We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location with lovely pool and great beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have returned to the Accra every February for three years with a group of polo fans from The Villages, FL. We love the convenient location with restaurants and shopping, the friendly staff and the lovely pool area. The great beach that has access to a seaside boardwalk is a huge bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sally700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We could not have been in a better location and on the beach! the staff at this hotel are extremely helpful and friendly. Have you been in a hotel where you get a daily telephone call asking if everything is okay? well, they did! the property is well maintained, very clean, no litter anywhere.
This was my second trip to Barbados but not the same hotel and just because of this memorable trip I am thinking of returning soon. So much happening in Barbados!

Room Tip: The pool view is stunning and I prefer the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamita646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Accra primarily because the hotel had an excellent location. It is a beachfront property. Check-in and check-out went smoothly. We travelled in February 2013; the waves were strong, but the beach is pretty and there is plenty of room to walk. There are enough beach chairs for everyone. Room had air-conditioning and a mini-fridge, coffee pot, tea pot.

Our room faced the road (i.e. it was not an oceanview), but we enjoyed having a shady balcony through the day, and the view of the city was beautiful anyway.

The location of the Accra is excellent. Buses pass the resort every few minutes (or, at times, seconds), so it is very easy to travel anywhere. The bus fare is only $2 Bajan dollars (which at this time, is equivalent to $1 US). The locals are nice, and they were more than happy to direct us, or even walk with us to help us find our way.

The food at the hotel is not very good. We tried breakfast and dinner, and then had enough! The waiters were nice. During dinnertime, the hotel NEEDS to have more staff. There should be someone to take the order, someone to bring your drinks, someone to clear the tables, etc. Right now, there is one person doing everything. And logically, one person canNOT do everything. If the food had actually been hot when it arrived at our table, maybe it wouldn't have been so bad. But, again, it's not the waiters' fault. This is a fault of management. The portion sizes were so small that we could not even identify what we were eating. We cannot decide which was worse --- breakfast or dinner.

***My recommendation: Avoid eating at the Accra -- it's not very good, and especially for the price. There are tons of alternatives close by. (Please see FOOD SECTION below).

Housekeeping was excellent. The rooms were clean. The bed and pillows are not very comfortable, but they were adequate.

Unfortunately, the Accra does not give you even a complimentary bottle of water in your room. I recommend heading to the Trimart Supermarket and/or to the supermarket that is on the same road (Rendezvous Road) just past the CIBC to buy water, juice and/or snacks. To get there, just take the #11 bus and let the driver know you want to go to the supermarket.

We purchased a tour package from the Accra. It included 3 seperate tours --- (1) Harrison's Cave --- we went in a trolley, which took us under the ground and through the caves, at points we were able to stop and walk around, also has a gift shop; (2) Andromeda Botanical Garden --- self-guided tour of a garden, also has a gift shop; (3) Wildlife Reserve -- monkeys, turtles, peacocks and other animals, lots of fun. We also took pictures of Bathsheba as part of the tour package. We would recommend this tour package. It included a delicious lunch, too. Great tour for couples or families to enjoy.

Accra gets a slightly reluctant 4 stars from us. They have the amentities that are necessary and they have a great beach and a great location and great staff.(Our friends stayed at the Marriott --- and we all agreed that Accra's location is better). But, the food should be MUCH better -- for breakfast and dinner. Why? Because there are GREAT alternatives close by that do a MUCH better job with food than Accra does and for a fraction of the price.

FOOD SECTION

The food in Barbados is expensive, and at times, the portions are teeny tiny! You may want to know some alternative places to eat --- more food and a better price: (1) Just Grillin' across the street is okay; (2) At Sheraton Mall, there is a retaurant called Il Forno --- the portions are massive and the food is absolutely delicious, for a decent price, this was our favourite place to go for eat-in or take-out dinners; (3) on Rendezvous Road, just pass the gas station and the CIBC and the TriMart Supermarket, there is another supermarket that offers delicious hot food for a REALLY good price, good portion sizes as well, this was our favourite place to go for lunch; (4) Mojos --- again, within walking distance from Accra, and a great place for tasty salads or hamburgers, a drink, great ambiance; (6) Terasu Kafe -- short walk from Accra, almost across the street, there is an outdoor patio, we had breakfast here and it was very good, nice staff, a la carte; (7) Bubba's -- short walk from hotel, all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet.

If you don't mind spending a bit more: (1) Tapas, which is a short walk from Accra along the boardwalk by the ocean -- the food was expensive, but delicious and service was fantastic, very pretty. We would absolutely recommend Tapas. We went there more than once.

Try the flying fish or dolphin fish (it's not actually a dolphin; it's a type of fish) when in Barbados. If you like seafood, they're both tasty!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road have shade throughout the day and a nice view over-looking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank applechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We certainly chose the right hotel and beach area for our two-week vacation (Feb. 3-17) in beautiful Barbados. We had a 'pool view' room on the second floor and found everything to be first class. The staff seemed to be very happy in their work and were ever so friendly and helpful, with helpful suggestions. Our room was kept spotlessly clean and the ladies who kept our room clean were very charming and accommodating. We loved the gorgeous, sandy beach and the lovely-designed pool is a fantastic size, with the swim-up bar an added attraction. We prefer to swim in the sea so spent more time on the beach. We like to try different restaurants as there are so many good ones in Barbados and the Accra Hotel is in a very convenient location for dining, shopping and transportation. All in all, the Accra Hotel is ideal, with staff always willing to help. They have a wonderful sense of humour and laugh very easily, which is nice to see. We certainly will return. Monica & Poul Graae, Toronto, Canada.

Room Tip: We found Room 204, a pool-view room, was ideal for us. The sun wasn't on the balcony too long s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We visited the Accra on 2/8/13 - 2/15/13 for a combined birthday/Valentines day trip. The hotel was very nice and our view was wonderful. The staff was very sweet - especially Timothy, Elton & Ingrid at the Lagoon Bar. They always greeted us with a smile, were very attentive and had great advise for island excursions. We had perfect weather - with just a little rain and clouds passing through here and there - but the sunshine always returned fast! Also, the most beautiful sunsets you've ever seen!

A few recommendations:

*Bring thermal cups for your drinks - so the ice doesn't melt before you get to the beach.
*Go across the street to Wine World to stock up on drinks and water bottles (much cheaper!).
* Visit Tapas down the boardwalk - they have a superb location on the beach, the food is awesome and the staff is over-the-top with customer service.

Just remember where you are - as things move a bit slow in Barbados - room service can take a very long time, but you learn to expect it. Only disappointment was a few days without hot water. Also, the brunch is not very good and very over-priced.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a beach view - the rooms facing the street are probably not what you are looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolowaltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very good hotel , we had a room overlooking the ocean which was fantastic, the room itself was very nice,clean with a new air on unit and 32 inch LCD television , the large pool was great and the ocean next door, the beach was excellent with plenty of sun beds..one down side is the food restaurants where the service is terrible and food is served cold.,apart from that a great holiday at a great hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alanjeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just arrived from a wonderful 3-week vacation in Barbados. For the fourth time, we went to the Accra Beach Hotel. It is a little gem. The warm welcome gave color to the rest of our stay. We found the rooms revamped which was a nice surprise. They are nice and clean and the service is always up to expectations with housekeepers trying to please you.

It is nice to go back to a place where people recognize you and where you feel at home. It is the case with this hotel of human size where you are treated with a smile all day long.

The Accra is beautifully situated on a beautiful beach, one of the best in Barbados. In the morning, a crew of well-organized young fellows installs your parasol and chairs which you keep all day even if you leave the beach for a snack or a meal.

Aside from being surrounded by excellent restaurants, the Accra welcomed last winter a new chef: Wilwore Jordan. He is reorganizing the food services and I must say we had a few great suppers in the newly decorated beachfront restaurant, The Deck, which made our delight. This is a great addition for the hotel where the evening meals were one of the few weak points in the previous years.

So if you want to be at home away from home, this hotel should please you very much.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gourmet069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
1.5 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,870 reviews
1.5 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
0.9 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
381 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accra Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accra Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Rockley, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#9 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#10 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: $143 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Accra Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located overlooking the beautiful Rockley Beach, this 3 1/2 acre property exemplifies the "Caribbean Dream". All rooms offer panoramic views of the island, pool or ocean. The center-piece of the lush gardens is a large swimming pool complete with swim-up bar for a cooling refreshment or indulge in a boozy cocktail in the comfort of the 'Sand Bar'. Enjoy a hearty breakfast or lunch from our Cocopatch Restaurant or a light bite from our bar snack menu served daily.Dine in style at the Accra Deck restaurant and choose from an array of local and international European cuisine or indulge in the flavours of the Pacific Rim at the Pacifika Kitchen . Relax, rejuvenate and heal at our on-sight Chakra Spa.Choose from a wide selection of treatments and immerse yourself in the tranquil atmosphere of our spa experience. Be sure to stay at our award winning hotel during your next visit to Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Accra Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accra Beach Hotel And Spa
Accra Beach Hotel Christ Church
Accra Beach Hotel Barbados
Accra Barbados
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing