We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Honeymoon”
Reviewed March 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed end of Feb-March on our Honeymoon and it was really the most fantastic time ever.
We had a super room, clean, spacious and we had a great view of the sea. Our room had a balcony where we were served breakfast every day. On that note its worth mentioning breakfasts, lunch and evening dinners can be eaten wherever you like….ie your Room, by the pool or in the main restaurant area…. One very small complaint….they ran out of the hot pepper sauce that my husband became addicted to. We stayed 9 nights and had evening dinner just once at the hotel, the rest of the time we were out and about exploring…
A really lovely touch was if you were by the pool, early afternoon the staff would come round with damp chilled towels…. So refreshing. There is also a water machine and ice available by the pool and a good selection of suntan lotions. Our room was close to the pool and we bought a bottle of coconut rum from the local supermarket and a big bottle of coke that we kept in our fridge and were quite happy having the odd drink to pass a few hours in the sun away….

The beach was a lovely beach and the road is not exactly busy and I never saw any “boy racers” at all. In fact we found the locals to be some of the most conscientious drivers we have ever seen. The hotel had bicycles that you can take out if you like. I am not exactly a confident person on a bike but we found cars would happily stay tucked in behind until it was really safe to pass, on a number of occasions cars even stopped to allow us to proceed….. Yes horns are beeped but it’s merely to let you know they are there or just to wave hello….. If you decide to eat from the beach mobile bus (Mr. Delicious) OMG I recommend you try the beef and potato roti… so yummy and very, very filling, so filling in fact one evening we were still quite full so decided to have our complimentary wine and cheese rather that a big meal.

Yes a tanker was out at sea on a few days.... but we were never bothered by it at all. it was a fair distance, no noise, no light and certainly no pollution from it at all so why the fuss?

A little further afield(a few mins down the road) is the local town of Oistens. We can agree it is not exactly a huge tourist area, however there were a handful of little fish cafes open in the evenings…. We also found the surfer café a little further down the road where the food was just fantastic and cheaper than the main hotel, we ate here a few times and we were not disappointed at all. Highly recommend the mahi mahi and the steak was so succulent. Friday night in Oistins is a must; the famous Ositens fish fry is such fun. Try to stay a bit later and head for the far side a bit away from the booming main stage area. On the far side is a yellow bar, outside is an area where dozens of locals get together and "line dance" the waltz. It’s fascinating…. If you’re a bit shy to join in this but still fancy a boogie head for the bar and see if you can shake your hips as well as the locals…. Brilliant fun and we were made so welcome.
If you want the more touristy area you need to head for The Gap. During the dy we went on the bikes but in the evening you can taxi, I think that was about 25BD or you can take a spice bus. For 2 BD you can hop on the bus and hop off wherever you like…. Super! Good selection of pubs, clubs, restaurants etc… and a lot more tourists as well.
We did a lot of excursions ATV, sedgeway, scuba, spa, sunset cruise and we hired a car for the day. The only one that was a bit of a letdown was the ATVs. This was run by a man from Wales and whilst driving them was fun the location and the guide we had was a bit of letdown to be honest. If you want a really fun time highly recommend you give the sedgeways ago, the guide we had was one in a million and the area you go to was just breathtaking. Being the most north eastern point on the island where the Atlantic crashes into the amazing rouged coastline. The east and west coastlines are as different as they could be. On the day we hired the car we found a great beach on the east side, we were the only ones on it but the sea was so violent there was no way we were going to ignore the no swimming signs along the coast at that a part. Still it was so beautiful.
I can’t end this review without mentioning the staff, all the staff are fantastic – the very lovely ladies on reception, the staff that brought our breakfast every morning, the cleaners and turn down lady with the chocolate, Andy who sorted out our bikes and took our deck chairs to the beach for us and I must also say thank you to Bodie the best cocktail maker in the south…. (Bodie we hope your wedding was wonderful and you and your new wife have a happy life together)x
All in all Little Arches provided us with the perfect base and was exactly what we wanted for our honeymoon. We do the large hotels/touristy areas with the kids so this was in a nutshell beautiful, personal, luxurious yet simple all rolled into one…. Thank you LA for so many great memories, we hope to see you again in the future x

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deepblue01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    69
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
26
560
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed for 10 nights in Feb/March. The hotel is small and intimate. Great views from the restaurant and pool deck.
What makes the hotel special is the concierge service offered by the staff - they will recommend and book anything from restaurants to boat trips. Service with a smile and nothing too much trouble.
The beach is lovely (we saw no evidence of any rats contrary to the previous report). Yes the hotel is a bit isolated and you do need to get a taxi to get in to main tourist areas and yes they do get the odd oil tanker moored for a day or two. But Oistins fish market is a few minutes walk away which is open all week (Friday being the best night) and there is a small unpretentious restaurant called Surfers cafe within walking distance) with tables over the ocean and good food.
Cafe Luna the hotel's restaurant has great food (but it is quite expensive -but this does compare well to prices in some of the more tourist areas).
5 star grand it is not. Small, romantic and with excellent service it is.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oskark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire,
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

I don’t know if you are familiar with LA, but assuming that you are not ….

Access to the main hotel is via a stairway in the car park. Reception is on the first floor and this is also the main entrance for ‘Café Luna’. The staircase is very narrow so if there is a traffic jam then people stand chatting at the bottom of the stairs.

Just where everyone stands is a door – this is Room 3, where we stayed!

We heard every visitor to the hotel and restaurant! The ‘do not disturb’ sign seemed to be a waste of time, and on one occasion the village drunk outside the door was heard to ask his companions “Do they really expect people to be quiet? Shall I take the sign as a souvenir?”

The reception staff have put up a polite notice asking people to be quiet, but as reception closes at 10:00pm they are not aware of what goes on – and when they are told there is not much they can do about it.

The room itself was quite nice and well equipped, but that is about all you could say about it.

The small ‘sea view’ patio is a joke as it faces directly onto the main entrance to the car park. Directly behind that is the road and behind that a small piece of grassland then the sea – the view of which was interrupted for four days with an oil tanker discharging at a sea berth!!!!!

There are large plants on either side of the patio which means it gets minimal sun and in consequence when it rains the two sunbeds get soaked and never dry out.

To balance the noise from outside the door was the delivery entrance on the other side of the patio screening.

Access to the beach is easy enough – in theory. The road is very busy (despite it being a cul-de-sac) with parked cars and you are obliged to walk in the road as there are no pavements. Some of the local ‘boy racers’ like to use it as a testing ground to see who has the loudest exhaust and most misfiring engine! This is also the best access road to the bus terminal in Oistin’s, which is unfortunate because if you return when it is dark there is no street lighting – and there are still parked cars. I suspect it is a ‘lover’s lane’ – but I hope not as there are rats about! We spotted six vermin traps on the beach and when I asked reception they said they had no knowledge – but the maid over heard and loudly informed everyone in earshot they were for catching rats!!!

Café Luna:
Breakfast caters for the American market ~ i.e. two eggs (over)cooked anyway you fancy, served luke warm with pre buttered toast on the side. Service was anywhere between 10 and 40 mins ~ very inconsistent.
Lunch: This provided the best value.
Dinner: Expensive – but there is no competition in the area. Service again could be inconsistent, and at times I felt the restaurant was understaffed. On one evening we were ignored for almost 30 minutes. Normally I would have ‘walked’ – but where to? You are, to a degree, ‘over a barrel’. The standard menu varied slightly on a day to day basis. I.e. one starter and one main would change. For a place that prides itself on using local ingredients I am surprised that give the location of the hotel (less than half a mile from a fish market) that there wasn’t a daily ‘fish of the day’. They could have made great play of the ‘dependent on what was landed fresh this morning’. Having said that the food was quite good.
I am also surprised that there isn’t a retractable awning for when it rains. There were a couple of chaotic evenings when we were there as people had to rush for cover.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ExMariner4122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshinesandra, General Manager at Little Arches Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Dear ExMarine,

We are very distressed to read this review and to hear that your stay at Little Arches was not all you had hoped for as we try very hard to ensure that ALL of our guests enjoy their stay with us.

We thank you for your comments but we would like to address some of the concerns in the review.

Little Arches was a large private villa which we converted into a ten room hotel. As a result, all of our rooms are unique and are of different shapes and sizes. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy the view from your room or the patio area. However, we do not advertise that we are directly on the beach. We are across the road from the ocean and, as our property extends across to the Cliffside, there are no buildings obstructing the ocean view. We have been experiencing one of the most showery "dry" seasons I can personally remember and apologise for the fact that the sun lounger cushions had little time to thoroughly dry out between showers. As this room is one of our larger rooms most people do enjoy it and its spacious outside area surrounded by a garden to offer privacy. Further, we do wish we'd been given the opportunity to see about relocating you to another room and every effort could have been made to find you a room more to your liking.

Sadly not all diners, as you mention, heed our request to be respectful of our in-house guests. On reading your review we have now brought this up with our night staff members who take over the shift at 10 pm, in an effort to better patrol the areas where departing patrons may gather.

Access to the beach is less than a two minute walk and the lack of sidewalks is not a problem unique to this area. We are certainly in agreement with you that sidewalks would indeed be desirable but Barbados’ lack of sidewalks is simply a fact of life island-wide. I acknowledge that perhaps you heard some bad mannered youngsters driving their cars noisily, but I do feel obliged to point out that this road could not be considered in any way to be a busy thoroughfare, and this area is known to be a peaceful and tranquil area. This is also not a daily occurrence as the most popular days for locals to go to the beach is typically Saturdays and Sundays.

The rat traps you have seen are, in fact, located on most every single beach on the island. They are there to prevent rodents, not to try to control a current infestation. It is a beach area and therefore prone to vermin. This is the case in any beach area, anywhere, and
we are grateful that the local authority for maintaining beaches in Barbados is so proactive in keeping the beaches vermin free. The presence of these traps does not in any way signify that the beaches are unclean or rodent-ridden as implied in your review.

We also thank you for your comments on your wait time at Cafe Luna. Whilst this is upsetting to read, we have passed your comments on to our manager so that he can review all of the service issues mentioned. We do believe, however, that our breakfast menu offers a wide variety of options such as pancakes, French toast, breakfast burritos and bagels to mention just a few, as we attempt to meet most people's menu requirements. The fish on our menu is indeed the "catch of the day" even though we do not call it that on the menu. Furthermore, our sushi menu only ever features the freshest fish, and we will not ever use fish that is frozen. If it's not delivered fresh off the boats
we will not use it at all.

Once again your comments are appreciated as we are always striving to provide the ultimate in service to our guests.

Sandra Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed at Little Arches Dec 2009-Jan 2010 for our honeymoon - and we could not have found a more relaxing, romantic, comfortable, and beautiful location! The staff makes you feel right at home, the food and drinks are amazing, and the beach is just footsteps away. They offer wonderful massages, as well. Little Arches is absolutely gorgeous - from the rooms, to the pool area, to the restaurant and bar on the roof. Oistins is a short distance away - and offers a fun nightlife atmosphere. Little Arches is truly heaven on earth!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sobrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelter Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Our first time to Barbados and we just happen to stay in one of the best properties. The intimacy of a ten room boutique hotel combined with proximity to a beautiful beach, and then topped off with just excellent service and food, made our vacation one we will not soon forget. From the complimentary rum punches on arrival to the turn-downs with chocolates every night, the staff at Little Arches knows how to pamper you. The food makes it hard to go anywhere else to eat. Every staff member, from the front desk clerks to the porter who takes your chairs to the beach, makes you feel special. The mid-week mixer with staff, management and guests made us feel like family; one of several activities that has us already looking forward to our next trip.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank islanders4952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Stay: 5 – 15 February 2011

Thank you all so much for making our holiday so wonderful. From the moment we were checked in by Emma we knew this was a place for us and we were not disappointed one bit.

This boutique hotel is a real treasure and puts big hotels to shame. It is on an residential road which really has very little traffic as it is a dead end. Yes planes do fly over but it is an island! They mainly only flyby mid afternoon and trust me it is not London Heathrow!

We loved the welcome cocktail and the little bottle of rum and cake which were in our room on arrival. Our room Petit Nevis (6) was perfectly located by poolside which often meant we could laze by the pool knowing our room was just there if we needed it with a nice breeze flowing through the patio doors. On most days we were often the only people around the pool, which is not surprising when you had a lovely white sandy beach literally across the road. The hotel made sure there were sunbeds for you down at the beach and were brought back too – little things like this just made our stay so seamless.

Barbados has a great history and be sure to use one of the hotel's recommended taxi drivers (not directly employed by the hotel) to take you around the island. Andrew Parris comes highly recommended for this – a total professional and his knowledge of the island is fantastic.

The restaurant Café Luna was lovely. Great food and service. Coming from London we thought the prices were very reasonable.

Another must is the boat trip and swimming with the turtles was just perfect.

I could write pages and pages about this hotel and the surrounding area but if you are interested you need to find out for yourself and book!!

Thank you Sandra, Emma, Luz, Soma and all the housekeeping team – cant wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewallsonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Full disclosure first: we got married here in April of 2010 and are therefore (perhaps) somewhat biased. Having spent a week in Little Arches with our room directly on the pool, adjacent to the shaded veranda with a view of the Caribbean and the white/pink Enterprise (aka Miami) Beach, surrounded by an extremely friendly hotel family, and a stairway away from the fantastic rooftop restaurant Cafe Luna, one can (perhaps) understand this. Add in an attention to detail while planning our wedding, from the minister to the flowers, the food, and of course the location, and the picture becomes clear. I give Little Arches the best possible recommendation.
PS: Barbados is an alluring island full of hospitable people, tremendous food and a startling variety of landscapes for its size. We can not recommend it more.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GermanyNeedtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
9.6 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,050 reviews
9.7 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
620 reviews
2.6 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,030 reviews
4.3 mi away
The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive
7.1 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Arches Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Arches Boutique Hotel

Property: Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Address: Enterprise Beach Rd, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#1 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Arches Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, Conde Nast recommended, adult-only, boutique hotel. Hidden from the hustle and bustle districts, Little Arches overlooks the pristine sands of Enterprise (Miami) Beach on the South Coast. Ten unique rooms and suites feature Italian fabrics, terrazzo flooring and king-size four-poster beds. Handcrafted pottery features throughout. Enjoy elevated views of the Caribbean from the rooftop pool deck and the acclaimed al fresco restaurant Café Luna. Perfect for those seeking discreet luxury, intimacy and romance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Little Arches Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Little Arches
Little Arches Christ Church
Little Arches Boutique Hotel Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing