We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Orchids Beats an All Inclusive Resort Hands Down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was our first trip to Barbados, and in all honesty despite being a firm believer in local hotels and restaurants, I had contemplated a number of the resort AI hotels. The reason was that I was lead to believe that Barbados was mega expensive - so I was glad that we stuck to our instinct NOT to go AI. This hotel and location enabled us to enjoy much more of the local flavour without breaking the bank.

The location is perfect - on one side is a more lively fun beach (Accra, a very short walk away), and on the other is an almost deserted beach - straight from the hotel with beach loungers supplied. Admittedly the sea is quite choppy and isn't suitable for small children or those uncomfortable in less than calm waters, but for us was fun.

The hotel is modest and simple, but the rooms are comfortable and clean, and spacious enough (we had a studio - D block 4th level). We did experience some road noise but nothing which really bothered or disturbed us. We booked with Virgin and requested this hotel in preference to the CM sister hotel, as was a high level room. We had maid service daily (fresh sheets mid week / fresh towels as needed), the gardens are kept very tidy and the pool serviced daily, although with the sea as inviting as it was, we never used the pool. All rooms get a view of the sea and or the beach - I don't think there's a bad view from any room! The aircon worked nicely, as did the shower.

There are kitchen facilities with pretty much everything you might need. We tended to eat breakfast on the balcony, and ate out at lunch and in the evening.

We used the café twice for late afternoon drinks - but it's bit hit and miss, though friendly.

Champers is almost next door, best to book ahead, and we went there for a birthday dinner treat - service and food couldn't have been better and the price was more than acceptable. We also ate at the Tiki Bar (Accra), Tapas, which we felt was nice but service a little cool given how friendly the islanders are, and the Chopping Board at Mojo's - again best to book, and of course Oistins for the Friday fish fry (get the bus to be there for about 6.30). There are 2 good supermarkets a short walk (turn right outside the hotel).

The bus stops are right outside the hotel (turn right) and are a fantastic way to get around the island. We followed a previous TA's suggestion and got the bus to The Crane for the beach and a nice lunch, and got a taxi from there to Bathsheba (about $35US) before getting the bus into Bridgetown, where we changed at the depot for the bus back (Oistins/Sam Lord).

We happened upon Nicholas Agard who does trips out on his 3/4 man Hobie Cat, at Accra Beach (he also hangs out near the Carib bar - a bit before St.LG). He took us out for about 3 - 4 hours all-in, for a trip to swim with the turtles, and an impromptu lunch at Oistins. A fabulous experience but not for the faint hearted or those with mobility issues - my hubbie doesn't swim but he loved it, and of course Nicholas had life jackets and snorkel gear. We had a fabulous time and it was just the three of us, so it felt really relaxed and a more 'natural' swim with the turtles.

We can't fault this hotel - it really is good value for money. On our travels we chatted to people who were staying on the west coast who really hadn't much good to say, and it confirmed that we'd made the right choice.

If staying for longer, we'd probably have hired a car for the day to see the northern coast. We did an evening sunset cruise (Tiami through Virgin), and were advised that at this time of the year (Jan) we'd probably not see turtles. The snorkelling to see the shipwrecks was interesting and the drinks and food were a nice addition.

We will be back, and we'll stay at the Blue Orchids without a doubt.

Room Tip: All have a good view - face beach/sea. D block has higher level - great sunsets. E block probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Goneforgoodthistime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 347 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

Our apartment had everything we needed, the air-con was quiet, good shower and the apartment was thoroughly cleaned every day. We were on the corner of D block 4th floor and although there was some road noise and a barking dog - the views were fantastic from our balcony. We found all of the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The beach and garden areas are private, with lots of room for everyone to spread out - but the sun loungers could do with a refurb/more comfortable cushions. The hotel did look a little bit tired but the staff were always doing/tarting things up. Considering the location right on the beach, open to all the elements I thought the property looks pretty good. We didn't eat at the restaurant or use the bar as we were never really sure whether it was open, what was going on/was available as there was no info about it anywhere. It is very nice not to be hassled by staff and left to your own devices - but I think the hotel could try and promote the restaurant/bar area a bit more. The sunsets are fantastic form the beach so why not have a happy hour/sundowners?? All in all a wonderful holiday and a great base to be able to walk to SLG, Rockley Beach and loads of bars and restaurants locally.
We didn't hire a car but went everywhere on the reggae buses which run outside the hotel. $2BD set fare - whether you are going to Oistins, Bridgetown or just into SLG - great fun but a bit crowded at times -the most passengers we counted was 17 in our bus!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richsass_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Excellent place to stay, lovely clean rooms, staff are very nice. The beach is right on the doorstep, the location is great. It is central for all the shops, clubs and other beaches, is ideal for any family or couples.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shadowlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We recently stayed for 5 nights at Blue Orchids. While we had an enjoyable holiday and the accommodation is pleasant enough - it could improve loads with some small improvements.
The location is great, lovely beach (waves sometimes pretty large so nearby Accra Beach is easier for swimming) The rooms are spacious and well enough equipped, could do with a freshen up particularly in kitchens and bathrooms, however the view overlooking the ocean from the room was fantastic! Free Wi-fi was useful. Front desk staff were touch and go, sometimes pleasant, sometimes not! Other staff members such as security (Joseph) and gardeners etc are very friendly lovely people.Restaurant - tried breakfast once and it was very good. Unfortunately no-one seemed to use the restaurant at any other time. Free loungers to use on the beach but the cushions are really grubby.

Neighbouring restaurant Champers is the best in the area and The Coffee Bean (opposite hotel) is good for breakfast, lunch, coffee. Mojo Bar (also opposite) good for drinks and music.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TEDBUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Blue Orchids is in a fantastic location and has great staff, the 2 reasons for our 'very good' rating - right on a beautiful, white sand beach where there are no other hotels, meaning it is practically private for the Blue Orchids & Coral Mist hotels, and a great spot to watch sunsets. We had a studio in Block D which backs onto the road - as in previous reviews, there is some traffic noise, and incessant barking in the evenings from a neighbouring dog was a bit annoying, so I think C is probably a better choice as it is between the main hotel building and the sea. Our room was OK, 2 beds pushed together and all a bit tired/shabby looking but roomy with good storage facilities; we had some problems with the air conditioning unit (which is very old and surely in need of updating) and TV, but staff are always willing to help sort things out. Cleaners work hard to clean rooms every day, but it just seemed there was so much old, ingrained dirt (especially in bathroom) that the place never really looked clean despite their efforts. It is great to have the kitchen, as there are 2 good supermarkets within walking distance to stock up; it was lovely to eat on the balcony every morning. We tried Champers (excellent), Mo Jo (hit and miss; 2 good visits, one poor), Tiki Bar (very good) and the Brazilian restaurant in St Lawrence Gap (bit pricey for the quality), Oistins Fish Fry on a Friday (excellent, don’t miss the ballroom, old-time dancing at the back of the market), hired a jeep to see the island (the north and east coasts are interesting, very different from the built-up south-west and west coasts); went on the Jamming catamaran (very good; excellent crew, great atmosphere and fun; you get to stop with the turtles, snorkel etc); easy to get a bus into Bridgetown. Barbados is generally a safe island, but don’t be too off your guard on the beach – one lady had her bag grabbed from the pool area while she was sitting there, and security did seem to be stepped up after that.
Blue Orchids reception staff were very helpful, but there seems a bit of a pecking order with Coral Mist Hotel. On a couple of occasions Blue Orchids had run out of beach towels, and Coral Mist refused to give us any as we ‘weren’t staying there’ – all a bit petty really, we were only asking for 2 beach towels … perhaps another example of where ‘customer service’ is lost sight of.
The one main let-down for the hotel is the restaurant – we had a real problem there on New Year’s Eve with the service / food, which we raised with Blue Orchids manager, who very kindly helped sort things out for us. One example – it is almost unbelievable that on a Caribbean island, when you ask for an orange juice or fruit punch, you are served cordial (yes, squash!!!!!!). There really needs to be some thought as to providing service / menu which matches expectations of guests, as this restaurant given its location could be a real winner – as it was, it was empty most of the time. We know ours was not an isolated complaint, as 2 other guests told us they had been ill after eating their burgers, and many others never even tried to eat there.
Thanks to Reggie (your boundless enthusiasm is infectious!) and Liverpool, one of the security guards, who was so kind as to track us down to let us know that some baby turtles had hatched on the beach; it is great how these guys really look out to protect these little creatures and try and ensure they at least make it to the sea.
Location is almost unbeatable for this hotel, but I don’t think they can be too complacent; I don’t know how good the rooms are in Coral Mist, but Blue Orchids could certainly do with a little bit of an upgrade to make it an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReviewerHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at the Blue Orchid again for two nights prior to a Windward Island Cruise on the Royal Clipper and two nights after. Checking in was like coming home for us. We were upgraded to a two bedroom apartment overlooking the pool and sea, which was very welcome.
Blue Orchid and Coral Mist have such a relaxed atmosphere and the Staff are so friendly and laid back.
We love the local Tiki Bar on Accra Beach to have a beer (or two) and watch the sunset in the evening. We got a take away from "Just Grillin" one night, five minutes walk down the the road and had a romantic meal on the balcony of our room. 8 oz new york strip steak, salad and coleslaw and mahi mahi, potatoes and coleslaw came to around US$34. Can't beat that in Barbados.
We have stayed in Blue Orchid and Coral Mist five times and will return again for sure.
Thank you to Margaret Carrington and Staff for the very warm welcome, friendly and excellent service. We will definately return.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view. Not saying which are better, they are best kept secret
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andyandtrudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Two of us booked a get-away to Barbados. We wanted little but beach, water, sun an relaxation. Blue Orchid was a great choice for us. We forgo getting the all-inclusive package and opted instead of eat-in by frequenting the local grocery store and nearby restaurants. We were upgraded to a two-bedroom suite on the 4th floor, as they had run out of single bed rooms, which spanned the width of the hotel; the entry way was on the street-facing side, but our balcony facing the beautiful beach, where we frequently had our breakfast.
The beach is great - the hotel provide umbrellas and chairs and towels. The water was roughly 30 degrees C (brilliant!) as was the air. There was a pool as well, but didn't use it as the ocean was perfect (waves and some currents were a bit stronger on some days, but manageable). We journeyed out to a couple other beaches and were quite pleased with the one at the hotel. There are a couple reefs down the beach where some local turtles were frequenting - quite amazing to see! We journeyed out to the west once, but the south seems a bit more relaxed.
Definitely recommend this hotel - the staff were very helpful, the room was basic, but had all the necessities and the kitchen was well-equipped.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank malkotigarche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
0.0 mi away
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Worthing
526 reviews
1.2 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
1.5 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
123 reviews
0.8 mi away
South Gap Hotel
South Gap Hotel
#7 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
770 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Orchids Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Orchids Beach Hotel

Address: Highway 7 | #18 Worthing, BB15130, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: $108 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Orchids Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Orchids Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Orchids Beach
Blue Orchids Beach Christ Church
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing