We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.....Great staff.....Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monteray Apartment Hotel
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great location.....Great staff.....Great value”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

My family has been coming here for seven years. Its like home away from home. My grand children are three, eight, and eleven and they love it here,and everyone loves them. The location is great , the people are great and the price is rigfht. Try it.....you'll like it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiley316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    25
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
19
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse,N.Y. USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

The Monteray represents a great value for your vacation $.Staff( Hi Hettie) is very friendly and attentive.Rooms are clean and comfortable,albeit somewhat dated.Not the Hyatt,but who cares?We didn't travel to Barbados to stay in the room.Which brings up location;the Monteray is situated as to allow visitors to experience life as a"local" or a tourist.A short walk away is the "tourist" area,where you can spend twice as much for your food and favorite adult beverage.Across the street,where the quite friendly and"colorful"locals hang out is the place to enjoy the real Barbados life.EXCELLENT local food and drink at very reasonable prices.On more than one occasion,my wife and I found one meal to be sufficient for both. One word of caution: the Gap Bar next door likes to play music loud at night(Not a problem if you're under 30) and you may need to close hotel windows and use the A/C for a peaceful nights rest.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rudddrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2011

This warm and friendly hotel offers unforgettable experience .The greatest advantage is the relaxed environment and the feeling that you are with family .The garden and pool are maintained in an impeccable manner. The Monteray staff are very friendly,efficient and loyal which results in an endearing relationship with staff.The beach is in close proximity, walking across the street. Dollar value is exceptional which has led me to repeated visits (ten years in a row ).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hambone39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Monteray Apartment Hotel last month and we had a nice experience. The place certainly isn't anything fancy, but its a solid value for the price, and it was nice to have a kitchen - we only used it for breakfast, but still, it was a good way to save a couple bucks.

The hotel has a good location - towards the end of the Gap, so its not too loud, and its a minute or two walk from a nice beach. One of the cool features of the beach is that a boat called the Cliff Sharker offers a 'swimming with turtles' boat ride right from the beach. We went them and had a great experience - Charles and Mary were great, we got plenty of quality time with the turtles, and Mary had an underwater camera, so she took pictures of us having fun and then she shared them with us on facebook that night. I thought that was extremely crafty! I'd definitely recommend their tour - if you're interested,look for Charles and Mary on the beach - they wear Cliff Sharker t-shirts.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg.mb
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2010

I have visited Barbados many times and the Monteray Hotel is my favorite. Close to the beach, the maids and staff are very accomodating.

I am ready for my next vacation.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceebee80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2010

I stayed at Monteray for a weekend getaway with some dear friends. The hotel was value for money and made the stay in Barbados most comfortable. The rooms were clean, the furniture was tidy, the grounds were well kept and the pool added to the experience. The hotel was within walking distance of the beach and a great variety food. I could not have asked for anything better...good friends, good food, good fun!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Le0_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

This was first trip to Barbados and I definitely return AND stay at the Monterey! ...and recommend to all family and friends. This trip was for my older sister's birthday, the group had 3 generations: parents, my niece, friends from secondary school and college....we all had a blast! The staff was friendly, even taking time to play with the kids! We stayed at the 3 bedroom apartment which was everything you could ask for on a vacation, with patio and backyard, parking, and separate entrance! There is a great pool for an early morning swim and we were literally across the street from the beach, walking distance from 'the gap' which had the world's variety in food choices in every price range!
This is a first rate hotel choice, excellent location, and great amenities!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosiAlfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
0.5 mi away
Melbourne Inn
Melbourne Inn
#32 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
54 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
South Gap Hotel
South Gap Hotel
#6 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#28 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
638 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
#23 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteray Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteray Apartment Hotel

Property: Monteray Apartment Hotel
Address: St. Lawrence Gap, BB15023, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteray Apartment Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Monteray Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteray Apartment Hotel Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing