We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Barbados”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christ Church Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maxwell Beach Apartments
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Barbados”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have recently returned home from two wonderful weeks at Maxwell Beach Apartments, in fact our trip was so great we have already booked to return next year!
We arrived in sunny Barbados and were met at the airport by our taxi driver Lisa for the quick 15 minute (20 $ US) ride to the apartment. Along the way, Lisa answered questions about the island, identified landmarks and gave suggestions for places to visit and things to do.
We spent the first 6 days in the ground floor apartment which was simply furnished, comfortable and extremely clean. The average temperature while we were there was about 28C with high humidity, and it doesn’t really cool off all that much at night, so we were very happy to have AC each night which ensured the room was cool enough to get a good night sleep. We had been advised by our travel Doctor in Vancouver not to drink the water in Barbados due to risk of water-borne illnesses, but after checking with Peter we decided not to worry, and drank water from the tap from day one with absolutely no problems.
We used the apartment kitchen (mostly to store cool beers!) and had several excellent meals at the local Surfers Café in Oistins, about a 10 minute walk away. We tried the margaritas at Café Sol in St Lawrence Gap but the best by far were at our very local Surfers Café. Across the street from the café is a large grocery store that more than catered to whatever we might need for simple meals at home. The grocery store also sells alcohol and had a great selection of imported wines at reasonable prices as well as a wide variety of Barbados Rum.
For the last 7 nights of our holiday, we moved upstairs to the totally gorgeous sea front apartment with its breathtaking view of the ocean. We spent hours each day sitting on the porch reading, sipping drinks and watching sea turtles dip their heads in and out of the ocean, almost close enough to touch.
Towards the end of our trip we decided we wanted to explore more of the island so Peter helped arrange a car hire for two and a half days. If you decide to drive around the island, be sure to take your sense of humor and adventure with you; we got lost more times than I can count as many roads are not signposted and we spent several hours driving on back roads to a destination that we reached within 15 minutes the following day because we had missed one single turn at a roundabout. On our second day of driving we pulled over at an intersection, unsure which direction to go and this adorable young Bajan boy with a huge smile noticed we looked lost and gave us directions to find our way home again.
We also utilised the rental car to check out the only drive in theatre on the island- a quick 15 minute trip from the apartment. The screen is huge and the snacks including beef or chicken roti served piping hot are delicious!
If you want a real authentic Bajan restaurant experience be sure to go to Brown Sugar. We had a fabulous and very reasonably priced meal there. I had some of the best crusted snapper I’ve ever tasted, the portions were huge and the service was friendly and attentive.
Aside from the breathtaking scenery and the pure joy of being on a Caribbean holiday, meeting Peter and Sheena was the highlight of our trip. They are truly excellent hosts who take pride in their apartments and take great care of their guests. They are unobtrusive yet friendly and were readily available to provide recommendations for great places to eat, hiring rental vehicles and attractions to visit on the island.
My husband and I have been lucky enough to travel a fair amount and what means the most to us wherever we go is the opportunity to meet decent kind hearted people. We loved our time at Maxwell Beach apartments and can’t wait to see Peter and Sheena again in 11 months!

Room Tip: Splurge on the sea front apartment- it's worth it for the view alone
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffery108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Maxwell Beach Apartments, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you so much for the heartfelt words. It really does let us know that we are doing something right. We are lucky enough to have had some truely wonderful guests such as yourselves. We can't wait to welcome you again for the third time in 2015.
Signage around the island is not the best but has improved. Most car rental companies offer GPS units for a small daily fee.
The Globe Drive-in is a real experience. Enjoy the movies from the comfort of your car. $15BDS per person usually get you two movies (unless it is a very long movie). Tune in your radio and you are good to go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    12
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pontypool, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

just returned from 2 wonderful weeks at maxwell beach apartments. peter was a superb host and most helpful without being obtrusive and had a brilliant sense of humour. all facilities were excellent as was the position of the apartments within walking distance of oistins and a very short bus ride to the gap. we have already recommended the apartments to our friends. if we're lucky enough to return we shall definitely return to these apartments

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Maxwell Beach Apartments, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for the review and kind words. We hope you can return someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We are a well-traveled couple in our early 60's and this is our third trip to Barbados. Our preference has always been for small properties and this one we fell in love with online and were not disappointed in any way once we got to it. We were travelling with good friends and the 2 bedroom apartment was ideal for 2 couples. Each spacious bedroom has its own en-suite bath. The bedroom air conditioner ran quietly and cooled very nicely at night and we only set it at 26 or 27. During the day, the ceiling fans and breeze through all the open windows kept it very pleasant. The open beam ceilings make the apartment seem even larger and it's already is an excellent size. The apartment is well-furnished and very clean and we felt comfortable from the moment we stepped in the door. The kitchen has all the basic tools required if you have a desire to cook or even if all you want to do is coffee and breakfast. We loved eating and imbibing outside on the balcony. Excellent BBQ available. Beach access is beyond great ... just down the steps and through the gate and you're in an amazing sandy ocean, with a warm shower to rinse off , just inside the gate.

On-site hosts Sheena and Peter were gracious and very accommodating and at all times made us feel welcome. Airport pick-up and drop off, as well as a rental car were arranged by them. Their freely given helpful local advice made for a much better holiday.
No traffic noise, even though on the main road. Easy to catch any type of bus you want or even flag down a taxi, from just in front of the apartment. Easy walk to Oistens for groceries at the Supercentre. Surfer’s Cafe just across the street from the Supercentre has really great coffee and the best shrimp wrap ever. We had wonderful marlin fish fillets from the fish market in Oistens, that we brought back and BBQ’d . Mini-mart just a 1/2 block the other way is handy too.

We found the accommodation to be excellent price value for our money. When our travels take us back to Barbados, we will definitely choose to stay there again (if we can get a booking .... we really didn't want to tell anyone about this lovely place, but didn't seem fair to keep it a secret). Martin ... thanks for all your help during the booking process.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knlearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Maxwell Beach Apartments, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
We are very happy to hear you thought our apartments offered excellent value for money. That is one of our key goals.
We enjoy sharing our local knowledge with guests. We want you to have the best information possible so you can enjoy your holiday to the fullest.
We hope to see you again and would like to thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Peter and Sheena run one of the best places we've stayed on all our travels around the world! We felt like we were staying at a friends house as apposed to just some random hotel. They were beyond helpful and hospitable, to the point that we would go back just to visit them!! This was all managed while still being very respectful of our privacy.

The apartment was clean, conveniently located and right on the beach. The area it was in was removed the main tourist area and, therefore, very peaceful and quite.

We were so happy with our stay, that despite booking an all inclusive resort prior to arriving in Barbados (for our last 3 days of our trip) we ended up taking the hour long bus ride back from the resort to spend another day with them.

Thank you, thank you, thank you, Peter and Sheena. You made us have a unforgettable experience and we will never forget you!!!!!!

Much love,
Jesse and Ruth

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Maxwell Beach Apartments, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
It brings us much joy to hear our guests speak so highly of their stay with us. This is why we do it and try to offer the best experience we can. Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

There are a lot of places out there that promise to be next to the beach. Once you're there, you realise that 'next to' has the same meaning as Mercury is 'next to' the Sun. At Maxwell Beach Apartments however, they're as good as their word. Whatever apartment you find yourself in, you walk a matter of metres into the sandy garden area, there's a wooden fence with a gate - and then you're actually on the beach. And what a beach! The archetypical Caribbean picture postcard.

The apartments themselves are bright, clean and airy. I had the ground floor Apartment 2 - you walked in through your kitchenette with gas cooker and oven, microwave, large fridge/freezer (with ice already stocked, a real bonus in this heat), toaster and coffee maker. All utensils and pots/pans are supplied. Do get either Peter or Sheena to show you how to work the oven - it wasn't what I was used to!

The main room had lots of space. A nice big bed with the TV and dresser in front of it and some storage cupboards in the corner. An aircon unit is supplied and can be operated by remote. However I found it more pleasant to keep the doors to the apartment open with the lockable gates closed so air is allowed to breeze through. Lock up at night though to avoid the bugs!

The bathroom has a large shower - cold ones are the best here I found. There is also a wardrobe for extra storage.

There's a patio with table and chairs leading out towards the garden area and that wonderful beach. Say (a very quiet) hello to the many Red Moon Crabs which make their home underneath the paving stones. Plenty of parking available and there are also bus stops right outside (all bus rides are BD$2, regardless of distance). You can get to Oistins and Bridgetown easily, especially if you're prepared to experience the rough and ready "ZR" minivans with their musical horns; there are less frequent services to Speightstown as well.

Eating out? Head to Oistins on a Friday night to experience the wonderful Fish Fry they have there. There are more restaurants and bars in St Lawrence Gap and Worthing up the road in the opposite direction (towards Bridgetown). You might also consider the adjacent Butterfly Beach Hotel which does lovely buffet dinners and breakfasts on its own covered beachside patio - you don't need to be a guest of the hotel either. However, avoid the nearby chinese restaurant - it's just awful! If you're bringing in food to cook, there's a "Super Centre" supermarket just before you reach Oistins.

Finally, rest assured that you're in very good hands with Peter and Sheena. A most pleasant and helpful couple who will give you all the advice and tips you need for a great time in Barbados. Thanks for everything! :)

Room Tip: There are four apartments in all. Two on the ground floor with one bed each (I believe fold-away bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MSTD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Maxwell Beach Apartments, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is most informative and will help future guests know what we have to offer.
Many of our guests prefer the breeze we often get on the south coast to flow through the apartments rather than using the A/C. With the doors open but the security gates locked you are totally secure.
The moon crabs which reside in the garden and come out usually at dusk are completely harmless. They scuttle back into their holes as they see you approaching. Apparently they are a delicacy, though I haven't tried them as yet.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

What can we say about Maxwell Beach Apartments except 'Perfect' in every way. We are actually leaving tomorrow and we are so sorry to be going. The apartments are private, exceptionally clean, well equipped, safe and secure.

The apartments have their own driveway and parking. The back garden.... well…. its a perfect private extension of the beach.

Walk through the small gate directly onto the beach and into the crystal clear and warm ocean. It doesn't get much better than this.

Barbados is a joy in it's own right, so laid back, friendly and full of polite and happy people.

The small ZR busses are better than any transport system we have ever found, simply step outside the driveway wait around 30 secs, you will hear a musical horn and the bus pulls up right along side you. It may be a bit of a squeeze at peak hours.... but a total experience. Between Bridgetown and Oistins any length of trip is $2 Barbadian Dollars. A bargain!! (however if you are a slightly nervous passenger and don’t like loud Reggae music, you might be best on the BarbadianTransport yellow buses).

There are some shops inc a supermarket in Oistins, which is a pleasurable 15 minute walk away. It was a surreal experience carrying our shopping back along white sandy beaches and the sea lapping at our feet.

We are here in mid September and it is so very quiet, perfect for us as we wanted total peace and quiet.

As most previous comments have said, Peter & Sheena were perfect hosts and were always on hand whenever we needed anything at all.

All in all a perfect destination for us in perfect surroundings.

Our thanks to Peter, Sheena and Martin for a truly memorable holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms look good to us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ianharvey_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Maxwell Beach Apartments, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Maxwell Beach Apartments at the end of February for 10 days and had a fantastic time. The apartment we had was moderately sized, really clean, with high ceilings and a balcony from which you could hear the sea and see it through some trees in the hotel next door. The air conditioning worked fine although we were happy with the breeze through the windows and an open door and best of all, the (amazing) beach is literally 15 steps out of the door of the apartment. We can't thank Peter and Sheena enough for their excellent hosting, always being friendly and ready to help us out of any situation and arrange things for us. Apart from being great hosts they are very very nice people who it was a pleasure to meet and share a rum with. Oistens fish market is literally a 10 minute walk away and you can buy freshly caught delicious fish to cook in the apartment or eat at some of the excellent stalls (Mo's is the best) further down. Our days were spent lounging on the beach, swimming, sleeping and eating and really we didn't need to leave the apartment at all. For the price and location, this is without a really good option for couples, and the 2 bedroom family apartment next door to us on the top floor looked amazing for a family. Thanks again Peter and Sheena for making our first holiday in ages one to remember! Hopefully see you again soon

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have balconies with sea views though the only one with a balcony leading onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank malcolm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Maxwell Beach Apartments, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
We really do believe we offer great value for money. It is nice to hear guests say that.
As you say we are literally steps from the beach, you cant get any closer.
There are many places to choose from in Oistins but I like Mos so thats who I recommend ( get there early on Friday/ Saturday nights 6-6.30pm) or you could be waiting for a table.
Thank you for the kind words. We hope to see you again also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
0.0 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
0.8 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxwell Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxwell Beach Apartments

Property: Maxwell Beach Apartments
Address: Highway 7, Maxwell, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Christ Church Parish
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Maxwell Beach Apartments Hotel Christ Church
Maxwell Beach Apartments Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing