We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Lovely beach”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is more a 3 star (in my opinion) with slightly dated interior. The pool however is very nice, and so is the access to the beach, which is fantastic. The sand is white and water turquoise as you would hope Caribbean to be.

Breakfast at the hotel is good, there is a choice of foods and if you can find the chef, you can get a freshly cooked omelette or eggs whichever way you like them. The rest of the food is ok and coffee is average, which seems to be the norm in the Caribbean.

We had a room that looked onto the road and it was somewhat noisy from the traffic so a room overlooking the pool might be better.

The hotels is slightly on the expensive side for what it offers but if you plan to spend all day at the beach, it's perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    597
    212
    113
    57
See reviews for
327
580
66
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bushey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have been to Barbados on several occasions, but this was the first time we had stayed in an hotel and not with our family who live up on Gun Hill!

Have to say the reports we had received about the Accra Beach, lived up to all our expectations, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, helpful, friendly staff, excellent accommodation, great restaurants, nothing too much trouble, we left, having made new Bajan friends and will probably return again next year!

Room Tip: We chose an "island view" room, having been to the island several times before. Try and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GWBReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The service is excellent-very friendly & efficient staff.The hotel is modern with very nice rooms.We has an Island view room which is some what noisy & moved to a Pool view-perfect!
My husband & I have visited Barbados 4 times.This time with West Jet Vacations which was very well organized.Transportation is easy.We travelled on Blue Bus U.S.1$.Reggae bus is great as is yellow bus -all the same price & takes you almost anywhere.The grounds and gardens are beautiful & well maintained.The entire hotel is spotless.Monday Nights have a manager's cocktail party so you get to meet the staff. Wednesday is Karioke-really good talent!
We really enjoyed our stay & will definitely return!

Room Tip: Ocean View Rooms were worth the extra cost to us,but other people we met were happy with Island vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raf7908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is strategically located abt 20 minutes with taxi from the airport and 20 mins from Bridgetown. In the hotel there is a very nice pool and there is also a private beach with umbrellas and sunbeds. The hotel has 2 bars and 2 restaurants and the bars offers lite snacks at meal times. Very good room service menu and fast service to obtain it. Rooms are ok, nice and clean. Only remark, the rooms are equipped with minibar but there is nothing inside.... Morning reset of the rooms happens quite late during the day and at different times day after day. However the overall impression is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CCapra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for one night and a half a day only as a result of a flight cancellation – this was efficiently organised by Virgin Atlantic staff, and this is a Virgin Hotel and you can tell !!

We thoroughly enjoyed the experience of the Accra Beach with its well appointed bedrooms, very modern, clean, fantastic and beautiful grounds with a fab beach. A very attractive looking hotel and grounds. Even though it was a huge hotel (approx 200 rooms), you didn’t feel like you were crowded with people everywhere as it was very large and spacious. There were lots of nice peaceful shady places to relax and sleep and relax, and plenty of padded luxury sun loungers.

The buffet breakfast was excellent as, although it offered the usual cooked breakfasts, it also offered a very good range of healthy options. The lunch was very tasty too and well cooked and presented.

The hotel is situation in St Lawrence Gap and is set away from the main road so it was pretty quiet for its location, you couldn’t even hear the traffic from the main road nearby,

The staff in this hotel were very friendly, very welcoming, happy to help considering we descended on them at the last minute at 11.00 pm – very efficient indeed and we cannot fault this hotel at all

This is our 12th visit to the stunning island of Barbados and we have stayed in lots of different hotels - so we would definitely choose to stay in this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank madmichyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Accra Beach Hotel & Spa October 10 thru 17, 2012. Booked our vacation via Jet Blue for an ocean view room and had a great view of the ocean, pool and manicured gardens.
After checking in and being shown to our room by the bellman, we were informed that local calls were $1B’dos per call. I made two successful calls on Wednesday afternoon. On Thursday I attempted to call the same numbers, but got fast busy signals. We assumed there were problems with the telephone lines, since that is a common occurrence in Barbados. However, on Friday we discovered that the line had been restricted. We spoke to the manager on duty, Frank Small, and made it clear that upon check-in we were not informed about the $1B’dos charge, and after being told by the bellman we assumed an itemized bill of telephone charges would be presented at check-out. Mr. Small verified with the front desk that guests are not informed about the phone charges unless they make an inquiry (they were honest). The matter was satisfactorily resolved by us leaving a cash deposit, and knowing that in future, all guests would be advised of the call charges which would be included under incidentals.
Friday a tropical wave passed through Barbados and we were all confined to the resort for the entire day. I decided to make a local call, and discovered that despite leaving a cash deposit the line had again been restricted, and for a second time we were not given prior notice. I called down to the front desk and requested the on duty manager, Trisha Joseph. She informed me that she would investigate and call back. The line was reopened and Ms. Joseph gave an ambivalent excuse about a room number mix up. Despite not being completely satisfied with her explanation we put the incident behind us. In the evening after the rain stopped and the winds diminished a little we decided to sit on our balcony and enjoy a glass of wine. Dear reader I am sure you are sensing a “now what?” Plaster from the Balcony ceiling fell on my head and chair. At this point in time I was not in the right frame of mind to speak to another manager so I waited until Saturday morning. My husband took pictures, and this time the on duty manager, Maria Braithwaite. She was both concerned and apologetic. She immediately had us upgraded to a suite, and followed up with a bottle of sparkling wine. Thankfully the remainder of our stay was uneventful and enjoyable.
No one wants to encounter problems on vacation, but it is the manner in which these problems are resolved that can bring guests back or have them looking for another resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EvaNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We travelled with my wife to Accra Beach for a week with Virgin Holidays. The service from Virgin was good apart from the fact our names was not on the list for the return transfers on our way back home. We stayed at this hotel on room only basis as we wanted to eat out and all inclusive was very expensive.

Good Points - the beach was amazing with white sand and crystal clear caribbean sea. There is a nice plaza just opposite the hotel where you can get food. Also St Lawrence Gap is only 20 minutes with taxi. Hotel is an average 4 star and on the beach with free sun beds. The rooms were ok and clean.

Bad Points - Barbados is a lovely island but it is quite expensive even to eat at standard cafes. The hotel is a bit dull/boring as the entertainment is non-existent.

I would definately recommend Barbados and if you are working to a budget than Accra Beach Hotel will be a good choice. However there are many other better hotels where you can enjoy your stay even more, but with a more price tag.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.9 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,644 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
316 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accra Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accra Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Rockley, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#9 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#10 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Accra Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located overlooking the beautiful Rockley Beach, this 3 1/2 acre property exemplifies the "Caribbean Dream". All rooms offer panoramic views of the island, pool or ocean. The center-piece of the lush gardens is a large swimming pool complete with swim-up bar for a cooling refreshment or indulge in a boozy cocktail in the comfort of the 'Sand Bar'. Enjoy a hearty breakfast or lunch from our Cocopatch Restaurant or a light bite from our bar snack menu served daily.Dine in style at the Accra Deck restaurant and choose from an array of local and international European cuisine or indulge in the flavours of the Pacific Rim at the Pacifika Kitchen . Relax, rejuvenate and heal at our on-sight Chakra Spa.Choose from a wide selection of treatments and immerse yourself in the tranquil atmosphere of our spa experience. Be sure to stay at our award winning hotel during your next visit to Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Accra Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accra Beach Hotel And Spa
Accra Beach Hotel Christ Church
Accra Beach Hotel Barbados
Accra Barbados
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing