We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No 1 Sports Bar”

Bert's Bar & Restaurant
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bert's - Eat Drink Chill! With a dash of sports and a splash of islandambience Bert's is the perfect mix.Come to the hottest sports bar inBarbados featuring state-of-the-artsatellite coverage, authentic stone-firedpizza and world famousbanana daiquiris.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“No 1 Sports Bar”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Visited Berts Bar to watch English Football (not Soccer..lol). Food was excellent for all 3 in our party (all had different meals). Staff were friendly and prices reasonable. Much preferred this place to Bubbas (much more of an American themed restaurant, though wouldn't put people off going). Has several screens showing different games so you should be able to catch the game that interests you (they advertise all the live games that they will be showing for the week ahead).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    146
    71
    33
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good bar”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Reading the reviews on here, I had to check that I had found the right entry on trip advisor!
We've just returned from a great meal. Sat inside which was cooler and nicer. We weren't in a rush and the food was a while coming, but that was ok.
Our server was the right level of attentive - not all over us, but there when we wanted. Bought drinks over quickly etc. couldn't really fault it at all.
Also, not too expensive, main meal each, a dessert and a couple of drinks, came in at £30.
Definitely nicer than Bubbas and Lucky Horseshoe,the competition in the area!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worst Bar in Barbados”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This place is horrible, I'd give it a 0 if I could. we had a large party reservation (14) and asked for a table outside, only to be told none were available, (even though there was a large table outside.) When we asked if we could have it (the outside table) we were told no... there was a reservation there at 7:30 (we were there at 7:00).

We were given an inside table and the service was horrible, it was like we inconvenienced them the entire time (very large bill by the way). We watched the outside table and nobody showed up at 7:30, we asked again if we could move....still no.

Meanwhile, the service for our drinks was incredibly slow and no manager came to our table with any explanation as to why we couldn't move, or why the service was so poor. Our dinners finally came (slow as well) and the food was average at best, small portions, some cold, some barely edible. What a dissapointment!!

So now it's 8:15 still nobody at the table we wanted outside, still the same snotty, inattentive service to our table. We asked for the bill and as we were paying and finishing our drinks (we were never offered a second round), the outside table was still empty.

I have worked many years in the restaurant industry, so I figured the owner may want to know how our meal had gone.....what a mistake, he is a rude, nasty old man who didn't even look up from his drink when I told him about our experience. Maybe he had had too many but he barely uttered a few words as I explained our night. I told him we were visiting for 2 more weeks and that we would never be back, he just didn't care. It's a tourist trap there and they have a steady influx of new clients, maybe he doesn't have to care.

The place is a dump on it's best day with food nobody would normally eat at home. Bad from beginning to end!

As a contrast check out Naru Restaurant just a few minutes away. It's spectacular, food, service and atmosphere!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank John_l514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very dissappointed”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Went to this bar on Dec.21/12. Met the owners wife who told us they would be open Christmas Eve and they had music good food etc.
My only bad experience in Barbados. The owner is miserable, isn't friendly and very arrogant. My opinion is that he doesn't treat his staff well and it shows, although the food was good.
He has his own spot reserved at the end of the bar, which is fine with me, he owns it.. but when his remote control wasn't in the exact spot it is supposed to be, , because someone had knocked it over, he embarrassed and berated a waiter in front of everyone because his remote was moved.
Will never go there again and do not recommend it for a restaurant to go to.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank getoutofwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best bar in barbados!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

coldest beer, best wings and great burgers. really friendly staff and all sports catered for! happy hour is great too! give it a go

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bert's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Rockley, Christ Church Parish
 
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Bert's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing