We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Horizon(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Surf Beach Apartments(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Escape(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
Abbeville Hotel & Bert's Bar(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel PomMarine(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveler rating
174
155
44
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
155
44
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswithin walking distancec blockst lawrence gapsister hotelberts sports barthe security guardthe gaproad noisefridge freezeronsite restaurantone bedroom apartmentfully equipped kitchendish soapself cateringair conditioningsouth coastclean hotel
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 381 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This was our second visit most guests are returners
We had atop floor room overlooking sea and pool very quiet the only Noise the sound of waves ...
Rooms large spacious basic but comfortable small fully equipped kitchen
There is excellent air con
The bathroom was tired needs a revamp but was clean and functional it's a detail only
There are lots if great things about the hotel the best being location on the beach with a pool near great bars and restaurants
Staff all warm and friendly especially Reggie who organised trips for us
It was wonderful to sit by the pool watching the sun go down

A totally relaxing holiday on a beautiful peaceful and safe island
What is there not to like?
Hope to return SOON

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank julieramsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Last year we stayed at the sister hotel, Coral Mist, we loved it there. This year we had a one bedroomed apartment at the Blue Orchis - it's great.
Don't expect 5 star luxury, but it's really comfortable and friendly. It's very clean and situated right on its own beach. Okay the sunlounger cushions really do need replacing, but you feel lime you are really in Barbados
Staff were great, Mr Liverpool always great, and Reggie is fantastic he can sort anything.
The location of this hotel is perfect bus stop outside and lots of eateries within easy walking distance.
I'm a bit loathe to give this review as I'd like to keep this place to ourselves
Although the restaurant lacks atmosphere the food us really good and reasonably priced

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jandmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed in the Blue Orchids for 2 weeks and loved every minute of our holiday.
The hotel is spotless,the rooms are cleaned every day and you can have fresh towels every day if you wish.The rooms have everything you need for a self catering holiday,great fridge,great cooker,all the kitchen utensils you require.
The balconys for the rooms all face the ocean and all have great views.
Reggie is an absolute must to speak to as he is a fantastic help for anything you need,if he recommends it do it !!!
The beach from the hotel is beautiful and the water is crystal clear.
There was never a shortage of sunbeds and the beach is kept very clean.It is also a very safe place to relax.
I only have one complaint,some of the reception staff could at least try and be pleasant or helpful.
When we left on Sunday not even one of them could at least say goodbye and we had sat for over an hour in reception while we waited on our transfer to the airport.
At least Joseph the security man and the guy from the beach said good bye to us,so I think some (not all of them)could benefit from some man management skills.Some times when you asked for access to your safe,beach towels or a general question it seemed like a problem,but I have to stress it was only a couple of them and the rest off the staff in the hotel are super helpful and very very friendly as are the people in Barbados,I don't think I have ever met nicer people on holiday.
So to anyone thinking of going to the Blue Orchids I would fully recommend it as it was one of our best holidays and we are going to go back next year for 3 weeks.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank colinBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Well located. Very comfortable .very good value for price. Staff were always courteous .and helpful. Management welcome party very minimal. Beef it up or don't bother.

Overall very satisfied. Returning next year.
.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheilass106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our previous visit was great, C 2 a studio on second floor, loved it there. This visit I tried E 108, a one bedroom studio on bottom floor facing the pool. My major complaint was that the only A/C unit located in the bedroom was just above the head board, therefore the down draft was in arctic proportions. If the temperature was adjusted higher it was a steam bath. So we covered our heads to avoid frost bite and tried to sleep. Don't ask me why we heard chairs scrapping the floor overhead at midnight, it was mystery. That was annoying, like adding petrol to the fire. The kitchen had a stand up fan to add to the ambience, it was sultry hot in there all the time. Hey, just telling it like it is. And last just to put the icing on the cake, the bed was a granite mattress, at least my shoulders said it was. After two nights without sleep it was great to be home in my bed.
The hotel staff was great as usual, great to talk to Reggie again…they treat you like family. The hotel grounds are still immaculate and picture perfect. Loved the pool and hearing the waves while dozing...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank underwayatlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret c, Manager at Blue Orchids Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for staying with us, yet again at Blue Orchids.

We are very concerned that you did not enjoy your stay this time with us. However, if we were told about the Airconditioner situation, we could have relocated your bed and you would not have to experience the uncomfortable temperatures.

With regards to the bed being hard, that could also have been reported to us and we would have changed the mattress for you. Some persons like a soft bed and some persons like a firm bed, and we are aware of this.

Please also be advised that the first Room you were in was a Deluxe Studio Apartment, which is one large Room. E108 is a One Bedroom Apartment, with a separate bedroom and Living area, and not a Studio.

We hope that your experience would not deter you from returning to Blue Orchids Beach Hotel and with the knowledge that you have been given, you will be able to make a comfortable decision when booking in the future.

Thanking you once again for staying with us and also for the compliments made to the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews