We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my stay at melbourne inn” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melbourne Inn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“my stay at melbourne inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

ms reid was quite friendly and helpful, she told us where to go and also told us where places would be cheaper or more expensive, our room had a kitchenette so we could cook or bring our stuff in cable & air conditioning worked, loved my balcony, the birds would come too see if we had anything to offer lol, quiet, except for on friday nights the other hotel ocean 15 had jazz and karoake, but was just right for me and my hubby. :)

Room Tip: ask for room 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stargrazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    15
    3
    9
See reviews for
3
17
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

At end of the season very quiet, fairly helpful staff, room service not to be taken for granted. Nice location near restaurants, beach and airport. No breakfast. Close to Gap (Lawrence) which means opportunities at night but also some noise at night.

Room Tip: get one with a kitchen, it is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaaljkmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

There ought to be a better option around here for the price, really....
The rooms are very simple, and clearly not looked after at all. Some light bulbs not working, some taps not working, dust and dirt in corners etc. Linen seemed clean though, (to my surprise).
Don't expect any kind of service - they don't service the rooms at all, and don't even provide so much as a bar of soap for the bathroom.
All this, and they even have the cheek to charge $10 for the wifi password ! (just ask another guest instead).
Having said all that, the price was lower that most other options, and the location is pretty good. If you are not expecting much, then you should not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Timontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Christ Church Parish hotels

Point Fortin, Saint Patrick, Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

I had a great time in Barbados. Melborne Inn was nice, quiet. Staff was pleasant. Stone throw from the beach .Prices for both accommodation and car rental was fair. They just need to fix the bar downstairs and the beds squeaks! lol

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sparkle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
1,101 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 904 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

The location of this friendly family run little inn is superb. Just a few minutes walk to many lovely beaches and close to the Gap area where you can be entertained and fed well from a variety of establishments.. The Inn itself is comfortable, modest in presentation and functional. The beds are super comfortable and everything is clean the very fast wifi internet is free and works very well,great air-conditioning, new units working well, the rooms all have kitchens so if you want to cater for yourself its perfect . For $65 a night it is possibly the best bargain in Barbados. The lovely lady owner is very willing to assist with phone calls, car rental ( very reasonable at half price of regular rental car companies) she will even wash your dirty clothes for you , thats the high level of service offered there. The Melbourne Inn is for those on a budget who would like to be close to a good beach and all amenities, I felt very comfortable and safe , there was no noise as previously reported, it has obviously been cleaned up since the bad reports of 2008 - 10. I would recommend this place as a good economical reliable option. It is not the Sheraton, it is not a 5 star hotel, and you are not paying for that either, in fact Turtle bay hotel very close by charges $800 a night, and you can share the same beach, this little hotel is so close.

Room Tip: room 25 is at the end of the hall with good lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Saskiagrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

First off, I have to say that the owner Anne and her staff were very accommodating. I would recommend this to someone who wants a step up from a hostel but isn't looking for a beatiful place to stay. The prices are fair and the location is good, especially if you're looking to party at the St. Lawrence Gap!! The rooms vary from single room with a washroom and balcony to a large(ish) 2 bedroom apartment with a sitting room and kitchen (no balcony though...) There is a grocery store and a deli within a 2 min walk and Turtle and Dover beaches are about a 5 min walk at most. (Hint: if you go to Dover beach ask for a chair from Tiger but go further away from the hotel-the water is much nicer on this side with a lot less sea debris). The general downfalls were that housekeeping did not seem to work past early afternoon so if you want your room cleaned you would need to be up and out of the room by 11 or 12:00 (which after partying until the wee hours was not always possible....) The staff are quite noisy after about 9:30/10:00 yelling up and down the halls and actually banged on the door to wake us up a few times for various reasons. there are no "do not disturb signs" to indicate to the staff whether you are there or not... the windows in any of the 4 rooms we stayed in were not able to fully seal which means mosquitos get in. Some of the ceiling fans were broken but in general the air conditioners worked well. In general I would stay here for the location and cost more than the actual rooms or service.

Room Tip: If you need more than just a minifridge ask for the apartments with kitchens (they may only be 2 bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c_dubToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

I stayed there late August-early September with my Bajan boyfriend and I loved it. Our room was very nice and pleasant and the staff was just amazing. This inn is ideally located, walking distance to everything (beaches, restaurants, bars, clubs, etc) and is also quiet and well guarded. They also have wireless internet which is sooo convenient. Their prices can't be beat no matter when you decide to come to Barbados. If you're on a budget or let's say you would rather spend your money in having fun (jetski, boatrides, bar hopping, etc), the Melbourne Inn is your best bet. Rooms are cleaned everyday and the cleaning ladies are nice and do an excellent job.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Empressii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
0.5 mi away
Monteray Apartment Hotel
Monteray Apartment Hotel
#30 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunbay Hotel
Sunbay Hotel
#43 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shonlan Inn and Apartments
Shonlan Inn and Apartments
#39 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#26 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Gap Hotel
South Gap Hotel
#6 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Inn

Property: Melbourne Inn
Address: 135 4th Avenue | Dover, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Melbourne Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About the property Melbourne Inn provides you with affordable accommodation and quality service all year round. Great for business trips or leisure. In addition to our Standard or Studio rooms all equipped with fridge, cable TV and free internet , AC, Melbourne Inn has a lounge / meeting area that can be used either for business meetings, family and friends get together, birthday party or wedding / graduation receptions. Our reception / activities desk is there to make your stay enjoyable and productive. We can assist you with all your tours, great places to dine, see and do. Transportation around our beautiful island can be done by renting one of our hire cars at an affordable price, our reliable professional taxi service or via Public transportation which is available in close proximity. About the neighbourhood Melbourne Inn is located about 1 to 2 minutes’ walk to the near popular Dover Beach, shopping store, breakfast spots, restaurants and pubs in the quiet end of St .Lawrence Gap, a short walk to many sporting activities such as basketball, football, tennis, cricket, our local road tennis and the exciting nightlife of St. Lawrence Gap better known as "The Gap". We are also within 10 - 20 minutes’ drive to the Airport, Seaport, USA Embassy Consulate, Bridgetown and popular Oistins Bay Garden for your weekend fish food and fun. We can organize island tours to different places of interest on the island like the Harrison Cave, Bathsheba, animal Flower Cave and plenty other spots of interest or why not take a day time party cruise or even a romantic sunset cruise or take a ride on the submarine for your enjoyment on the sea. About Us We are a husband, wife and mother family run accommodation and rental provider whose goal is to provide great service in a relaxing environment. We have been providing apartment and guesthouse rental services for over 20 years and are now working to bring Melbourne Inn to a standard of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Melbourne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Hotel Christ Church
Melbourne Inn Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing