walking distance (2-5 mins away) to many restaurants and bars.
As to previous reviews regarding the villa being noisy.....The Gap is noisy, not the villa. Bring ear-plugs if you plan on having early nights but be sure to take them out at some point so you can wake up to the sound of the waves lapping on the shore right outside your door.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deirdreroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

My Husband and I and 2 teenage boys stayed here, and just got Back! Loved the villa, exactly what we saw advertised...the house was well maintained, clean,self sufficient, right in the Ocean (Deck), and we could walk to everything...although we did rent a car as well.... The Gap was lively when we wanted to be entertained, and things calmed down around 12 midnite...the boys liked the catamaran cruise, and I liked the shopping, Husband liked the Rum...All Around we will be back again and again, good value for money on the beach in Barbados!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coldincanada3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

We stayed at Villa Jarrow in April 2008. The owners pictures are incorrect, with the added third bedroom the deck area has been reduced. What upset us most was the noise. The close proximity to the Karioke Bar (right behind) the clubs, (across the tiny bay) and the traffic (on a main road) meant that sleep was nigh on impossible until 4.00am on the Saturday and well after 3.00am on most other nights. The beach was covered with seaweed and other flotsam so swimming had its hazards and the place is sandwiched between two restaurants.

Jarrow has no glazing to the side or rear so the wooden louvred windows allow in all the sound unfiltered -and there is a LOT of sound.

The local residents are attempting to get the noise reduced in St Lawrence Gap but with little success so far. A heavy Police presence was seen with police actually patrolling the dancefloor at one Bar.

Not recommended for young families, its Falaraki in the Carribean !!

  • Liked — decor
  • Disliked — The noise and the beach
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bajansunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

We really enjoyed the villa. During the day it was fantastic. A very pretty location, excellent service by Rosanna and Patrick. Patrick went above and beyond, putting up lattice around the new deck to ensure out very young kids weren't in danger of falling off. The villa is kept in very good repair and maintenance seems to be well at hand. The problem with the villa is the noise at night. It is VERY noisy. The karaoke joint across the street has an incredible sound system. There was Karaoke 3 nights a week when we were there (we were there for 3 weeks). Across the bay is a very noisy bar with live music every night. If you sleep in the back bedroom of the villa, you are quite protected from the noise at night, but the other 2 bedrooms are very exposed to the sound.

The beach wasn't as clean or a nice as it is up the road. There were days with a lot of sea weed rolling in and nobody seems to be responsible for maintaining the beach. On the up side, the bay has a number of turtles swimming which we really enjoyed watching.

Lots of great places to go for food/entertainment. Would be the ideal location for singles or couples who want to party.

  • Liked — The Villa was very old, typical old Bajan style.
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knowRtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal,Qc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2007

wonderful house, right on the beach, near the Gap, wonderful view, a little bit noisy on Karaoke night.( only two nights when we were there)...but !!it is part of the pleasure to be on the Gap, where you can walk a few minutes from this house, and buy your supper cooked on a BBQ on the street by Barbadians, (only 5/6$)and .and have a drink at one of the little outside bars ,who have a Blues or a Jazz musician for your pleasure..The house is built between two restaurants , but they are almost empty around 8:30 pm , so there is no noise from there. There is a parking space, a washer a dryer, and all you can think of in the kitchen. Beds are very comfortables. But let me be clear, it is not a 'luxury' house, we experienced door handles that falls, tv not working, but we did not mind , that house is so special, .built from corals, .....This island is fantastic, the Villa Jarrow is a a very nice house.........with all you need . your are on a beautiful island with beautiful people so happy to greet you.

  • Liked — the balcony, over the beach, the beauty of the old house
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mammyneige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
0.0 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
613 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
0.2 mi away
South Gap Hotel
South Gap Hotel
#6 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
767 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Jarrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Jarrow

Property: Villa Jarrow
Address: St Lawrence | Worthing, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Jarrow is located centrally on the South Coast.It is perfect for all types of Holiday makers as it is within walking distance of some of the best restaurants,swimming, snorkeling, sunbathing golf, fitness centers, tennis courts to be found anywhere on the Island.Where there used to be a night club is now a mouth watering Brazilian restaurant catering easily for children and couples.The Villa faces Half Moon Bay directly. Upon waking up in the morning , your first step could be in the turquoise, clear Ocean, breakfast on the spacious deck, lunching just around the corner. The friendly fishermen will catch fish for you and clean it while you get the barbecue ready on the deck for Dinner.The beauty of the area is breathtaking and just sitting and breathing the lively ozone will rest and revitalize your weary bones and make you want to come back again and again.....so you can see that beautiful sunrise every morning and in the afternoon watch it fade away over the Caribbean Sea as it transforms from afternoon to Evening . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Jarrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Jarrow Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing