We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in Barbados: the Accra Beach Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little gem in Barbados: the Accra Beach Hotel”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just arrived from a wonderful 3-week vacation in Barbados. For the fourth time, we went to the Accra Beach Hotel. It is a little gem. The warm welcome gave color to the rest of our stay. We found the rooms revamped which was a nice surprise. They are nice and clean and the service is always up to expectations with housekeepers trying to please you.

It is nice to go back to a place where people recognize you and where you feel at home. It is the case with this hotel of human size where you are treated with a smile all day long.

The Accra is beautifully situated on a beautiful beach, one of the best in Barbados. In the morning, a crew of well-organized young fellows installs your parasol and chairs which you keep all day even if you leave the beach for a snack or a meal.

Aside from being surrounded by excellent restaurants, the Accra welcomed last winter a new chef: Wilwore Jordan. He is reorganizing the food services and I must say we had a few great suppers in the newly decorated beachfront restaurant, The Deck, which made our delight. This is a great addition for the hotel where the evening meals were one of the few weak points in the previous years.

So if you want to be at home away from home, this hotel should please you very much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gourmet069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    591
    207
    112
    54
See reviews for
323
572
64
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed for a week after our cruise to enable us to relax. A very enjoyable stay. Should have been at Almond Beach Village but it closed in March – so we went back to Accra.
Good hotel on a nice beach with a large, free-form swimming pool and in a good location on Barbados' south coast. Swimming pleasant both in sea and pool.
Hotel is near many good restaurants and services, and not far from Bridgetown. Also small mall across from hotel with Just Grilling and a good Chinese, amongst others. Look in Best of Barbados shop if you want good souvenirs. The south coast boardwalk starts off the hotel's beach.
Rooms are modern and comfortable with large shower. Ours was kept spotlessly clean and linen changed regularly, even if we did not request it. Air conditioning was fine, with the ceiling fan as an alternative. Staff were helpful and friendly with one or two exceptions. A smile from you goes a long way except for a particularly surly lady for a couple of mornings at the Coco Patch, she could not manage a smile to save her life! She was there last year as well and not a lot has changed – she should take lessons from other staff who were always pleasant and efficient
They have a new set-up this year with fine dining on “The Deck”. Still early days but everything was well presented and tasty. I particularly enjoyed the duck ravioli and my partner could not get enough of the banana crepes. Although with the same menu each evening it could get monotonous. Service was a bit slow the first evening, perhaps because some guests were making a lot of demands, but it did improve. They have only been up and running for about two weeks so it will probably improve and the ambience was certainly better than evening meals in the Coco Patch which was last year’s option.
We had taken half board because we wanted a relaxing holiday without the hassle of deciding where to eat each night. Good selection both hot and cold at breakfast, including some local dishes. There was The Deck, the Polynesian (Wytukai) and one evening a buffet with a floor show. The administration staff advertised on posters and in the lift that The Deck was open one evening but when we tried to make a reservation we were told it was closed which meant we had two consecutive evenings in the Wytukai.
The Manager’s reception was enjoyable beware the Rum Punch it is definitely “falling down water”. Although, unlike most hotels we have used, that was the only time we saw the Manager!
We didn’t think the drinks were overpriced but a lot of guests took advantage of the two hour “happy hour”.
Did a lot of trips last year so only chose the Tiami catamaran this year to swim with the turtles. Fantastic day out – would recommend it. Not crowded on the boat and the staff were friendly and helpful and, should you wish, endless supplies of all types of drinks. Good buffet. Great to swim with the turtles and see the great variety of fish.

Room Tip: Pool/Ocean view. Avoid rooms overlooking derelict building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazelnut1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a ocean view room (so worth the extra few quid) - had our own jacuzzi and large shower + room. Room was clean and serviced very nicely everyday and the pool was lovely - we took advantage of the swim up bar. One issue we had was the extractor fan from the restaurant which seemed to be intermittently on and off which woke us up on occasions, also thought the bar prices were a bit of a joke ($8 for a banks? $5 in most places) would advise taking advantage of the happy hour. Staff seemed happy and friendly by and large

One tip would be to order room only - this saved us £250 over 7 days. You can just roll up at the restaurant and have a continental (self serve with unlimited drinks) for $25 (£8) each per day. We tried the hot food once and it most certainly isn't worth the extra $25 you would have to pay.

Another tip would be to try their new "Deck" restaurant - the service was truly superb, food was extremely good (steak was not as good we had elsewhere but still very nice) - the banana rum crepe was unbelievably good

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukey25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

very good hotel clean large room friendly staff great breakfast menue central to shopping area and bridgetown also very frienly and helpful staff great beach area pool was fabulous the dinner menue needs some review but thats minoor since you have a wide option of other resturants within walkin distance to the hotel also we enjoyed our stay very much their is also children club available which was a plus for my family and i

Room Tip: room on tye south side are big n quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyTrinidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

What a disappointment. The hotel was recommended by our cruise line for our 5 nights pre and post cruise stay. Arriving at midnight with what we thought was a guaranteed reservation (prepaid six months in advance). The hotel was overbooked and had no rooms! After an hour and half one sided conversation (the hotel staff really didn't care) we were put in a taxi at 2 am to another hotel. We were assured that everything would be resolved by the next day. I spent another hour on the phone the next morning before we were returned to the Accra for one more night. Our room was a DUMP (this for $400 a nite!) Small, dark, dirty. Ice machine broken. After complaining to our cruise line, our room was upgraded for our three nite post cruise stay. Much nicer room but lamp shades broken on both sides of the bed, no hot water for showers at the end of the day, elevator out of service to the 4th floor . . . . .Staff is very unfriendly. Beautiful beach, pools and grounds.

Room Tip: Stay at Bougainvillia or Little Arches hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda_J533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very good hotel on a nice beach with a large, free-form swimming pool and in a good location on Barbados' south coast. It's near many restaurants and services, and not far from Bridgetown. The south coast boardwalk starts off the hotel's beach. Rooms are modern and comfortable. Staff are generally helpful and friendly. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with an ocean view are nice (not oceanfront, but with a good view). All have a patio overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We're still here but I have to write about the setup. The rooms are very nice, the beach is amazing, most of the service is great. The service that has not been great has been the result of other guests acting like morons with ridiculous requests. Instead of putting on a smile and dealing with this, they shut down (which I can appreciate) and this seems to be the prevailing tendency all around the island. It's not dissimilar to what you see in NYC in that sense.

If you want a place that is really nice and still spend your money away from the resort, there is no better place than Accra.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPannell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.9 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,612 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,030 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accra Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accra Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Rockley | PO Box 73W, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#9 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#10 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Accra Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located overlooking the beautiful Rockley Beach, this 3 1/2 acre property exemplifies the "Caribbean Dream". All rooms offer panoramic views of the island, pool or ocean. The center-piece of the lush gardens is a large swimming pool complete with swim-up bar for a cooling refreshment or indulge in a boozy cocktail in the comfort of the 'Sand Bar'. Enjoy a hearty breakfast or lunch from our Cocopatch Restaurant or a light bite from our bar snack menu served daily.Dine in style at the Accra Deck restaurant and choose from an array of local and international European cuisine or indulge in the flavours of the Pacific Rim at the Pacifika Kitchen . Relax, rejuvenate and heal at our on-sight Chakra Spa.Choose from a wide selection of treatments and immerse yourself in the tranquil atmosphere of our spa experience. Be sure to stay at our award winning hotel during your next visit to Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Accra Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accra Beach Hotel And Spa
Accra Beach Hotel Christ Church
Accra Beach Hotel Barbados
Accra Barbados
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing