We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holidays at Bajan Breeze”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christ Church Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bajan Breeze Guest House
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great holidays at Bajan Breeze”
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We have just come back from our two week stay at Bajan Breeze where we have had a fantastic time. Karen was the nicest hostess, welcoming us upon our arrival and seeing us off at the end of our stay. She was always available to give tips and advice on places to visit or to eat at . Our rooms were very confortable and clean, bedding and towels were changed every other day. All rooms have their own en suite bathroom and are suitably furnished. There is plenty of storage space for clothing. The lovely house is only 2 minute walk from the beach, which is just across the road. All beaches in Barbados are public beaches so we used the facilities (a lovely beach fringed by coconut trees and the pools) of the Coconut Court Hotel accross the road on a daily basis. The staff, there, were very pleasant and attentive to our needs.
We rented Karen's car for a day and went to look at some beautiful beaches south and east of the island. Other days, we used the "vans" to go into Bridgetown or Oystins. There are plenty of restaurants close by, whether you want to eat cheaply or spend a little more. Karen will cook for you if you wish but we did not take the opportunity to sample her cooking, though there was some rather nice smells regularly wafting from her kitchen! We came to Barbados a little apprehensive, as it was the first time we were staying in a guest house, but the reality far exeeded our expectations. This was for us the perfect holiday, as we were completely independant and free to do as we pleased: no set time for breakfast or dinner, no dress code, unlike the typical holiday package deal. Our successful holiday was mainly due to the lovely Karen who looked after us so well and made us feel welcome and part of her lovely family. We hope we now have a new friend in Barbados.
This was our second visit to Barbados and we all loved it. We are planning and thinking about next year's holiday already and it is very likely that we will come to Barbados again!
Richard, Valerie and Ben Pearson July 2008

  • Liked — Excellent value for money
  • Disliked — Lack of A/C
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Thefoxes63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    16
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
26
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

We spent 5 nights at the Bajan Breeze and it was exactly what we were looking for. The en-suite room was excellent and Karen the owner couldn't have been more helpful. Karen arranged car hire for us which we had for the 5 days and we went to different parts of the island every day. The location of the guest house was also great as we were pretty central to see everything. Within 30mins or so you could be at each end of the island - north south east and west. There was a huge supermarket about 5 mins by car where we got provisions for breakfast/picnics. There was also a shopping centre about 5 mins away with some nice luxury goods - jewellery, handbags and swim gear - we didnt go shopping until the last day so having this area closeby meant we didnt have to make a special trip to Bridgetown. There were also plenty of restaurants within 10 minutes drive and a particularly good coffee shop and ice cream parlour. The scenery is different all around the island. The mid and north east coast is quite rugged where strong currents make it not really suitable for swimming but a paradise for surfers. The whole of the west coast in comparison was very safe for swimming with lots of beautiful beaches and of course beautiful sunsets. In the far north we visited caves and underground pools and rock formation type windows that look out to the sea where we were told Billy Ocean recorded one of his videos. In the mid north we visited more caves - this time instead of walking down stairs there was a little electric train which takes you down to see amazing stalactites and stalagmites. Also mid island about 25 minutes from the guest house was the pottery - lovely colourful pieces - there is also a gallery, coffee bar and fine gift shop here. Oistins fish market was about 15 mins. All the locals were really friendly and helpful. All places on the main routes had regular bus services but having the car just meant we could visit places off the beaten track with hardly any tourists and see the real Barbados, deserted beaches, mid island hills and countryside/ farmland and very cute painted wooden houses. We also visited sugar cane factories and got some sugar cane to taste. We also went to a plantation house concert which was amazing. We had done some research on the internet before going to find out what was going on in the area and booked this concert in advance. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and will return to the Bajan Breeze guest house without hesitation. Our stay was really great and made all the more enjoyable by the fantastic hostess Karen.

  • Liked — Lovely room, lovely owner
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Scottish-German
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

We stayed at the Bajan breeze guest house in Hastings in may this year, and from the very beginning things couldn't have been better.

Karen (a brit herself) our host was lovely , and was extremely helpful both arranging our booking and giving us tips about local eateries, beaches and places to go. I have never known someone care so much that we had an enjoyable holiday as Karen did!!

The property is split in two, with Karens home at the back, and 3 bedrooms, a guest lounge and verandah at the front.

Whilst the property is not actually on the beach, it is literall across the road from the coconut court hotel, which is more than happy for karens guests to use their pool and beach loungers provided you byuy a few drinks / lunch, so it really did not matter - if anything it was better as you got to use the coconut courts facilities, without feeling that you were part of a package holiday group!

The bedroom itself was really homely and pretty, with a very nice ensuite shower room and a fridge, and everything was always imaculately clean and tidy.

Top marks also go to Mamma mia, the italian run deli / restaurant almost next door, and the american run convenience store.

Karen also has three lovely small dogs, but dont worry if you dont like them, they are not allowed in the guest areas!

A huge thank you to Karen for a wonderful stay, and for your encyclopeadic knowledge of the island!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Toby_and_Kam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2008

Stayed for 10 nights in february 2008 .... would recommend the guest house to any independent travellers looking for a great room on a budget.

Main pluses were:

Personal service, tips, hints and advice - worth a lot if you're a first time visitor to the island with limited time! felt more like visiting friends :-)

Room quality - great room for the price, clean and spacious, well appointed bathroom, nice bed, high ceilings, nice shared reception area etc

Social - plenty of opportunity to meet with the other guests

Location - OK, it's not beachfront, and the immediate neighbourhood is a little run down, but it's a couple of minutes to a nice beach, and it's on lots of bus routes to take you directly around the island cheaply and quickly - saves a lot of cash on taxis and car hire!

All in all we were really happy to have chosen Bajan Breeze!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skanebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We have just returned from Bajan Breeze and are really sorry that we had to leave. We stayed there for two weeks and had the most fantastic time. The house is really lovely with high ceilings and airy light rooms. Our room had a very comfortable bed, tv, fridge and large shower.

The hostess, Karen, is such a lovely, friendly lady and is great at suggesting what's good to visit and also good restaurants of which there are plenty.

The location couldn't have been better, we were opposite a hotel which allowed visitors to use all their facilities, including a lovely pool, free beach loungers, beach bar and restaurant. We were a minutes walk away from a few nice restaurants and bars, and a five minute bus ride into St Lawrence Gap where there are countless bars and restaurants. Bridgetown is also within easy walk (30 mins) or bus ride (5 mins).

The buses are fantastic, we thought about hiring a car before we arrived but once there we didn't need to as you can get around the whole island by bus which costs US$0.75 per person. There are 3 types of bus which all cost the same, big blue ones, smaller yellow ones and smaller still taxi/buses which run certain routes and are going past and tooting their horns every minute or so.

Good places to visit are Bathsheba,(amazing coast line),The Barbados Wildlife Reserve (monkeys roam around here free to leave at anytime and normally pop back from the forest for teatime at around 3pm), Crane Beach (pink sand,very exclusive hotel and fun waves), Oistins (for the friday fish fry 15 minute bus ride), and a catamaran snorkelling cruise to swim with the turtles. Good restaurants are The restaurant at Southsea (expensive but worth every penny, geat food, amazing service, fantastic view in St Lawrence Gap),Pisces (fantastic Caribbean Curry and good wine selection - 5 mins bus ride into St Lawrence Gap), 39 steps (1 mins walk), and Harlequin in St Lawrence Gap.
Best place for a pina colada....Bar over the road in the Coconut Court Hotel!
Have one for me!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank AllisonNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2008

The Bajan Breeze guest house in beautiful Barbados is the ideal place to stay if you are travelling alone or with another person. The home is very clean & cozy. The owner Karen is as sweet as can be. She makes you feel right at home. The decor is refreshing and calming. I have been to Barbados many times and I would recommend this guest house to everyone! Perfect location, everything you need is a short walk or a quick bajan van ride away. Visit the website and the pics you see tell only the truth - what you see is what you get. Thank you Karen, Mark & the three 4 legged sweethearts for making our stay the best visit to the island yet! We luv you & we will definitely be back! Bajan Breeze is your home away from home and the people are like family. Thank you Barbados & Bajan Breeze for the happiest vacation of my life! Cheers :O)

  • Liked — It is very clean & the owner is a doll
  • Disliked — That I had to leave it
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cocanutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Kitts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2008

I was in Barbados for one night for personal business early the following day. I was looking for a guest house and contacted Karen (the host) through the website.

The rooms are as clean and as pretty as they look on the website - the lovely linens, the high ceilings, the feather pillows - absolutely no false advertising there! The bed was comfortable and I slept like the baby I haven't been in (cough, cough) years.

The real gem is Karen though. She picked me up at the airport and I was in a bit of a pickle not having received my overnight bag. It was Sunday and late at night; Karen managed to set me up with the essentials digging into her personal stores I am sure.

A lovely place and a lovely host.

  • Liked — Clean and pretty
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KittitianQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.1 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Savannah Beach Hotel
Savannah Beach Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hastings
1,504 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados
1.5 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bajan Breeze Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bajan Breeze Guest House

Property: Bajan Breeze Guest House
Address: Hart's Gap | Hastings, BB14035, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Christ Church Parish
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bajan Breeze is a private owner managed Guest House offering three private individual rooms with ensuite bathrooms for rent. Advertised prices are per room and not for all three rooms. Our maximum occupancy is 5 persons. We have two double rooms for single or double occupancy and one compact single room for single occupancy only. Our rooms are furnished with one bed are bright and airy, have ample hanging and drawer space, Wifi, bed linens and bath towels. The house is separated into two areas, your space and our space. Your space includes your private room with a high exposed timber roof, ceiling to floor curtains, secure doors and locks and tiled floors, a delightful sitting and dining room and an outdoor covered area perfect for relaxing and watching the world go by. The house is clean, well furnished and in a great location with everything nearby. We are located within the Garrison Historical Area on the convenient South Coast of Barbados with many beaches, the boardwalk, transport, eateries, water sports, horse racing, running track and much more at your fingertips. Also we are very close to the US Embassy, the Diagnostic and Radiology Clinic and Bayview Hospital. Very convenient for travellers visiting for Visa purposes. For Business travellers we are within very easy reach of Accra Beach Hotel, Savannah Beach Hotel, HIlton and Courtyard Marriott. Airport transfer is generally just a 20 to 30 minute taxi ride dependent upon your time of arrival. To be fair to guests that prefer not to use AC we do charge seperately for this facility. The choice is yours. For sleep time use the charge is US $8, for some additional day time use $13 which is payable locally. Guests not wishing to use AC will be provided with a fan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bajan Breeze Guest House Hotel Christ Church
Bajan Breeze Guest House Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing