We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I do not recommend it ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Round Rock Apartments on Sea
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We went to this hotel while catching a connecting flight the next morning. We just wanted a hotel near the airport, that was inexpensive, just to sleep for a few hours. The hotel was not as inexpensive as advertised, it was 75$ US for 1 night. The room was very plan and frightening looking. There was jail bars on the patio windows and doors. There are guard dogs on the grounds who bark all night long and keep you awake. There are also chicken running lose outside . The taxi is very expensive from the airport to the hotel ( 30$ US to go, 40$ US to come back). I would have preferred paying a bit more for the hotel and get something of better quality. If I factor in the price of the taxi, it was almost 150$ for a room that doesn’t even have bed skirts on the mattress. We slept with all our clothes on, seeing as the covers looked really dirty. You also have to pay 11$ extra if you want air conditioning in the room. The person that worked at the front desk was nice, but the room matters much more than a polite conversation you have with someone. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Venessa00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbert T, Front Office Manager at Round Rock Apartments on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

We apreciate our guest reviews. However what we do not appreciate is persons not speaking the truth about our hotel. The hotel rate is USD$61.75 inclusive of taxes as advertised and not USD$75.00 as stated by this guest. The wrought iron gate by the glass door is for the guests safety and can be easily opened by them.I have never yet seen a chicken around here.
The dog is a trained guard dog and only bark when neccessary .
We have no control over taxi fares but the guest departed very early in the morning and usualy the taxi fare for early morning departures is BBD$40.00 which is USD$20.00 and not USD$40.00 as the guest stated in the review.
A priority of Management and staff of Round Rock Apartments on Sea Ltd is to ensure that all our guest are safe and comfortable and that includes the cleanliness of our rooms. The beds are made with lilly white shets and covered with a clean bedsopread..We have never yet had any complaints about the cleanliness of our apartments.
However I must thank the guest for speaking one truth in the review, that of the courteous and polite manner of the front desk clerk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2012

Rented a studio for 99$ US Per night. One of the cheapest rates in the neighborhood! Excellent value for money, we had a balcony, complete kitchen, ocean views and large bed in the apartment. Felt comfortable and safe. The restaurant at the hotel serves good breakfast and the staff is courteous and helpful. (A worker drove us to the airport herself when their cab driver was not available!)
Only downsides: You need to pay extra for AC in the room and the walls are a bit thin. (Could hear my neighbors at night even though they were not too loud.)

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Kkaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My husband and I just returned from Round Rock after spending 29 days there. We had a studio apartment and were very pleased by the cleanliness of the apartment. All of the equipment was in good working order. The kitchen was very well equipped. The view from our balcony was picture perfect. It was very relaxing. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. Mr. and Mrs. Thompson, the owners, were very welcoming. There was an excellant restaurant on the property, but it was a shame that not many people took advantage of the wonderful Bajan food they served. It was a little out of the way, but we had rented a car. The local bus stop is close by, and Oistins is only about a ten minute ride by bus.
This was the 17th. time we have been to Barbados, and our next trip to Barbados will certainly be spent at Round Rock.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

My family and I stayed at the round rock apts for a week in August. Everyone loved the spacious rooms and the peaceful, quiet surroundings.

It was well worth every penny. This will be a weekend relaxation spot for us from now on.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bajantrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2006

A friend and I took a short trip to Barbados and wanted to get plenty of rest before returning to the hustle and bustle of our respective lives. We decided to stay at a small place as we were on a budget and did not want stay in an area with lots of tourists. Round Rock Apartments on the Sea was perfect for us. We didn't leave the property for two days other than to go to a local store to buy provisions. The sound of the surf pounding against the rocks was quite soothing and we had a wonderful view of the ocean whether sitting on the veranda or on the sofa in our room. There is a small restaurant on the property with wonderful home cooked local dishes and a patio about 10 yards from the ocean where we sat for long periods counting surfacing turtles. The beach (much better for surfing and kite surfing than swimming) is less than 50 yards from the property.

The room was small, but comfortable. It came with basic cable television, twin beds, hair dryer, coffee pot, microwave, full-size refrigerator, and oven. There was a telephone with free local service in the hallway. This is a small family place and we were treated very well. The owners were very accommodating and successfully tried to meet all our needs.

Although the apartments are not on the beaten track, it is a short walk to local buses and the vans that serve as public transportation to other parts of the island. I believe that cars can be rented on the site, but since neither of us drive on the left side of the road, we didn't investigate that possibility.

If you are looking for a 5 star hotel with all of the amenities and want to enjoy Barbadian night life, this is not the place for you. As I've discovered in many guest houses, towels are provided, but you need to bring your own wash cloth and buy soap to replace the initial bar. If you want to see Barbados during the day, meet the local people, enjoy the surf, eat well and have a wonderful restful time, I highly recommend the Round Rock and plan to stay there whenever I return to Barbados.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank LuvTobago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IURII U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Super Samy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.1 mi away
Silver Point Hotel
Silver Point Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silver Sands
634 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#27 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
225 reviews
4 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,175 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
128 reviews
11.1 mi away
Angler Apartments
Angler Apartments
#23 of 27 in Saint James Parish
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Rock Apartments on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Rock Apartments on Sea

Address: Round Rock Road, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: $85 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Round Rock Apartments on Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Round Rock Apartments on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Rock Apartments On Sea Hotel Christ Church
Round Rock Apartments On Sea Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing