We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poorly run hotel, with uncaring management.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Melbourne Inn
trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“poorly run hotel, with uncaring management.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

What I was promised was not what was presented to me on my arrival. I requested a refund from the Owner who advised me he will consider it when he heard from my lawyer. There are many better hotels in Barbados to spend you vacation and business time. I regret ever hearing about melbourne inn and will never ever revisit that inn.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrinidadCaveman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    15
    3
    9
See reviews for
3
17
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2008

This was my second stay at Melbourne Inn. When we stayed there last February in their 2 bedroom apartment. There were 4 of us, and everything on the island was booked so we stayed at Melbourne. They had left the cupboards closed so we found that part of our room a little unpleasant as it was musty smelling, but overall the rooms were kept clean, we saw absolutely no bugs, and the beds were very comfortable. So we just kept those cupboards closed. At the end of our 8 days the place started to grow on us. Another positive point is that the airconditioning actually works very well. We stayed at Rostrevor in April and a similar size room was slightly cheaper than Melbourne, but no air and we thought we would die. It was soooo hot and unbearable.

I went back to Melbourrne in July a I was travelling alone. I was placed on one of the upper floors and felt very safe being on my own. You had to have a key to get in to the main office area in the evening, and then your room had a deadbolt, and so does the balcony door. Two locks on each door actually. The room was a studio. You could either have two single beds or a room with one Queen and a small round table. I stayed for 7 nights with one night being free. There wasn't any other hotel tthat matched the price, and the staff are so very friendly. Now if your used to travelling to all inclusive 3+ to 5 star hotels, the Melbourne Inn may disappoint you, but if you want to be in the middle of all the action of St. Lawrence Gap, and need a clean place to sleep, then this is the place. I am going back in October and have already contacted the staff to stay there again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, felt safe, rooms clean, no bugs
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbadosBim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia Candda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2008

WARNING !!!
Our stay at this Inn was very disappointing. Dark, Dirty,and less than basic. We had to ask for pillows, (they were taken off another bed) and had to ask for a face cloth. The sink leaked, books on the dresser were soggy. Dust and dirt in the floor that obviously had been there for some time. Even the chesterfield in the lobby looked like someone has slept on it. We were afraid to turn the lights off due to possible " critters of the night". Had I known, I would have saved my $75.00 and slept on a bench at the airport. George Libby

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgelibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Christ Church Parish hotels

winnipeg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2008

We stayed one night at this hotel just after it was sold. I believe there was only one other guest at the time. It was like a cabin for kids at summer camp. We had a small balcony with old chairs and a view of the rooftop. The room was small with two single beds, which were surprisingly comfortable.
This was our yearly trip home and we had two other hotels booked so we only had to stay one night. Thank heavens. We felt sorry for the one staff member who was there and obviously not very happy to see us go but this hotel is basically a hostel at most. We paid the same price through an auction for nicer hotels with breakfast included. We were even upgraded for free to a luxury apartment.
I would recommend this hotel only for the location and those on a really tight budget.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed January 2005, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank mattie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2007

The hotel was run down, the pool which was the size of a hot tub was filthy..The room was dirty and there was no water pressure to take a shower..The only plus side is you can walk to many nice restaurants and a nice beach

  • Liked — Close to nice restaurants and beach
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jklam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2007

After booking a cheap last minute deal to the melbourne inn, my girlfriend and i were very excited as we had never been to the caribbean before. However on arrival we were very dissapointed with this place. It was just like a hostel, very very basic, dark and dingy and our room was just that, one room with a little bathroom in the corner. We wasnt expecting much but was told it was a 3* self catering, this was so far from the truth. We only had a fridge and no other means to self cater!!

The place was advertised as having a pool but this was more like a large bath/small hot tub!! The location of the place itself wasnt too bad as it was at the end of the st larence gap just a walk away from the beach and restaurants. We stayed in the melbourne inn for 2 nights and after getting bitten to death by all sorts of bugs and totally fed up with the place we decided to complain to our rep.

They told us this was a 2a apartment and shouldnt have been sold as a 3 star (thanks going places!!) although the rep was understanding they didnt offer us any compensation, after a lot of arguing they said we could move to the rainbow reef hotel just accross the road for an extra 100pound each. We was that fed up with the melbourne inn we decided to pay the extra and move to try and rescue our holiday. This was the best decision we could have made as the rainbow reef was a far nicer place and our room was 10x better! it had all the SC facilities you'd expect with a pool and beach view... We enjoyed the last 12 days of our holiday and had a great time.. I would go back to Barbados but would not book the melbourne inn no matter how cheap it is!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The Room
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank ajamesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
0.5 mi away
Monteray Apartment Hotel
Monteray Apartment Hotel
#29 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shonlan Inn and Apartments
Shonlan Inn and Apartments
#39 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunbay Hotel
Sunbay Hotel
#43 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#27 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Gap Hotel
South Gap Hotel
#6 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Inn

Property: Melbourne Inn
Address: 135 4th Avenue | Dover, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Melbourne Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About the property Melbourne Inn provides you with affordable accommodation and quality service all year round. Great for business trips or leisure. In addition to our Standard or Studio rooms all equipped with fridge, cable TV and free internet , AC, Melbourne Inn has a lounge / meeting area that can be used either for business meetings, family and friends get together, birthday party or wedding / graduation receptions. Our reception / activities desk is there to make your stay enjoyable and productive. We can assist you with all your tours, great places to dine, see and do. Transportation around our beautiful island can be done by renting one of our hire cars at an affordable price, our reliable professional taxi service or via Public transportation which is available in close proximity. About the neighbourhood Melbourne Inn is located about 1 to 2 minutes’ walk to the near popular Dover Beach, shopping store, breakfast spots, restaurants and pubs in the quiet end of St .Lawrence Gap, a short walk to many sporting activities such as basketball, football, tennis, cricket, our local road tennis and the exciting nightlife of St. Lawrence Gap better known as "The Gap". We are also within 10 - 20 minutes’ drive to the Airport, Seaport, USA Embassy Consulate, Bridgetown and popular Oistins Bay Garden for your weekend fish food and fun. We can organize island tours to different places of interest on the island like the Harrison Cave, Bathsheba, animal Flower Cave and plenty other spots of interest or why not take a day time party cruise or even a romantic sunset cruise or take a ride on the submarine for your enjoyment on the sea. About Us We are a husband, wife and mother family run accommodation and rental provider whose goal is to provide great service in a relaxing environment. We have been providing apartment and guesthouse rental services for over 20 years and are now working to bring Melbourne Inn to a standard of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Melbourne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Hotel Christ Church
Melbourne Inn Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing