We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barbados hoilday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MoonRaker Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here for 2weeks wonderful place so peaceful and friendly will definitely be back . Came with my 2 kids Steve and his lovely daughter could not do enough for us. The apartment is clean and cosy very relaxing excellent value for money . My kids had fantastic surf lessons that Steve arranged which wonderful teacher Bodie .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for MoonRaker Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 123 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

When we got to Moonrakers, we were impressed with the rooms, the location and of course the view! Steve was extremely friendly & helpful and let us know all the good stuff we should do on our three day trip.Unfortunately, the airconditioning in one of our rooms wasnt working & though Steve did attempt to get it fixed, no one came in & it was dreadfully hot. We had to move after two nights since we just couldnt manage the heat..I guess if that was fixed, I would recommend the place

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adventurpreneurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just returned from a week in Barbados and this place really made the experience. It is a perfect spot if you want to be in the vicinity of kite surfing or just around surfers. Surfer's Bay is a small bar associated with the property and serves cold beer and drinks and dinner nightly. On Sundays, the bar has local musicians playing music ( a mix of 70s rock, blues, and roots reggae) which includes the chef of Cafe Luna (also awesome). Most of the local watersports teachers hang here at some point. The food was pretty good and not terribly expensive. There's a credit card machine at the bar if you run low on cash. For surfing, this spot is close to Surfer's Point and Freights Bay and is pretty close to some more advanced spots. Steve can point you to what's happening during your stay.

Rooms were clean with a great view of the ocean. Kitchens, refrigerators, A/C, fans. You shouldn't need A/C at night...just use a fan. We cooked breakfast daily and bought fruit and snacks for lunch. The kitchen is accomodating enough for this. The staff of both the hotel and bar are extremely accommodating and just friendly all day long. Nicky (apartment) and Nita( bar) were really great to us the entire stay. Steve (the owner) was great to us on our first full day by giving us the lay of the land for surfing, driving us down to Oistins for groceries and ATM, and telling us how to navigate the island without a car and without spending a ton of money on cabs. Also, its a dog party down there. Not a bad thing at all. All of the dogs are small to mid sized and are very friendly. They patrol the property during the day and own the property at night. That's a good thing.

You'll either need a rental car or will have to rely on taxis ($20B to Oistins) or buses ($2B)to get around. Look for the crazy vans blasting reggae with a number 11 or a placard announcing Silver Sands/Oistins. These buses are a great value and will get you to a bus hub in Oistins or will take you as far as Bridgetown. There are a few small beaches close to the property...not ideal swimming beaches, but good enough for a dip. Go to Miami Beach or Pebble Beach to swim.
Surf shops will drop off rental boards to you. Steve can help you arrange this. Also, most surf schools will pick you up and drop you off. We tried a few schools. For group instruction, Zed's was the best and for SUP, SurfSUP was the best.

Stay here if: you want to be away from crowds; you're ok with navigating your own vacation; you want to be near surf spots; you want a room with a kitchen; you want to wake up to the best view in the morning and go to sleep with the surf in your ears.
Don't stay here if: you want a resort experience.

We'll come back. Nice place, Steve.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Fantastic getaway with a great location, especially if you are into water sport like surfing, kite or windsurfing. Barbados is an expensive island, that said Moonraker is great value for the money, clean, fresh and very friendly and helpful staff.
The location is great, just by the water with close access to one of Barbados best kite and windsurfing venues.
The apartments have what you need and are clean, fresh with access direct to the garden.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent two weeks at moonraker and really enjoyed its friendly atmosphere and great location. The appartments are located on the see front in the middle of a large garden. It is very quiet and the area is still preserved and uncrowded. A small bar/restaurant is located on the property and is very convenient for a sunset cocktail or a tasty burger. There were few life bands when we stayed there. You just need to walk few meters to access a small quiet beach and or a kilometer to access the kitesurf/ windsurf area. Oistin (nice fish market on friday) and surfers point (nice surf spot for beginners) are reachable within a quick drive. The staff taking care of the restaurant and the appartments were very friendly and made us feel like home. We were staying in a spacious and clean two bedrooms flat on the first floor with lovely see view. You cannot go wrong staying there ...

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank beatrice198329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I just returned from staying 8 days at MoonRaker in Barbados. We had a wonderful time there. MoonRaker accommodations provided all the basic comforts which was all I wanted. The room was clean, neat, open and breezy. The views of the ocean at the southern tip of the island were wonderful. I am not a surfer but many folks staying there were surfing/wind surfing at the Atlantic beaches at the resort.

I am into photography and took some wonderful photos walking along the paths by the resort and while touring the island. We had several great dinners at the restaurant on the grounds along with some great music and entertainment. Met some nice people from all over the world.

There were no surprises at MoonRaker; great value; scenic; peaceful; and fun. Steve and his staff all went out of their way to help. Definitely would return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Moonraker apartments are a great place to spend your holiday. The vibe is chilled and friendly and the area is perfect. Only about 100 yards from my apartment is the beach and close by also a really good bar and restaurant which provides lots of entertainment without keeping me awake at night. It's a short bus ride into Oistains where you can buy fresh fish and veg and hang out of an evening with the locals. About 10 minutes on the bus is St.Lawrence Gap where there are loads of clubs and restaurants that won't break the bank. You can also learn how to kite surf, surf, wind surf and S.U.P. right here too, if you get tired of relaxing that is. A great place very comfortable and affordable with lovely staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KrisArndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
4.0 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Point Hotel
Silver Point Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silver Sands
631 reviews
2.6 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#28 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
217 reviews
3.5 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
3.2 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MoonRaker Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MoonRaker Beach Hotel

Address: Green Garden, Landsdown, Silversands | Barbados.W.I., Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: $97 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MoonRaker Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a backdrop of picturesque Coral House Bay at Silver Sands, MoonRaker Beach Hotel is a south coast property on Barbados. This original iconic 6-acre beachfront surf lodge is in the heart of the tranquil windsurfing and kite boarding region of the island. The property features Surfer’s Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant - a highly popular dining experience. Each of the 15 airy, beach-themed units bear individual décor interiors, and offer kitchenettes and daybeds for lounging on private terraces or balconies. MoonRaker is steeped in rustic charm and has become a firm favorite for traveler interests appealing surfing, SUP water sports, sport fishing, honeymoons and yoga. At-a-Glance: 15 A/C Apartments and Studios | Surfer’s Bay Beach Bar & Restaurant | Beachfront | Seaside Garden | Dramatic Ocean Views | Live Entertainment | Surf & Standup Paddle Boarding (SUP) Academy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your MoonRaker Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonraker Reef Apartments Hotel Christ Church
MoonRaker Beach Hotel Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing