We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monteray Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monteray Apartment Hotel
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

monteray is a wonderful space. it is extremely quaint and the entire staff is welcoming and polite. i have been going to barbados for many years and always stay at the monteray. it is close to everything, but specifically located enough that the noise from st. lawrence gap is minimal. yet, it is 15 minute walk to bars and clubs in the gap and a 6 - 7 minute walk to the beach. i love that the rooms are equipped with all the amenities of home (refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, stove, utensils and dishes - all especially useful since i have kids.) i'd say if you want a wonderful barbados experience, at a reasonable price, call the monteray. ms ambrose, ms antonio and wendy will be more than welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eric a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    25
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
19
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

They staff at the Monteray Hotel stole my Bags, money Passport from out of my room. Do Not Stay There!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lastofthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego Martin, Trinidad
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

I went to Barbados on vacation for a 5-day stay around the Easter weekend. I totally enjoyed my stay at the Monteray Apartment Hotel. It is cheaper than many other St Lawrence Gap Hotels, but of a good standard. Rooms are a good size, clean, comfortable and cozy. A kitchenette is available for cooking if desired and the hotel pool is very nice. I didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, but either ate out (because I wanted to experience other places) or prepared my own meals. The staff are all very nice and helpful......Mrs Antonio went out of her way to drop us to church on Easter Sunday morning and ensured we got back to the hotel OK.

Dover Beach is very beautiful and just across the street from the hotel. The area is also safe so you could walk to the various restaurants etc close by in the St Lawrence gap. Public Transport if required is a 5-minute walk to the main road. It is safe to walk around during the day and evening, but I would recommend calling a taxi if late at night.

The only slightly negative thing is that the area can be a bit noisy at nights......there's a lot of live entertainment etc in the St Lawrence Gap, so sometimes the noise from the neighbouring bars would awaken me.

That said, the Monteray is a great place and I would not only stay there again but recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fran_J68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

the reception staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help you.with any activities and sightseeing that you would like to do.The house keepers have very bubbly personalities and are very friendly,they keep the rooms tidy and even helped with cooking our tuna we caught on a fishing trip.The rooms are spacious and cool air breezes in,we like being very close to local amenities ,shops,nightlife and beaches.we liked watching thelocal cricket matches which is just a few minutes walk from the apartment.the pool was very clean and refreshing .I have been staying at the monteray for a number of years and going again this year.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david_keeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

Fantastic value for the price!!!! This small apartment hotel is a rare refreshing find in an area that is becoming increasingly inundated with expensive massive hotels and condosl. The Monteray Apartment Hotel is conveniently located near grocery stores, restaurants and an abundant night life. All their one bedroom and studio apartments are bright & large and have good size kitchenettes & balconies. All the staff are super friendly and have been there for years. There is a nice pool (with no one in it when we were there) where you can just sit around, read and relax. Most of the guests are older and repeat customers who book their spots a year in advance so you know it's a nice quiet place to enjoy chilling out. I think one of the best features of the Monteray is that it is situated right across the street from magnificent Dover beach!!! I highly recommend this well priced efficient accommodation to anyone who is looking for good value.

Looking very forward to our next visit!!!

Joyce and Bill
Montreal, Quebec, Canada

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coldweatherescapees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

My family has been coming here for seven years. Its like home away from home. My grand children are three, eight, and eleven and they love it here,and everyone loves them. The location is great , the people are great and the price is rigfht. Try it.....you'll like it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wiley316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse,N.Y. USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

The Monteray represents a great value for your vacation $.Staff( Hi Hettie) is very friendly and attentive.Rooms are clean and comfortable,albeit somewhat dated.Not the Hyatt,but who cares?We didn't travel to Barbados to stay in the room.Which brings up location;the Monteray is situated as to allow visitors to experience life as a"local" or a tourist.A short walk away is the "tourist" area,where you can spend twice as much for your food and favorite adult beverage.Across the street,where the quite friendly and"colorful"locals hang out is the place to enjoy the real Barbados life.EXCELLENT local food and drink at very reasonable prices.On more than one occasion,my wife and I found one meal to be sufficient for both. One word of caution: the Gap Bar next door likes to play music loud at night(Not a problem if you're under 30) and you may need to close hotel windows and use the A/C for a peaceful nights rest.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rudddrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
0.5 mi away
Melbourne Inn
Melbourne Inn
#33 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
South Gap Hotel
South Gap Hotel
#6 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sunbay Hotel
Sunbay Hotel
#43 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Horizon
Blue Horizon
#29 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#26 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteray Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteray Apartment Hotel

Property: Monteray Apartment Hotel
Address: St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteray Apartment Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Monteray Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteray Apartment Hotel Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing