We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pirate's Inn Jan 27 - Feb 19, 2012”
Review of Pirate's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pirate's Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Flight

Originally, we had planned to go to Negril, Jamaica this year and we had our flights, seats and hotel reserved. After I had my Heart Attack in October, that totally changed our plans and we decided to go back to Barbados. It was more as a comfort thing, so when we rebooked our flights, seats and hotel it was impossible to get seats together. Actually, as it turned out, there were empty seats on the plane, so we did end up sitting together and with nobody beside us. Westjet charged us $150 a person for changing our flights which made it more expensive to fly this year. To confuse matters more I started on a Insulin Pump Jan 3rd and I have to give credit to Canada and Barbados Customs people, who were very understanding and didn’t give me a hassle, which made my trip less stressful.

Arriving in Barbados

We arrived a ½ hour early which was great and as usual there’s some paperwork to do before you land in Barbados. You get a form to fill out on the plane. Customs was quick and we picked up our suitcases and went outside to grab a taxi to Pirate’s Inn. It cost us 37 BDS plus tip to get to Pirates Inn.

Our Room

Check in was quick, we didn’t have to wait as Sarah took care of everything. They even had six cold ones waiting for us in the fridge as we had requested, knowing we would be arriving late. Our room was number 63 on the second floor overlooking the pool. The room was long and kind of narrow entering from the kitchen. It had a flat screen TV which you had to punch in the channel numbers instead of using the arrows on the remote to get certain channels. They did have a room safe which is always nice. The room had a bistro set on the balcony which we promptly moved into the room and moved the plastic patio chairs to the balcony (they need another table for the room).

The problem we had with the room was no hot water. Seems like a problem we always run into while in Barbados, but they did fix the problem the third day of our trip by turning on the heaters two hours earlier at 6:00 am.

The room was always kept immaculate by the Housekeeping staff. I have to give the hotel staff credit for one thing, if you had any problems with the room, burnt out light bulbs etc., they where there promptly to fix it.

Pirate’s Inn

Pirate’s Inn is a small complex consisting of 22 Apartments and Studios. The front staff, Janet, Sacha and manager Renée take great care of you. The cost for our room was $128 US a night tax included. They gave us one key which we dropped off at the front desk before we left the resort. They have a box behind the desk where you can leave your key and pick it up when you return. The resort a has a small pool, which was well kept, pretty busy most of the time and had enough sun loungers for everybody. The area surrounding the pool was cork type flooring which was nice to walk on. The restaurant is connected to the pool area and was staffed by Sarah, Pat, Tony and Ian. The restaurant food and service was great. While we were there, Friday nights were Pirates night, a fun night, put on by the Hotel to give their clients a change of pace. Happy Hour was of course a busy time happening every night from 6-7 pm. The area surrounding the pool and restaurant was always well kept.

Outings

The location of Pirate’s Inn is excellent as you are within walking distance to restaurants, Accra/Rockley Beach, convenience stores, banks and the South Coast Boardwalk.

We walked the Boardwalk and Accra/Rockley beach almost every day (3.5 miles). After our walk we would go back to the hotel pool for a rest and to keep cool in the afternoons.

We did go to Bridgetown twice for a quick tour and some shopping, where we also learned about Barbados bus system and the free market area around the terminal.

Restaurants

I ate all my breakfasts at the Pirates Inn, consisting of either cereal and a fruit bowl, poached or scramble eggs, toast and sometimes with chicken sausages. We also ate a lot of our suppers here. The food and variety was good.

We had supper three times at Blakey’s down the street. Sandy loved the Pizza, and the Pasta dishes were very good too.

Bert’s bar was also an establishment that we went to twice. We booked it for an Ottawa, Toronto game when we went for one of our walks, it can get quite crowded for the games. We arrived with me being all dressed in my Ottawa Senators garb for the big game. Too bad they lost.

We went to the gap once to eat at Cafe Sol. We had great seats in their new location overlooking the bay with a good possible view of the sunset but it was hindered because of the clouds. Food and the Banks were good.

We went to Tapas for a 6 o’clock setting for Sandy’s birthday. The place was nice with a great upstairs corner seating which was good for a few sunset pictures including one of a cruise line. The food and atmosphere was great. Also it didn’t hurt having two shooters delivered to us before we left. While we were leaving the establishment we were surprised as Steve, Pauline and a couple of their friends started singing Happy Birthday to Sandy.

Shakers Bar and Grill is a small restaurant down the road from Pirates Inn, which is a small husband and wife restaurant with good food and great staff. We met Pat and her husband Vincent for a nice supper, remember to make a reservation as it is small place.

Carib Beach Bar was kind of a stumble on. We originally went to Crystal Waters, but found it too busy and couldn’t find our friend that we were looking for, so we walked back up to the main road and saw a sign for Carib Beach Bar, so we went there for Happy Hour and supper. We will have to go back next year for sure.

Warning

Note of caution when travelling in Barbados, it is unfortunate but I had a Heart Attack (blocked stent operated on March 7, 2012) at the pool at Pirates Inn. The staff was fantastic, so professional and knew what to do. When the Ambulance arrived they were also very professional and reassuring. The problem was when we arrived at the QE Hospital, the Triage Nurse did not know what a stent was and also lost my blood from the Ambulance attendants. It took almost 12 hours to see a doctor. I watched the conditions some Bajans had to go through, 2-3 to a cubicle, sad. As it stands now the hospital does not accept insurance, but I hear there is a deal being arranged between Barbados, Canada the UK and US to allow for the use of insurance. Medical services are not expensive in Barbados the total came to $402.51 Canadian Dollars, I guess you get what you pay for.

Flight Home

We left the room at 6 am and headed straight for the airport as we had paid for everything the night before. Ian the bartender, handyman and taxi driver (Mr. Do IT All), drove us. The stores were open for the final souvenir shopping. There was not much in the way of food kiosks open but we were able to buy a couple of muffins and water.

This was our first time with connecting flights in Toronto, so knowing that we might not leave on time in Barbados we were a bit nervous, but everything went fine. When we landed in Toronto we rushed to get our suitcases to put my rum and Banks beer in for our connecting flight to Ottawa. We had time to kill before our next flight so we stopped at an Irish bar in the departure area for a cold one.

Final Statement

Considering what we went through this year and last year in Barbados, we will be going back to Barbados next year, hopefully with me in better shape than this year and hopefully no problems next year. We will be staying at Pirate’s Inn again because of the good location and friendly staff. I don’t know if we will be flying Westjet again as their flight times are terrible. We will have to look into Air Canada or some other airline.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Will-Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 214 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was our second stay there. We spent nine days there this time. We had a pool-side suite with patio. All was very clean, and the house-cleaning staff did an excellent job. We mainly self-catered for breakfast and ate out for lunch and supper. It was good to see the pool cleaned every day. There was a variety of birds that they allowed us to feed - including a rare humming bird, yellow breasted birds, wood-peckers, and numerous others. In the evening we frequently saw bats from the local swamps. The Inn is near the main road between St. Lawrence gap and Bridgetown. This meant $2 (BD) / $1 (USD) bus rides were frequent and convenient. The bar staff were pleasant and there was a useful 'happy hour' between 6 and 7pm.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a patio room on the ground floor facing the pool. Cheaper if booked direct with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is a 2 star Inn and that is reflected in some of the standards and what you pay the value is very good.This is a great little Inn with many repeat guests and well deserves the comments. I can't add much other than to agree with the positive reviews. I will say that the small Restaurant serves lovely meals breakfast, lunch and dinner with the tables set with candels in the evening. Everything you need is within a short walk and the hastings board walk is just across the road. The small pool is in the sunshine most of the day and is cleaned daily.The rooms are a good size and adequate self catering amenities are provided.

Room Tip: Coose a room with garden terrace or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank waterbabyStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Spent three days at Pirate's Inn, Christ Church, Barbados. The hotel is located conveniently near to a gorgeous beach, restaurants and a couple of mini-malls. The apartment (69) was very clean and well equipped with kitchen utensils. Members of the staff were also VERY polite, friendly and helpful.

However, some maintenance is needed because the air conditioner leaked at least twice, the kitchen pipes were a bit loose and the vanity in the bathroom could use a little refurbishment.

All in all, I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Select a room with a balcony or terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank koylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

My Wife an I stayed here for our honeymoon 5 years ago and was so impressed by the warmth of the staff and the perfect location and accommodation that we returned September 2011. Again we enjoyed our stay, Thank you Renee (Manager) Pirates Inn is about 8-10 minutes from the city and is located in the center of Barbados' Tourist district. There are malls and restaurants right around, the beach is across the street, it's just lovely.

Jason and Shirnette, Trinidad

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jasoncrcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Just arrived back from a stay at the pirates inn barbados! Check in was smooth, and we were shown to our room, the room contained a large bed, spacious bathroom and a small but handy kitchenette! The first night the room was roasting, all though we had the 2 fans provided in the room on at the fullest! When the heat was too much to handle we gave in and walked over to reception to get the remote for air conditioning, there was a charge for the air conditioning of 20 bbs$ per night but it was well worth paying the extra! The reception staff were always very helpful with any enquiries, and there was someone there at all hours to help with any problems/enquiries. they would also go out if there way to get the information you wanted! (my partner wanted to know whether the united match was on tv and been shown anywhere, Sasha behind reception looked in to this for us, and 10 minutes later rang our room to tell us the channel, time and where we could watch it!) I cant really comment on the food at the hotel as we never ate there!

There is a KFC 2 minute walk from the hotel, and thats where we ended up for food most lunch times. For our evening meals we mainly ate at Bubbas sports bar and restraunt bout 5 mins walk, food was reasonalbly priced and staff there were also pleasant (infact all the locals seemed really friendly all saying hello as they walk past)! They also show most uk football matches, along with many other sports (mainly american sports) Would recommend trying this place for lunch or dinner especially the bubba burger with cheese and bacon.

We realised Barbados wasnt really the place for us, but if we were to return would definatly stay in the pirates inn again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheeky-monkey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

the pirates inn, brownes gap road, hastings, barbados is an intimate, although a bit old, 20-odd room self contained motel which strikes you as "home" as soon as you step inside. the staff are welcoming, friendly and appear genuinely happy to be of assistance in every way. the rooms are well appointed and make it easy to live as you want. the restaurant, although marginally limited in choice, has enough really good food to keep you happy. the bar is exceptionally well staffed and stocked and it is right next to the pool. it is also about twenty steps from most rooms. the rates are good,eg, $US92 per night got us a great air conditioned room, all the facilities you need for self catering, and generous full hot breakfast each day. the manager renee, staff tony, sarah, ian and patricia are beyond description with their care for you and the rest of the staff whose names i did not get are equally good. after a day there i declared that in all my extensive and frequent world travels, i had never felt more welcome, comfortable, safe and content than at the pirate's inn, barbados

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brianswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
0.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
2.1 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
625 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirate's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirate's Inn

Address: Browne's Gap, 15151, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: $80 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pirate's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirate's Inn is an intimate, family-run apartment-hotel centrally located in the Hastings area, seven miles from the Airport and three miles from the capital Bridgetown. It is 100 metres from the Boardwalk which gives access to one mile of beautiful South Coast beach. 22 fully equipped studio apartments feature kitchenettes, en suite bathrooms, cable TV, phones, free wireless access and in-room safes. All rooms face onto the central pool. There is a Bar and Bistro on site with an all day menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pirate's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirate`s Hotel Christ Church
Pirates Hotel Christ Church
Pirates Inn Barbados
Pirate's Inn Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing