We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Trotmans” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Orchids Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“The Trotmans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We just got back from a 14 day stay at the Blue Orchid we had a great time every thing about our stay was great , i will book this hotel again next year. THE STAFF WAS GREAT especially the security guard Mr. Liverpool. he was great, also the office manager you took the time to check to see if every thing was ok. thanks to all for making our stay great.

Monica, Tyrone,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    140
    41
    4
    0
See reviews for
60
157
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

An attractive hotel with well equipped and maintained suites. Comfortable though not luxurious.
Had all we needed.
The staff are friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Sharon [ on front desk] and Joseph Liverpool [ Security]
In house free wi fi was good for a few days and then the signal became weak – to use effectively we had to go and sit in reception.
Safety Deposit boxes readily accessible at reception but it would be far better to have a room safe.
At the time of our visit [ low season ] it was quiet and there were plenty of loungers by the pool and on the beach.
Well situated for access to Accra , Hastings , Oistins , St Lawrence Gap and Bridgetown.
It should be noted if walking that pavements are poorly maintained and sometimes narrow or non existent – there is very little street lighting.
There are 2 restaurants nearby that are worthy of a visit – Tiki [ exit front gate and turn left ] and Mojo [ exit front gate and turn right] both about 200 metres.
There is a good size supermarket [ Supercentre BigbB ] about 5 minutes walk away – exit front gate and turn right, at the traffic lights turn left [ by the petrol station ] – the supermarket is about 150 meters along on the left. there is a smllaer on on the right on the corner – Trimart – but is much smaller and less well stocked.s
There is a branch of Cave Shepherd [ Duty Free / Souvenir/ Clothes ] with a Columbian Emeralds concession between Mojo and the Petrol station.Duty Fee Rum can be ordered and paid for here and collected at a Kiosk in the departure lounge at the airport on the way home

Room Tip: The sister and adjoining hotel [ Coral Mist ] has rooms overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We just got back from a 10 day trip to Barbados to celebrate Birthdays/Honeymoon/Fathers Day with 2 other couples. We loved the fact our studio had a kitchen with mostly everything you would need & since two of use were directly in line on the ground floor, it allowed for us to make breakfast everything morning and also if you ask they will bring to you grill. We certainly took advantage of the grass lawn out front our room and threw a few evening bbq's and enjoyed food, drinks and games in the wonderful evening breeze. The maids were really great and made sure the room was always clean and changed. The room while somewhat outdated was just perfect for the purpose - i mean how much time do you plan to actually stay in the room anyway? My only grip was it's time to updated a few of the appliances in the kitchen (toaster had to be held down, our friends alarm clock time display was messed up, the 3rd couple had issues with the ac in the penthouse on the 2nd day of arrival) but never fear if you ask they will do their best to fix things. The grounds are beautifully kept and the staff is super friendly...it's like staying with family. A cool fact with this beach and hotel, out of the 8 days of our trip we stayed here we were able to witness about 5 turtles come up to the beach to lay eggs...2 of those turtles we were able to witness the whole process. AMAZING!
Coral Mist/Blue Orchid is very close to so many things! if you go left out the hotel Champers is an amazing evening meal, also the left on Accra Beach you will find Tiki Bar which is family friendly and a great drinks and easy bites place. To the right you have Mojo's which has great food but also a great place for drinks and nightlife. (Staff is super friendly) You have the option to shortcut to the supermarket by turning at Mojo's and following the road around. Feel free to use the public transportation - it's actually pretty fun and make sure you make your way down to Cafe Sol at night for meal (in the gap) also Tapas to the left of the hotel just a 10 minute walk down the street or you can use the boardwalk past Accra Beach. The Mount Gay Rum Factory Tour is an easy active & pretty fun! We also were spent a Saturday afternoon at the Garrison (horse races) that was something new to see!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Got back 2 wks ago from my 2nd stay at Blue Orchid/Coral Mist. My 10 yr old son & I stayed at Coral Mist 3 yrs ago and loved it but & I mistakenly booked Blue Orchid this time round. Same location but slightly different experience. The studio, whilst excellently equipped (needs electric kettle though!), needs a door between the bathroom & rest of room. My son had to go into the kitchen whenever I needed to get changed!

The location is fantastic, most staff are very courteous & helpful although one particular receptionist was not what I would call people friendly ... I love that you have access to either complex's facilities as a guest. My son loved the pool at Coral Mist.

Beach is gorge and there's so much within walking distance - shops, bars, restaurants, supermarkets, easy access to public transport, I could go on.

Overall I would stay here again because all that you need is available on site & proved cost-effective without being cheap. Totally worth it. The complex is linked to Virgin Holidays but I booked it on my own. I recommend the complex in its totality & hope to visit the beautiful island that is Barbados sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Remember that in Barbados if you ask for the 1st floor it means the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katyaw41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London (Surrey)
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a basic but very clean and welcoming hotel. You walk out onto a beautiful beach with turquoise water and white sand. studio rooms are well equipped with kitchenette and all the utensils you need. Bathroom has a hairdryer for the lades - which was handy as my hairdryer didn't work with the plug adaptor for some reason. Neither did my boyfriends shaver so just be warned. Beds are really comfy and the maids are always eager to come in and change bedding and towels daily. Couldn't fault it.

It's a 15 minute walk into St Lawrence Gap, which has bars and restaurants. Really recommend Café Sol and Bellini's. We also went to Sugar Ultra Nightclub one night which was really fun - atmosphere was buzzing.

Just outside the hotel to your left you have an amazing restaurant called Champers, we ate there twice. Food was delicious on both occasions. ask for a 'rail side table' when you book. Another restaurant which I must mention is 'Tapas', walk out of the hotel turn left onto main road and walk up for about 10 minutes, it's right on the boardwalk after Accra Beach. We ate there twice too. It was outstanding. Also, directly opposite hotel was Mojo's. they do really good burgers and salads, great for a lunch time snack, and it was very atmospheric in the evenings too. Perfect for an evening drink or two.

Don't bother with Just Grillin', wasn't all that.

We hired a car one day and saw a few beaches, can really recommend Mullins Bay and Batts Rock Beach - both on the west coast...absolutely beautiful.

I should also mention Silver Moon catamaran trip was excellent - highly recommend it. You can book it through Reggie at the hotel (located at Coral Mist's reception)

All in all a fantastic holiday, made even better by the staff and accommodation at Blue Orchid.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Djenner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret c, General Manager at Blue Orchids Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Greetings from Blue Orchids Beach Hotel and many thanks for your kind words.

With regards to the shaver etc., kindly note that our voltage is 110 AC 50 cycles and I believe that
your Voltage is 220 AC. Therefore, your equipment will not work. You will need a Transformer.

However, when you return to Blue Orchids Beach Hotel, we will be able to assist you once you let us know.

Many thanks once again and sincerely hope that you will visit our shores in the not too distant future.

Our very best wishes
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We travelled with our friends to celebrate retirement and we had a really great stay, we picked it from a Virgin brochure and were not disappointed the studio rooms were well appointed and had everything you needed for a self catering holiday,the location is good as there are plenty of places to eat and drink and the gap is not too far to walk also there is a bus stop right outside the hotel,it is right on the beach and it is set in beautiful gardens well kept by the staff who by the way are all very friendly and helpful, we met several people there Brits and Canadians who go back there time after time. The staff will also arrange taxis,trips and basically anything you want without any fuss or bother, talking of which if you want around island tour go with JC Williams tours and ask for "Rooster" to take you it's not cheap but I guarantee its great fun and you'll find out how he gets his name.
Anyway we had a good time at Blue Orchids and would go back there and would recommend it as a great stay.

Room Tip: We were in C block c202 and a lovely view from our balcony and you are away from road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Orchid in March, it is a great location and a we really enjoyed our stay here, lovely staff, helpful and friendly and always with a smile. Located on a beautiful stretch of beach and within walking distance of numerous other gorgeous beaches. Would love to come back one day. Happy memories of smiley, sunny Barbados.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.0 mi away
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Worthing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
8.5 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Orchids Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Orchids Beach Hotel

Property: Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
Address: Highway 7 | #18 Worthing, BB15130, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Orchids Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com and Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your Blue Orchids Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Orchids Beach
Blue Orchids Beach Christ Church
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing