We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable time in Barbados”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Eventually persuaded to cruise booked the Thomson Dream for a week – Caribbean Treasures - then a week in Barbados where we stayed at the Accra Beach Hotel. Previously stayed at Almond Beach Village but decided to try another part of the island.

The hotel is quite pretty and in a good area. It has sunbeds on the beach in front of the hotel and round the pool, which is set in pretty gardens. The pool was quite cold, the sea much warmer. We never had any difficulty obtaining a sunbed with brolly, even when we had been out on a trip.

We booked the half board option but disappointed with the limited choice of menu – they seemed to fluctuate between two almost identical menus with only 4 choices on each course. Only one choice of soup each evening. The brochure said there were two places Polynesian and main restaurant for evening meals but each was only open on specific nights, so sometimes only one option and on Friday night when they held a barbeque the Polynesian was the only other option. Lunch snacks available but, again, very monotonous menu. Lots of places nearby for lunch if you wanted a change. Directly opposite was Just Grilling where they served a decent jerk chicken barmcake amongst many other items. Local buses down to St. Lawrence Gap and Oistins for other options.

There was an invitation to the Manager’s cocktail party, where canapés and drinks were served, very enjoyable but beware the rum punch.

We would not have starved but did not feel that the meal choice lived up to the Thomson 4 star rating and and felt the brochure description was misleading in this respect.

All the staff we met very pleasant and helpful and we enjoyed a good laugh with them all.

The room was more than adequate in size and had sufficient hanging/cupboard space and was always extremely clean. It had a large walk-in shower. King size bed as is usual in the Caribbean. Towels and bed linen were changed upon request but our towels were changed even when we did not ask. There is a fridge, flat screen TV and a complimentary safe. The air-conditioning was superb, with the addition of a room fan if you preferred. The corridors are not air-conditioned but you do not spend too much time there. Most public areas are cooled by the breeze. Yes there is a derelict hotel on one side of the Accra but we asked not to be put on that side and the hotel kindly obliged.

The hotel is very busy most times because they hold a lot of conferences there, but this does not seem to have an adverse effect on holidaymakers – sometimes busy at breakfast. Several airline companies have staff staying over here.

Not much entertainment but from brochure description we were not expecting too much so were not disappointed. They did do karaoke a couple of evenings and many of the guests seemed to enjoy this and there were entertainers at the barbeque. Pianist in lobby at times.

We went to Harrison’s Cave asking the Thomson rep to book a taxi to coincide with the times of the tour there, which you have to pre-book. Worth a visit. You can probably do most things by using the reasonably priced local buses but at our age we cannot be bothered hopping on and off buses so use the tours on offer (which the hotel can also provide). A young couple in our hotel did use the buses and I understand they did an island tour for about 20 dollars.

We booked the island tour through Thomson who use Ted’s Tours. Bit of a glitch - he didn’t collect us and we had to ring to find out what was happening – it would appear he had missed us but came back, so some of the guests on the trip covered the same area twice but they all seemed to take it in good part. He takes independent bookings and is based at the Coconut Court Hotel. We almost cancelled but are glad we didn’t, it was brilliant.

The guy has obviously been doing this for years – a bajan who loves his island and has a terrific sense of humour. Plenty of rum punch and soft drinks and interesting commentaries on everything we passed. Enough stops to enjoy the views and we ended up with buffet lunch at Sunbury Plantation house – good selection and tasty. Been to the Church at St. John’s previously but none of the other guides had pointed out the unique shape of the seeds from the large tree there but Ted did. He also pointed out several restaurants and bars which he thought would suit - the sort of local knowledge we appreciated.

All in all a good holiday, might book the Accra Beach Hotel again but perhaps only with the breakfast option. Would not have starved but found the menus monotonous. In Thompson’s brochure for the first time maybe it could improve.

Room Tip: Derelict hotel on one side of hotel ask for other location if this might worry you.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hazelnut1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,513)
There are newer reviews for Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,129 - 1,135 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here from Jan 19 -22. We originally booked the cheapest room with no special view. When we checked in I asked if there were any free upgrades available.. she upgraded us to a balcony view of the pool. So much better then the view we would have gotten for sure! The rooms are perfectly fine... refridegerator, nice bathroom, balcony has 2 lounge chairs and a little table. The location of the hotel is perfect. You can go across the street and eat lunch there, bring anything back and eat/drink on the beach. The shopping plaza across the street has a grill for local type food, greek place, ice cream shop that's open late, chinese restaurant, mexican, shops, and a small type supermarket. We bought snacks for the room, cereal, milk, beer, waters, etc. and kept it in our fridge. The hotel food is pretty expensive. One of the restaurants is actually not badly priced. We ordered in room service for dinner one night bc we spent the entire day at the pool and beach and didn't feel like getting on the bus (which is $1 and totally safe to use) or a taxi. The room service (not entree's) are reasonably priced. Friday nights go to the Fish Fry. Tons of locals & everyone is out eating, drinking, listening to music, etc. The bus will take you straight there and back for $1 each. A cab would prob be like $12 each way. Another night we went to St. Lawrence Gap and had drinks/food. Great place to just stroll around and walk into places. We wanted to go to Bridgetown (about 10 min from the hotel) bc there is a lot of shopping and historic buildings, but everything shuts down on Sundays. Instead we went across the street and down the block about 15 second walk to a Cafe for breakfast. The pool is nice, the staff is very nice, never had an issue really with anyone. Someone a while back in reviews mentioned to bring your own beach towels... I don't know why... they might have experienced something else but the hotel gives you 2 beach towel cards that you get back every time you return each towel. We always got 2 lounge chairs and an umbrella on the beach or we sat at the pool. Our last night there (sat) there were a group of teenagers (probably) who were hanging out next to the hotel by the taxi stand - not on hotel property. They were laughing and hanging out for a few hours in the middle of the night and our room - the front door faced exactly where they were (3rd floor). It kept us up and I called downstairs but there's not much the hotel can do since they weren't on hotel property. I'm assuming they were kids bc it wasn't during the week and they were out late. We felt lucky with the location of the hotel... with the shopping plaza across the street it made everything so much easier. And definitely use the bus system. Taxi's from the airport all charge a flat fee, so you won't find a cheaper rate with anyone else. It was $18 for 2 of us to Accra Beach. The beach is gorgeous... the clearest water you'll ever see. Take a walk on the boardwalk (it ends at Accra), there are nice restaurants on the boardwalk. The hotel has some entertainment at night, but it wasn't anything that crazy. It's more fun to go into local towns...

Room Tip: I would say spring for the better balcony view. The construction on the building next store isn'...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank araybin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

As a regular visitor to this hotel over the Christmas and New Year Period I felt it was time to give credit where credit is due!

Since our visit the previous Christmas/New Year many improvements have been made to the hotel including redecoration and modernisation of the rooms. The swimming pool is now clean - and I can vouch that a cleaning person has been employed - for the first time we saw them in action!

The bar staff seem much happier in their workplace, and OK speed is not something they are used to, but after many trips to Barbados one should realise that "speed" is not a word recognised by many Bajan people. They are on "island time"!! We just expect eveything to happen instantly - the sooner we realise that we have to double our normal time everything becomes clear. Sometimes things still do take time, and they don't always listen to the orders correctly - ie a plain burger is a PLAIN burger - not one that comes with mayonaise, salad etc!

We had a great time on New Years Eve - a lovely atmosphere, and great food too!

The hotel is perfectly situated on a lovely beach, within easy walking distance of shops and many eating establishments to cater for all budgets. The beach bar at the end of Rockley beach does a great "Happy Hour" where you can watch the sunset.

There are many repeat visitors at this hotel and to keep us coming back improvements did have to be made. All I can say is ..... your on the right track!!

Room Tip: I would always choose either a pool or ocean view. The suites with island view overlook the main...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASHP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is the 2nd time that we have stayed at the Accra Beach Hotel and we returned because the first stay was really great. In 2010 we had a pool view room which was great but this time we had an island view room which was awful! The island view was of a derelict building! Initially we were very dissappointed but thought at least this room would be quiet - wrong! The first morning we were woken by a large sewage lorry parked outside our window and then the other mornings we were woken by 6am by the noisy neighbour next door. The adjoining doors let in all the noise from the room next door and even the main walls are thin as we heard the partying crowd on the other side, into the early hours on several nights.
We asked to be moved several times but the front desk staff were not interested in helping and were very surly. In fact I do not recall seeing any member of staff (apart from the cleaners) actually smile or greet any guests in a friendly manner.
The staff and Island view rooms really let this hotel down as it is in a lovely location on a great beach with lots of restaurants etc nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Can't say enough great things about this place. The location is fantastic, set on one of the best beaches I've ever been to...crystal clear water, with small waves to keep it interesting, clean white sand. It's also across the street from a great little center for supplies, food etc (highly recommend Just Grillin'!) The hotel staff was extremely helpful and genuinely friendly, like most people on the island. Our room was beach front, with a nice view and jacuzzi on the balcony, great value for the rate. Only issue we had, one night there was 3+ hours of somewhat jarringly loud (and really bad) karaoke by the pool bar that ended after 9pm....every other night was peaceful. Will definitely try to go back once a year if the rate stays close.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank okbye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We arrived on January 15th from cruise at around 2 pm.to find a very cold reception and to b e told that our room was not ready.Strange as there is a big notice on the desk book out time 12 pm. Over an hour later our room was ready.We found the staff at this hotel to be aloof almost to the point of rudeness.To get a drink at any of the bars {no chance with a waitress as they just seemed to amble around in their own little world} took at least 20 mins to 30 mins when they could be botherd to serve you.They were more interested in chatting to each other and watching tv.Against advice from other guests we went to the coco patch for dinner. What a mistake food was horrible and very expensive.My wife and i have travelled the world and this hotel i would not call 4 star. Ive had better service better food in a third world country at a 2 star hotel. The beach was nice the sea was warm.apart from dog ends dirty plates and cups etcon the beach outside the hoteL . it would be nice if the manager would sort the staff out employ someone to clean the beach.AS the hotel itself and the locationare quite nice.

Room Tip: Must be pool or sea facing and eat out drink out.Wehad an excellent meal at Naru just along the roa...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reaperken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed here between 30 December 2011 and 10 January 2012.
For the time of year the cost of the holiday was reasonable value for money.
(New Year was a bit of a damp squib, as dinner was priced at 200 dollars - a complete waste of money.)

Although not veteran visitors to Barbados (yet) we have stayed in varying accommodation over the years and Accra Beach comes in close to the top of the list. We would definitely return to this hotel.
We looked at a number of other nearby hotels plus a few on the West coast and are quite happy we made the right decision. (In particular we looked at Discovery Bay and actually dropped in to see it - boy, were we glad we didn't go there! What a dump.)

The Accra Beach Hotel is situated on a corner, just off what passes for one of the main roads on the island and opposite a small shopping complex.

Reception is like many other establishments on the island, occasionally a wonderful exercise in patience - they call it "Bajan time". You're on holiday, you have to slow down so why not start here?. We were dealt with quickly and efficiently and our bags taken to our room.

The room we specified was an ocean view room and we were given one on the 2nd floor, in the reception block. Clean and tidy with a good sized bed and with a great balcony the only gripe was that the TV channels advertised generally weren't available. However we don't go on holiday to watch TV!.
Free internet is available in the room using either your own ethernet cable or the hotel will happily give you one.
The aircon worked, was quiet and had a useful remote with timer function.

The bathroom was clean and had a large shower, with ample quantities of hot water.
Only one thing here had the potential to ruin our holiday, I found glass on the bathroom floor - clearly a breakage had occurred and had not been cleaned up properly. This was mentioned to staff but more debris was found. Given you are walking about in minimal dress and zero footwear nearly the whole time, glass on the floor should have been treated more seriously.

Moving out of the room, there's very localised wifi in reception. With a reasonable number of seats, everyone seemed to want to sit here playing with their tablet computers so I would imagine the connection speeds would be poor occasionally.

The bar off reception is small but comfortable and is used for buffet breakfasts. Theres a sign to tell you they serve breakfast here but no prices. This is not an all inclusive resort so it's pointless to leave prices off the advert - and we at least never bothered with it for that reason. This bar at night is usually sparsely attended by sports fans from all over - there's always something to see. Service, as is typical, is slow. So slow that you are quicker going to the pool bar some distance away and coming back!

We only ate once at the hotel and it was slightly disappointing, particularly as the one wine my wife wanted was advised as unavailable. As is typical though, if you press for something enough, it can magically happen and she got her wine eventually.

Out in the pool area there are two large pools, one for smaller people and one for adults, and the swim up pool bar is situated in that one. What we found odd was that at no time did the bar(s) seem busy. Aside from the slow service there was no atmosphere in the evening to speak of, which we reckon was due to the inability of the hotel to provide suitable attractions. A steel band, however good, sometimes isn't enough. The one thing which did go down a storm was the manager's cocktail reception. Excellent. A few free drinks, some nice nibbles and everyone starts chatting away. If there had been a little more food most people would probably have gladly paid for it and stayed around the bar to enjoy the rest of the evening getting quietly inebriated. As things stood, people evaporated in the evenings to elsewhere which meant it was fairly quiet nearly every night and sleep, apart from the lovely singing frogs and the sound of the waves, was assured. Love those frogs.

My favourite place, the beach. I wasn't expecting much but found it to be pretty good. The water can be rough and there's occasionally a good undertow but it's great for swimming in and catching some waves if you like boogie boarding or surfing. Surfing is probably taking it too far though - too many people in the way. You're supplied with a ticket for beach towels when you arrive. Get towels for tickets and you're set. Change them whenever you like and return them for the ticket at the end of your stay. Take the ticket back to reception to avoid a charge. Simple. (Some folk couldn't get the hang of that, so maybe they need to explain the process better.) Beach loungers are set out early, from about 0630 onwards along with parasols. If like me you're an earlybird you can have your choice of location and the staff will put your lounger where you ask. Always without complaint or question, these guys work their tails off. Remember to give them something before you leave.

Along the beach towards Champers (didn't go) is the beach bar, "Side Shore" who have a convenient happy hour between 5-6 pm, ideal for sunsets when we were there. With an occasional musician or singer it's a pleasant place to have a drink and the food is pretty good too. We only tried lunches though. Don't think evening meals are their thing.

All in all a good place to be, and I haven't even discussed the shopping area across from the hotel. All you need for self catering is available in the small supermarket, theres a great coffee shop (Italia) which serves wonderful cakes too and has free wifi, ideal for a mid morning break from the beach. You can get ice creams, greek, chinese and indian food here also.

We also tried some restaurants, reviewed elsewhere. Do read those too.
There's so much more to the area but not enough time.

We recommend the Accra Beach and if this website had a rating between "Average" and "Very Good" (Good??) we would have chosen this instead of Average.

Room Tip: Choose Sea view, not island view. Either way, if you can't make the choice before you get there...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 77akw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
1.5 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,702 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hastings
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accra Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accra Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Rockley, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#9 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#10 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: $130 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Accra Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located overlooking the beautiful Rockley Beach, this 3 1/2 acre property exemplifies the "Caribbean Dream". All rooms offer panoramic views of the island, pool or ocean. The center-piece of the lush gardens is a large swimming pool complete with swim-up bar for a cooling refreshment or indulge in a boozy cocktail in the comfort of the 'Sand Bar'. Enjoy a hearty breakfast or lunch from our Cocopatch Restaurant or a light bite from our bar snack menu served daily.Dine in style at the Accra Deck restaurant and choose from an array of local and international European cuisine or indulge in the flavours of the Pacific Rim at the Pacifika Kitchen . Relax, rejuvenate and heal at our on-sight Chakra Spa.Choose from a wide selection of treatments and immerse yourself in the tranquil atmosphere of our spa experience. Be sure to stay at our award winning hotel during your next visit to Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Accra Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accra Beach Hotel And Spa
Accra Beach Hotel Christ Church
Accra Beach Hotel Barbados
Accra Barbados
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing