We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location and great place for a family get together” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Guesthouse Cleverdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beach Guesthouse Cleverdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and great place for a family get together”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Brilliant location for holidaying with small children by the beach! We rented the whole house for a family get together for a few weeks and the layout of the house and its size, great location (just by the best beach with kids in Barbados, close to great beach bar and in close proximity to the Gap and the supermarket) left everybody of the family happy. All the staff were very helpful and Brigitte did an excellent job helping us organise our wedding!
The house was very clean and taken care off very well by Doreen.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Verena-barbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    14
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
28
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Accommodations:
-simple
-clean
-good shower (water pressure, drainage)
-beds were old but fine
-sheets were clean
-no A/C so no need for more than a sheet (fan is essential)
-bug nets available, but we didn't use them once out of the tree nights and didn't get any bites (my fiancé is super sensitive so this was a plus)
-good front porch
-full kitchen which we didn't use at all

Location
-walking distance to the gap and good homebase location if you want to explore the entire island (which we did)
-reasonably quiet at night
-steps from a great beach that is protected by a reef
-more of a local vibe

Misc
-staff very helpful and knowledgeable
-good wifi in house
-landline available for local calls
-renting a car with GPS made getting around super smooth

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCviaMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Cleverdale beach house is a nice, basic and clean accomodation really close to the beautiful Sandy Beach.
The single room was a bit small than expected but I think it's priceworth, besides you can enjoy the kitchen room, the veranda and living room.
It's a 5 minute walk away from the Gap, centre of local nightlife.
Best part of it is the friendly people I have met, both local and tourist.
Brigitte and Stephanie, the hosts were also very helpful with advices and informations.
I think I'll come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stellamarinaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

I can't say enough good things about my stay at Cleverdale. Someone on Trip Advisor sent me a private message recommending that I head there as a solo female traveler, and after what felt like hours of extensive research on my own, that one little gem of advice made my trip everything I could have asked for and more.
It is perfect for a budget traveler who is looking for a quiet beach location that is still near all the great offerings of the island - Bridgetown (15 mins by bus or car), St. Lawrence Gap (5 minute walk), Carib Beach Bar and Crystal Waters (just a step away on the beach), Oistins (10 mins on bus), and much much more. It is very quiet at night, and the sound of the ocean laps right up to the porch where you can sit and read, take a break from the sun, or laugh with all the wonderful and friendly travelers you will meet on your stay there.
Brigitte runs the place, and she is very helpful and a great friendly personality who is very honest and up front, and will help with anything you need in regards to what you would like to do on the island. Her help was fantastic, and I only wish I was there longer to take advantage of her personalized tour of the island.
All in all, my stay was perfect, down to the people who happened to be staying there as well. I will be going back as soon as I can.

Room Tip: If you want your own apartment feel, get a studio. I stayed in a room with its own bathroom and sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dugger, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

My friends and I were there 7 nights and we couldn't have asked for anything better. Close to the beach, close to grocery stores and other places to shop. The owner had good ideas on places to go to see. There is a maid that comes in weekly to clean. It was wonderful. One thing we were not told before we got there is the money exchange rate. Our money can be used anywhere there, but we were told to convert some of our money to theirs. This you do not have to do its your choice. (example their 10.00, is 5.00 US)(2.00 is 1.00 US) etc etc.. I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone it was wonderful, rooms were clean and it was so beautiful!!!!! The Room was very affordable also

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,Ma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

My wife and I just returnd from our second vacation at this property-Cleverdale, Worthing Beach Christchurch, Barbados and it was even better than last year. The property sits practically on the Worthing Beach, one of the truly hidden jewels of the Caribbean. Would recommend the unit with private bath and small kitchen, Have your breakfast on the small veranda overlooking the beautiful beach were you can actually swim with turtles. You don't have to rent a car because you can ride on busses or certain vans for a standard fare of one American dollar to any where on the island. Excellent bargain.

Room Tip: Try to get the large room with private bath and self-contained kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stonefingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

We had a wonderful holiday at Cleverdale in the self-contained suite. (There are 2 suites and a 3 bedroom complex that can be booked as one or separately with shared living, dining areas.) The suite is very basic and on the small side but its saving grace is the deck and close proximity to the ocean. It was clean and no fuss, no muss accommodations. In 10 nights, we only had maid service twice so a can of Comet would have been appreciated. Bring your own hand and shower soap. There was salt but no pepper in the kitchen. A few extra glasses would be appreciated. Helpful staff.

Room Tip: There are 2 self-contained suites. Either are good options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Morjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.0 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#26 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea-U Guest House
Sea-U Guest House
#2 of 3 in Bathsheba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Guesthouse Cleverdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Guesthouse Cleverdale

Property: Beach Guesthouse Cleverdale
Address: 4 th Avenue | Worthing - St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barbados beach guest-house Cleverdale, studio apartments, rooms or 3-5 bedroom vacation home as a holiday rental located in Barbados favorite area of Saint Lawrence Gap - Worthing, Christ Church, South-coast. Sea - beach view from the veranda of this Barbados guest-house and apartments. There are different cheap budget accommodations available at this beach guesthouse. You can rent guest-house rooms with own bath, shared bath and shared facilities of the guesthouse. The suites are self-catering studio apartments. You can also rent the house as a 3-5 bedroom house for a bigger group. The main house has 3 bedrooms, 3 bath rooms, living-dining room and kitchen. If you book a room you share the house facilities with the guests of the other rooms. The studio apartments are semi attached and are independent from the main 3 bedroom guesthouse. Free wireless and safe box. This favorite location of Saint Lawrence Gap is a preferable area for visitors. There are many hotels, restaurants, beach bars, bar, discos, mini marts, shops, banks and the night life of Barbados just in 5 minutes walking distance. Our accommodations are still far enough away from the night life area to avoid disturbance of the busy St. Lawrence Gap.This German managed wooden/stone beach home cottage is built traditional in the past colonial style and well renovated every year. The guesthouse is furnished and decorated the Caribbean way. The guest-house is set out with 3 bedrooms in the main house with two separate studio apartments (which have their own kitchenettes and bathrooms) adjoining the main house.Therefore this vacation home can either be let as a 3 bedroom beach home or a 5 bedroom vacation beach-house (which would include the two self-catering studio apartments) as the bedroom door in the studio apartments can be opened from the main house on request but also have a separate entrance from outside.You can rent guesthouse rooms with shared kitchen and living-dining room.The main 3 bedroom vacation home has a living/dining room, 3 bathrooms (2 en-suite), complete kitchen and a spacious beach view veranda. This holiday beach home budget guesthouse cottage is surrounded by a small tropical garden.The main beach house has a living- dining room, ceiling or standing fans, SAT TV, Stereo-system, telephone and free Wireless..Bedrooms furnished with single beds which can be zipped together as king size beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Beach Guesthouse Cleverdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Guesthouse Cleverdale Hotel Christ Church
Beach Guesthouse Cleverdale Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing