We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection met”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Reviewed March 6, 2013

First off let me say that this place was perfect..............are there better places, yes there are but you will pay a lot more because they are 5 star resorts. This is a 4 star resort at 3 star prices. It met every requirement that you could ask of a 4 star resort. The place was spotless. I have stayed at a number of fine large(600 plus rooms) resorts such as the RIU and this was our first venture into a smaller resort.(224 rooms) We might never go back to the larger resorts. Our room, even though it was in the back of the resort facing the ocean it would of been an ocean front room in those larger resorts. It was quick to get down to the poll or beach. Like most of the reviews on TripAdvisor, the beach was praised for its white sands, clear water and fun waves. It was all that. No need to get to the beach before sunrise to make sure you had a chair and umbrella. Go anytime and the attendant will have the chairs for you and set up your umbrella. Sure you might want to go early if you want front row but the whole beach is great. No waiting for towels each day. Plenty for everyone. As for the pool, clean, quiet and swim up bar. Chairs around the pool are also plentiful . The rooms are standard size and the furniture and linens have been recently updated. The beds are very comfortable and leave the balcony doors open at night and listen to the waves as you sleep. The housekeepers do a great job. Ours was Tara. Any problems she made sure to keep you happy. My wife in passing told her that there should be a plug closer to the coffee maker in the room. I stopped stopped back at the room that afternoon and a maintenance man was installing a new outlet near the coffee maker. That was quicker then most resorts room service. All the front desk employees were friendly. Michelle was very helpful for us . Even though this is not an all-inclusive the chairs and towels are free along with some fun events helt at the hotel. Monday nights is the Managers Cocktails get together. Wednesday is Karaoke. Both of these are held near the swim up bar and its a fun evening. The bar stays open till 11:00 pm every night. The Accra has 2 fine restaurants and there are nice ones in walking distance or farther up or down the west coast. we love Tapas, just down the boardwalk from the Accra. A drive south will take you to wonderful restaurant called Cafe Luna. We were lucky to find a fun cab driver for all our cab needs. He had a van so he could take six of us. His name is Fernando,( 269.6710) Most of the other reviews will tell you about the shopping plaza behind the hotel for lunch, wine, supplies etc. When I go back to Barbados, we will stay at the Accra again.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice. cheaper if you get island view but pool/ocean view are good. If you get isla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,039 - 1,045 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel is located on one of the nicest beaches in Barbados. You walk out the back door and within a few steps are on the beach. The rooms were clean and the staff friendly - very willing to bend over backwards to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
It is located across the street from a food court with several good restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We just returned from a fabulous stay at Accra. We have stayed in numerous resorts in the Caribbean and for the money this can't be beat. The location is superb. The pool is sparkling and beautiful. The beach is perfect, soft, sandy with fun waves. Get up early (7:00) to reserve a chair on the beach. Roland there is great and will help you out as well as Jalisa. The rooms are beautiful, clean and with AMPLE hot water. We received complimentary Rum punch that will get your party started quick! We also received complimentary Champagne for our anniversary. Prices are somewhat high for food but not bad. Tappas down the boardwalk was very good. DO NOT wear gold chains on the boardwalk. My wife saw a woman get one ripped from her neck in broad daylight. But overall, the boardwalk in the day is fine and lovely. The service is spotty at the resort but it is slow everywhere we went - just be prepared for it - you have to ask for your check. St. Lawrence Gap and Oistin's on Friday night is a must. The sword fish at the grill by the stage was awesome as well as the flying fish. Take a taxi to Bottom Bay and Crane beach ($30 US one way) it is amazing. You can't get anything to eat at Bottom Bay but Crane Hotel has a secluded nice outside bar on the beach by their elevator. Service is bad there - food is good! Take a taxi to see the Botanical Gardens and Bathsheba on the East Coast - they are unbelievable ($70 US one way). We had a great taxi cab driver named MARK POPE. He stayed with us and narrated the entire trip. If you got to Carlisle Bay not far from the hotel you can swim with sea turtles for free. Just watch for catamaran tours that feed them and swim out and see several. They won't mind - don't pay for a tour. You can also eat lunch at Harbor Lights there and it's very good. For $80 US you can do a Discovery Scuba tour of several ship wrecks in Carlisle Bay which is very easy and AMAZING! This is right near the Hilton. You can also snorkel for $25 US there. You can take the ZR vans for $1 US anywhere and they go by the hotel non-stop. They are packed with locals but quite an experience you should have! We loved Accra beach. The Coco Patch and Deck restaurant are right by the ocean with beautiful yellow breasted birds flying around. The VAT tax is included in the prices so it's not as much as you expect - the food is very good. When they tell you the Continental Breakfast in the lobby is $25 don't be too alarmed, that $12 US, VAT included. There are restaurants and a convenience store across the street. Prices are OK but high in the store. We would not hesitate to go back to Accra Beach. I don't think you can beat it for the value! The negative reviews on the service are too extreme - slow and laid back is just how it is Barbados!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed for 10 days early Feb. 2013. Can't beat the location. We had an "Island View" room and with the double glass patio doors, there was no noise at all from the road. The room was kept spotless and was well appointed and very spacious. Breakfast is hit and miss. If you like your coffee quick...head across the street. Some days we waited just to get half a cup and some days they put a whole pot on the table. Buffet was nice but better value can be found at other places. We ate at the Wytukai Valentine's Day and we were pleasantly surprised. Great service and nice food. On another night we headed to the Coco Patch - which becomes fine dining in the evening. Mr. Acton was sent back to change into long pants. Really?!!? We could see Champer's from our table. The service was above excellent but the food...nice but not worth the change in clothing. That being said...the location is spot on. At the foot of the board-walk, on a lovely beach with a great mix of locals and tourist. A few vendors...and do give them a chance. We bought some great souvenirs to take back and had some great conversations with them. The pool looked well kept. A word of advice...stake your beach chair early with a towel. Lots of great dining options just steps away to suit all budgets. All in all - a great stay and a great holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is the first time I've returned to a resort and I have no regrets. See my first review as it is more thorough. I'll add some things to check out on this one.

The Thursday night buffet dinner, fabulous, a must-do. Excellent soup, fish, chicken, ribs, etc. Not one thing in the buffet that wasn't delightful, well worth the money as there's a show as well. Try the creamy penne, it's one of the best things I've had on the island. Another buffet they have is a lunch one and it was excellent as well with mac pie, curry lamb, pork, etc. They also had some really good fresh fruit.

Service was top notch as always, pool seemed warmer this time, could be because it was February but not sure. Got a really nice Island View room and the bathroom was much better than the last one we had, the room now had a flat screen TV which was a good update. Wifi in the rooms now as well.

The only thing I had a problem with was the wifi, in the rooms it wasn't very stable. If they upgraded it with range extenders it would be amazing. Sometimes at night trying to use it in room was frustrating but at least it was there!

All in all, we had a great time and every point from my previous review stands, you can click it below this one. We had a fabulous time and will definitely be back. The value really can't be beat and neither can the location.

Thank you Accra for another awesome holiday, we'll be back!

Room Tip: If you have the money go for pool view or above, if you're on a budget island views are great bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Well just got back from another beautiful trip to barbados and i must say it keeps getting better and better. This hotel just never seems to quit working for their guests.. Right from the arrival to the departure, they have the best team ever!!!!! Thankyou to the cleaning staff, Cheryl, you guys outdid yourselves. Poolside bar staff Paul, Nicolaus and of course Ingrid,miss you guys already:( Staff at the cocopatch you guys rock!!!! There is not anything bad to say about this great hotel and their amazing team!!!! Already planning our next trip.Thankyou to everybody at the accra, you guys definately know what customer service is all about. See ya soon!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bummerscat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have returned to the Accra every February for three years with a group of polo fans from The Villages, FL. We love the convenient location with restaurants and shopping, the friendly staff and the lovely pool area. The great beach that has access to a seaside boardwalk is a huge bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sally700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
1.5 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,870 reviews
1.5 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
0.9 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
381 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accra Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accra Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Rockley, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#9 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#10 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: $143 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Accra Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located overlooking the beautiful Rockley Beach, this 3 1/2 acre property exemplifies the "Caribbean Dream". All rooms offer panoramic views of the island, pool or ocean. The center-piece of the lush gardens is a large swimming pool complete with swim-up bar for a cooling refreshment or indulge in a boozy cocktail in the comfort of the 'Sand Bar'. Enjoy a hearty breakfast or lunch from our Cocopatch Restaurant or a light bite from our bar snack menu served daily.Dine in style at the Accra Deck restaurant and choose from an array of local and international European cuisine or indulge in the flavours of the Pacific Rim at the Pacifika Kitchen . Relax, rejuvenate and heal at our on-sight Chakra Spa.Choose from a wide selection of treatments and immerse yourself in the tranquil atmosphere of our spa experience. Be sure to stay at our award winning hotel during your next visit to Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Accra Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accra Beach Hotel And Spa
Accra Beach Hotel Christ Church
Accra Beach Hotel Barbados
Accra Barbados
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing