We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to check out”
Review of Sunbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunbay Hotel
manchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Can't wait to check out”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

The plus points are that it's close to the beach and that I'm only staying here for 1 night. Apart from that, it is a slum area with no decent restaurant within walking distance. The food at the hotel was some of the worst I've ever had. Our room overlooks a shack which has karaoke and it's now 3am and we've had no sleep yet. Even with earplugs in, it sounds like a muslim call to prayer. They have just finished singing (ironically) Silent Night! The room is basic but at least clean. The staff were a mix...some nice some rude. We are going to skip breakfast and get out of here as fast as we can.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank livewire21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    61
    51
    30
    38
See reviews for
58
63
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Our room was large (actually 2 rooms, with a double bed in each) was spacious & very clean, overlooking the lovely & tranquil pool area. We had a few issues with our shower, but they were resolved quickly & professionally.

We opted for the cooked breakfast / dinner package: breakfast was good, with a few choices (served in the Sunbay restaurant) while dinner was excellent - very tasty food, mostly local style - & was served in the Barbados Beach Club restaurant, which was 2 minutes away.

We found all the staff to be friendly, helpful, curteous & professional, in both the properties and would happily recommend either.

There wasn't much of an atmosphere in the SB hotel however & the bar was closed - due to it being off season - but you could go to the BBC hotel or any of the outside bars etc. Location was good, in between St Lawrence Gap & Oistins, few minutes either way...the hotel's beach was lovely or there were beautiful beaches all around, in any given direction.

Overall, SB hotel is not luxurious but is well maintained & clean, with lovely staff & a good location.

Room Tip: Pool view was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonDebbieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed at the Sunbay Hotel for 5 days. Our room overlooked the beautiful scenery of the pool and garden, hence creating a relaxing, calming and peaceful feeling. Staff members were very friendly and always willing to assist. However, to acquire lunch/dinner, we had to go to the sister property, since Sunbay only served breakfast.
The beaches were spectacular, along with the beautiful scenery of the island.
Can't wait to visit again!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GAIL_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2011

My family and I stayed at the resort for 7 days and they were mostly enjoyable. However, the staff was not too interested in explaining the all the services that the facility has to offer. For instance we didn't know until a few days passed that there was a free shuttle service to the town and we received an invitation to the managers party two hours prior to its start. When I returned to the roomand receivd the invi the party was almost finished. The were approximately 6 channels to choose from not much to watch. However, I felt safe, comfortable and it was like home away from home.

Room Tip: Our room was above the entrance and I found this was an advantage because it there was any kind of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snukiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed at Sunbay for 5 days in late July and we fully agree with the two reviews below which describe the reception staff as mostly unhelpful and unfriendly. They were civil at best in a few cases but generally made us feel unwelcome and uncomfortable, as they would barely respond to friendly greetings and the male night clerk snapped at us when we asked a question about nearby restaurants.
We would not stay here again, not only because of the lack of courtesy on the part of the reception staff, but also because of the location. Sunbay is neither on the main road nor on the beach, and is on a street which gets very deserted especially at night. We visited a few other hotels during our stay and Sunbay was the only one which didn't have a lively feel or much activity. It was definitely a mistake to book this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lennie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Christ Church Parish hotels

Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

First impressions are ever lasting and the bad impressionof Sunbay will resonate in my memory for a long time. I booked this hotel through AA.com because of all the amenities it claims to have but when we got there the old male receptionist didn't seem to have a clue about the amenities and also asked us to pay more than we had already paid to AA.com. He also said there was no free wifi which was critical to my stay because I'm doing a doctorate and need to study online. I was very disappointed with the reception and cancelled my reservation immediately and left. The Barbados Tourism Authority must really looking into the quality of service given to visitors especially blacks.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aajean32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I stayed at the sunbay hotel with my family for a period of 7 days. Overall i found the hotel and accomidation to satisfactory but my overwhelming memories of the stay at the hotel is the ignorant nature of every member of staff at the reception desk. On many occasions i greeted these members of staff with hello, good morning, good evening etc and was met with no response and just blank stares, I have travelled extensively through the years and never came across such ignorance. If staff were friendlier i would say this hotel was fair value.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
0.2 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
637 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Monteray Apartment Hotel
Monteray Apartment Hotel
#31 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
60 reviews
0.8 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
0.6 mi away
Melbourne Inn
Melbourne Inn
#32 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbay Hotel

Property: Sunbay Hotel
Address: Maxwell Coast Road, 15031, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunbay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests who come to stay at the Sunbay Hotel find that our Barbados vacation resort offers a very unique ambiance…a tranquil, serene oasis set in a lush tropical garden where you can truly get away from it all and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbay Hotel Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing