We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth..... Excellent Value - Warm & Friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth..... Excellent Value - Warm & Friendly!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just along the road to the Blue Orchid by the stunning Accra Beach is a guy selling t-shirts with an advertising board which says "Barbados is heaven on earth - treat it accordingly" and I would tend to agree with this. It was my first trip to the island and I'd kind of decided I wasn't going to like it as my dislike of many of the other caribbean islands has been the total disparity between extreme wealth and extreme poverty. However, within hours I was sold - Barbados is not like this. It was largely helped by the warm welcome we received when arriving at the Blue Orchid and its sister hotel Coral Mist and everywhere we went, no-one walked past without a greeting. I tried it out on getting back to the UK yesterday and people are looking at me like I'm completely mad! If only we could go back to those times of pleasantries and genuine smiles.

We had booked into another hotel a short walk away from the Blue Orchid and although the Tripadvisor reviews were good, we were quite frankly horrified and gladly paid the first night's accommodation charge just to get out! We literally left our stuff in the room, put on our flip-flops and walked along the beach checking out hotels and apartments as we went along Worthing Beach.

The beach itself is stunning and never gets busy. There are a number of sunbeds and parasols on the beach just down a couple of steps from the hotel which are complimentary; just request a mattress from the pool/beach guy if they are not already laid out. The sea is quite rough in this area with a bit of an undercurrent - ideal for strong swimmers and people who like big waves but I don't ,so stuck to the lovely pool area which again wasn't busy and the next beach along at Accra where the sea was a lot calmer. There are a number of tall trees which provide shade a you can position yourself in an area which has a breeze running through it off the sea - very comfortable!

This is a small hotel with a really warm and friendly feel. We had a standard studio which was spavious and beautifully positioned in the well-kept gardens - all rooms have a sea view. The outside terrace was lovely with a table and chairs + outside light for the evenings. The kitchenette was well-stocked with coffee maker, microwave, cooker and toaster + ample glasses, crockery and cooking implements so ideal if self-catering. There are several supermarkets all within walking distance which were reasonably priced together with Shell petrol station which also stocked basic provisions + wine and beer if you don't manage to get to the supermarket before 9pm.

We had two single beds pushed together to make up for a king-size and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was fairly basic by UK standards but extremely clean with a wall-mounted hair dryer. Storage space was good but you may need some extra hangers. There is a games room and small gym on site which comprises of a treadmill, stairclimber, recumbant cycle and weights looking out onto the sea.

Restaurants are plentiful and again all within walking distance. The well-known Champers restaurant is actually right next door with St Lawrence Gap with its famous Pisces restaurant also within walking distance. The Chefette is also just along the road where they do the most amazing Roti you've ever tasted. An All Chicken will cost you $10 (BBD), All Meat $9 (BBD) and a bottle of Banks Beer $4.25 (BBD) - very good value.

I would not hesitate to recommend this place. If Margaret is reading this or any of the other staff, thank you so much for a wonderful time and your warmth and hospitality.

Room Tip: All seemed to have sea views - you couldn't go far wrong. Ours was ground floor so had a shady...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret c, Manager at Blue Orchids Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
What a lovely and thoughtful Review!!!! Thank you so much from all the Staff of Blue Orchids Beach Hotel.

Than you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing sometime soon again.

All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    145
    41
    4
    0
See reviews for
64
163
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Been to Barbados many time , first really nice hotel and location would highly recommend ,,,, tried to book for 2015 but silly silly prices but wonderful place and nice people ,,met people who had been here afew times ,, I can understand why .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I just came back from a long weekend stay at the Blue Orchid. It's in a great location with it's own beach and boardwalk which I loved. The rooms have full kitchens and a huge IGA is up and across the street. It's just a brief walk to Accra beach where you can snorkel from shore, bus stops right outside the hotel,and restaurants within walking distance. The staff was great and very friendly...really made you feel at home. Really enjoyed having an outside patio to chill out on...

Room Tip: Though I usually don't like being on the first floor...I loved having a patio and quick easy acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spacious accommodation with a well-equipped kitchen area - ideal for self catering, or there are plenty of restaurants nearby. The pool is nicely situated in gardens full of whistling frogs, and the beach has attractive white sand. Be warned though, the sea is tricky - large waves, steep shelf into deep water, and a bit of an undertow. Not a problem for adults, but you wouldn't want to let children wander near the water.

We had breakfast and some evening meals in the Coral Mist hotel next door (they are all part of the same business really) - the food was OK but not sensational, and the service was chaotic. Still, the view was nice, and we weren't in a hurry......

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YorkshireGypsygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret c, Manager at Blue Orchids Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time out to write a Review about Blue Orchids becah Hotel.

We always try to make our Guests feel welcome and alos make them want to return.

Do you know that it is said that when there are whistling frogs around, the environment is very good???

Thank you once again and we sure look forward to return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place gets five stars mainly because of its value and ease. This is a basic hotel, but we had an ocean view room with a decent flat screen tv and cable for about $130 for two people a night, which is really, really excellent for Barbados which is basically an outrageously expensive island. The service was fine and responsive. This is not luxurious, but is definitely not a dump either. The beach is nice, although this side of the island has some rougher water than the Eastern Side, there is a restaurant, but we didnt go since there are lots of choices within a 5 minute walk, including a really lovely park and public beach. Although the buses can be intimidating, I would recommend them over a cab since they are about a 10th of the price to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a good value hotel. The hotel is good for the price we paid but if you want somewhere plush in barbados you will need to pay a lot more for it. The main thing is that the location of this hotel is brilliant. Walk for 5 to 10 mins either way out of the hotel for lots of restaurants, bars and beaches and the hotel is on the bus route for cheap and easy access to the east, south and west coast.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louisethomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights in December, returning the weekend before Christmas. As we booked only 5 weeks before we travelled, there wasn't much availability and having chosen another hotel, when we read its Trip Advisor reviews we made a last minute decision to book the Blue Orchids. We weren't sorry as it is in an excellent location and was perfect for us. The hotel is right on the coast and the beach is just a couple of minutes walk through the gardens, in front of its adjacent sister hotel, Coral Mist. When you exit the hotel on to the coast road, you are right in the middle of Worthing, with its supermarkets, post office, shops, bars and restaurants. We stayed in a 1st floor 1 bed ocean view apartment in E block which overlooked the pool and gardens with a side view to the ocean because of the trees. The apartment had an open plan living room/dining area/kitchen and a separate bedroom with air-conditioning and an ensuite full bathroom. The kitchen was well equipped with fridge/freezer, full electric cooker and microwave and everything you need to cook full meals if you want to. It also had a double width balcony with a coffee table and 2 comfy chairs. The rooms are cleaned daily and the grounds are well kept and staff are on the whole friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant overlooking the beach where we ate on several occasions. The food was ok but not cordon bleu, and the service was friendly and willing, although sometimes a bit slow. The restaurant also serves as the beach bar for residents. The only issue we had was that hot water wasn't always available at peak times and when we asked Reception we were told that it would be an hour before it would be hot again. This is a small niggle and we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and when we return to Barbados we will definitely stay at Blue Orchids again.

Room Tip: E block 1st floor rooms have double width balconies and are more private than the ground floor ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFrancophiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
0.0 mi away
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Worthing
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Horizon
Blue Horizon
#33 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
617 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
2.2 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Orchids Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Orchids Beach Hotel

Property: Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
Address: Highway 7 | #18 Worthing, BB15130, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Orchids Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, West Indies, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Orchids Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Orchids Beach
Blue Orchids Beach Christ Church
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing