We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super fortnight”
Review of Pirate's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pirate's Inn
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super fortnight”
Reviewed December 11, 2009

We recently spent 2 weeks at Pirates Inn, and had a fantastic time.Decided to go there
after reading reviews on trip advisor and was not dissapointed.
As it has been said before it is in a great location with easy access to public transport
and to the boardwalk and Rockley beach.
It is a small hotel and everyone was very friendly. Very clean and well maintained.
If you want to do Barbados on a budget ,then this is the place for you. Well equipped
kitchen with supermarkets,resteraunts and bars near by.
We would definately return as it suited us perfectly
.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sheffieldglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    85
    28
    4
    7
See reviews for
38
110
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

I saw a Virgin advert earlier this year for Flight and Hotel, so we booked it. We have been to Barbados before so knew most places were of good standard. We could not be more pleased with this hotel. The location was brilliant, 5 min from a fantastic beach and just off a little side road, so it was lovely and peaceful. The hotel is quite small , basic but cosy. The room we had was on the 1st floor overlooking the pool , The room was spacey, clean and had a small gally kitchen, with a fridge/freezer, microwave, kettle, and toaster, everything you could need to prepare a small meal or chill your drinks as we did.

The cleaner cleaned the room each day, although the say they change sheets and towels twice weekly, we asked for new towels nearly every day!

We had 3 fans in our room, we did not need air con as the room was really cool, I was amazed. Air con is something you have to pay extra for.

We ate breakfast in the hotel most mornings, you can order what you want from the menu, so if you just want bacon and sausage , you just pay for that, its a good idea because they dont have too many places you can go for breakfast in the morning outside .

We are some snacks at the hotel , but we mostly ate out.

I would recommend Mama Mia Pizza its fantastic and Just Grillin, which is a bit like Nandos but soooo much better.

All in all we had brilliant time at the Pirates Inn, the staff were nice , like a previous post , they were not over friendly , esp at reception, but all in all they were fine.

We will def go back again next year, last year we stayed at a 4 star hotel close by, and this was so much better and so much cheeper.

Any questions please feel free to ask.

The hotel was safe, they give you a free mobile phone when you arrive which you can use to make emergency calls if you are out, or you can top it up and use it like a pay as you go whilst on the island.

Finally, security at the hotel is excellent, they lock the gates at 11pm, but the security gard is right there ( even at 4 am ) when you get back from a night out waiting with your key .

I would give pirates in 9/10 for everything and as for Barbados, its perfect, in fact i have been all over the west indies and Barbados is by far the best and safest of Islands , we have booked to go back next year.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jacquie_tolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2009

i love barbados. this little hotel is perfect for everyone. nice little pool and lovely people to run it.. trever is a star.. xxx i wanna go back now !!!!!!

Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cleptamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

This being my first holiday travelling alone I couldn't have chosen a better hotel. The staff are friendly and welcoming, and nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are spacious, well equipped and clean. It is close to all local amenities and a beautiful beach.
The nightlife is within a reasonable distance but not close enough to disturb a good nights sleep. Can't wait to go back in 2010.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bumble68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

The hotel seems to rely on repeat bookings to stay open my wife slipped and fell in the shower because the flooring tiles are so smooth and have no grip she damaged her back quite badley and spent two days going up and down to the local medical centre the pirates inn offered to take us to the medical centre in there taxi then charged us fifteen dollars we thought this was disgusting and would never stay there again and would not recommend staying at the pirates inn to anybody

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benson_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a week at the Pirates Inn. The hotel is small and cosy. A cheap and cheerful place which is very easy going. The rooms were nice, big and clean with excellent facilities for a self catered studio. The pool area and bar are also very nice, nothing extravagant just nice clean and quiet. The staff are quite helpful when asking for directions to somewhere or information about something but they aren't as friendly as some of the other reviews describe them.
We didn't feel a sense of a family run hotel which make you feel at home. Don't get me wrong the staff were polite and professional but not one big happy family as has been suggested previously. The staff will quite happily ignore you if you don't initiate interaction. This is obviously nice if you want to be left alone, but can be dissapointing if you expect to meet some friendly locals.
We ate in the restaurant a few times and found it always to be very tasty and of good value. There are plenty of places to eat just outside the hotel which range from KFC to fine dining on the beach so you have plenty of choice if you want to have a break from cooking. Barbados is expensive (even if you just want toast for breakfast) but at The Pirates Inn you can get 3 big american style pancakes and loads of syrup for about £2.
The hotel will also do currency exchange but we didn't need it as everywhere we went excepted US dollars and they always give the change in Bardados dollars, so we had enough for tipping or getting the bus around Barbados.
We took up the chance to get air con for $10 US a night - we had it on all night and loved coming back to our air conditioned room - I would recommend this if you are not used to hot stuffy nights. We also used the mosquito repellant device in the room, the refills for this are 25 barbados cents, and we used 1 a night and did notice a difference when we forgot to put it on before bed as we'd wake up with 4-5 bites each. Again I would recommend buying some of the refills from reception, it doesn't cost much and will mean you don't have to spend 2-3 days scratching.
The hotel is about 200 metres walk from the beach, and the coast line along the south side of the island is beautiful. It was generally quiet at this time of year so you were never hasseled on the beach and restaurants were easy to get into without booking.
I would recommend The Pirates Inn as a cheap and cheerful place to stay as a base. It did feel very secure and it was a nice quiet relaxing place to be. It is in a very good location and offers lots of little extras like free wifi and a great happy hour (where strong cocktails are less than £2). There isn't much to do at he actual hotel but there is plenty to do on your doorstep so it doesn't really matter.
All in all a great way to get to Barbados on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissHermione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2009

just returned yesterday,had to say what a brillint place to unwind.i really couldnt fault anything.rooms wre spotless and spacious.staff were really helpfull especially janet on the front desk who was a mine of imformation.we wre two women on our own and we felt totally secure as the gates were locked at night and a guard on duty.its in an excellent position with the beach at the end of the road and takeaways and restaurants all within walking distance.the only minus in the whole holiday was at the airport in arrivals apparently if you bring cigarettes in and they can see them they take them off you, so just put them in your bag!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garagegirlSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
0.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
2.7 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Worthing
513 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#27 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
216 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirate's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirate's Inn

Property: Pirate's Inn
Address: Browne's Gap, 15151, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pirate's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirate's Inn is an intimate, family-run apartment-hotel centrally located in the Hastings area, seven miles from the Airport and three miles from the capital Bridgetown. It is 100 metres from the Boardwalk which gives access to one mile of beautiful South Coast beach. 22 fully equipped studio apartments feature kitchenettes, en suite bathrooms, cable TV, phones, free wireless access and in-room safes. All rooms face onto the central pool. There is a Bar and Bistro on site with an all day menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pirate's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirate`s Hotel Christ Church
Pirates Hotel Christ Church
Pirates Inn Barbados
Pirate's Inn Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing