We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny Sunbay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunbay Hotel
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sunny Sunbay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Wow - what can I say - excellent value with the friendliest people. I doubt if you'll find cheaper in the Christchurch area if you book through Expedia ; )

Now I've said that, you won't be getting a 5* room with chocolates on the pillow or an evening "turn-down" for the price. The staff in this hotel are so friendly that any experiences not inline with a certain viewpoint don't really matter. Reception staff are really helpful with any questions & breakfast room staff are very pleasant, although sometimes vacant. For the fortnight (1st -13th Feb 2013) we were there, we had a great room, cleaned every day with fresh towels, new sheets, soap supplied (no shampoo). Beds are comfy, room very spacious & no noise (room 313). I wouldn't say it was basic either; plenty of drawer space, TV for background noise, clock radio, safe (paid), hairdryer & balcony. Wi-fi is hotel wide & free. No problem with signal except when high traffic (6pm).

Beach: 30 seconds walk over from the entrance to a non-commercial small beach with no loungers. You can reach "the Gap" & beaches by walking through the sister hotel "Barbados Beach Club" (3 mins walk) where you can use their facilities. Especially on the last day when you get a key from the desk to shower before you leave, for all you late leavers.

The only downside I can imagine really is the location. You have to walk back to the main-road & then cut in again & walk back in towards the coastline to get into the gap. This is around 20-25 mins walk, but came in handy after those big meals when going back. Private taxi is around BD$20. We tended to walk to the main-road (turning left out of the entrance is shorter & catching a BD$2 ZR sardine bus to the far end of the "Gap" before eating at the great restaurants & walking back. The ZR's come every few minutes - you'll get honked at to see if you need a ride. Have your money ready as trying to reach into your pockets with people sucking your armpits is quite hard. (No ZR's in the actual Gap road). ZR's can also be useful to get to Bridgetown or Oistins (25min walk), same price. Great discovery was the Surfers bar on the way to Oistins that served great coffee & nice atmosphere & view to boot. The Chattel house village in the Gap has a Chinese (where the pizza area is) that serves great vegan food at a very economical price. You will get fed up with the taxi drivers looking for fares.

I'd advise to take a travel kettle (& your own tea) if you're a drinker, although this is provided at breakfast, t-bags there are the weaker type. Coffee... I didn't even go there. Breakfast - Toast is toast. The pastry was made from glue, you may be lucky & get a muffin (thicker glue). Estimated time of arrival for toast is 15mins - bring a book or tablet (maybe a stone one with your name on it, if your elderly). Apparently they have 5 toasters, but only one operator (MIA). We did eat here once in the evening & the king fish was incredible. My vegan wife however didn't have much luck. Bottle of Banks beer - BD$7 - club prices! Breakfast room definitely needs "atmosphere" which could be done quite easily. If you use the gym - open the door for half hour before using - I think they keep the pastries in there.

All in all, Bajans are the friendliest people you'll ever meet (be prepared to give out a few BD$2 to people you bump into), they are always saying hello & generally very pleasant, it was fantastic to feel human again. Check out Oistins on Friday night & Hygraid playing the reggae club every Wednesday. The view over the ocean from the most Northern point is mesmerizing. I'd really like to thank the people of Barbados for making this a holiday to remember. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank karlosdaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    61
    51
    30
    36
See reviews for
57
62
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ashford kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Booked at last moment initial impression an aging hotel but clean and tidy room size good. Staff awful, food poor, bar price dear.
Location is quiet but beach close by and others a short walk away.
Night life........none got to go to St Lawrence which is better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Christ Church Parish hotels

muskoka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We booked at Barbados Beach Club Resort and opted to save a few dollars and chose to stay in a gardenview room versus oceanview and unbeknown to our group of 6 ladies they put us in their sister hotel called the Sunbay Hotel down the road from the Barbados Beach Club Resort.
Never in a million years would we have chosen to stay at this run down dirty hotel. We paid for all inclusive resort with two restaurants and at this hotel there is just the one restaurant with the worst food ever and untrained staff. The hotel bar was pathetic serving drinks again by untrained staff. The rum punch was undrinkable and they served flat pop, if you wanted a bottle of water be prepared to pay $4.00 When we arrived at the hotel the staff was very unwelcoming and there were no safety deposit box keys available. We asked for extra towels and there were none available, there laundry hadn't come in yet and this was late in the day. The deocr of the hotel was old and dirty including the rooms. This was by far a very unsatisfactory hotel visit and I would never ever stay here again or refer this place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ladypwalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

When booking at the Barbados Beach club if you go with the garden view this is were you will be, it's about 500ft from the other Hotel. When we arrived we didn't know about this and we had to fight for the privileges at the other hotel even though we were all inclusive. They did move us to the Beach club Hotel as there were about 25 unhappy Canadians.
Please note on the higher floors you need to let the hot water run for about 5mins before it gets to you!

Room Tip: This is a great hotel for those who want quiet it is small so there are not a lot of people around t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed here 2 weeks and we got everything we needed! The room was quite large, pool area was nice and the sea is right accros the street! Also I liked the breakfast here tough I did read that it wouldn't be. Staff was friendly and everything worked perfectly!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diratra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have just returned from holidaying at this hotel, and I have to say I was very impressed! For what we paid, I thought it was excellent value for money. Ok, it's hardly the Ritz, but your money goes a fair way here. The rooms are clean, comfortable and bright. Plus you get free wifi! (always a plus when you're away from home a lot!) the staff were so friendly and helpful. When we came to checkout they provided us with a clean room to get showered in before our flight home. Extremely handy when you've been kicked out of the room at midday and your flight isn't until 6pm.

I would stay here again. The only thing that could do with improving is the pool area. There needs to be a bar or somewhere to get drinks. Other than that, a fairly good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

i stayed at sunbay and found the room comfortable. however the service could be better. the staff tried to be friendly. thbreakfast area could be cleaned before serving, the area was wet and dirty. staff need to know more about activities on the island. they did not sell the events you had to ask to get information. I thinkt the breakfast was poor.......lol bread and butter, the coffee was weak. i loved the beaches. I would like to see more activities in the hotel.
please put up some sort of plastic curtain to pull down when rain falls the rooms can be flooded, especially in a storm

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mt54_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
2.1 mi away
Blue Horizon
Blue Horizon
#30 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Melbourne Inn
Melbourne Inn
#34 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Barbados Beach Club
Barbados Beach Club
#31 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
1.8 mi away
Worthing Court
Worthing Court
#1 of 3 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbay Hotel

Property: Sunbay Hotel
Address: Maxwell Coast Road, 15031, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunbay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests who come to stay at the Sunbay Hotel find that our Barbados vacation resort offers a very unique ambiance…a tranquil, serene oasis set in a lush tropical garden where you can truly get away from it all and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbay Hotel Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing