We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best All in One Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2010

I returned to Barbados with a husband and three month year old baby in tow and it was a good call to do so! The hotel provided us with a babysitter when needed (24 hours notice), had spa services, was at the beachfront and had a lot of swimming options, including one child's pool, two adult pools and, in front of our studio, our very own plunge pool. The hotel also had an on site restaurant that served good (if expensive) food. It was perfect for late mornings and when the weather was bad, which was not often. All in all a really good trip!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoneWith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,993)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,420 - 1,426 of 1,993 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2010

I stayed at Bougainvillea for 5 nights on a recent trip to Barbados. I chose the hotel very carefully, pouring over Tripadvisor reviews, photos and message boards. I am happy to say that the reviews of this hotel are, for the most part, spot on! We had an excellent stay here, and I would definitely recommend this hotel to those looking for a low-key stay in a true, West Indies style hotel with friendly service.

Rooms
Our room was clean, comfortable and of ample size. It had a nice balcony, small kitchen and good sized refrigerator. The bed was not as comfortable as I would have liked, but the down pillows were fluffy and made up for this. The bathroom, although clean and sized nicely, could use updating. Overall, the rooms were more than adequate and a good value for the price paid.

Beach
The beach is the highlight of the resort and a beautiful sight to behold upon arrival. This self-confessed beach snob had an immediate ear-to-ear grin on first glimpse of this beach. The fluffy white sand sparkles beautifully against the clear, turquoise waters. The beach has a sandy bottom and is free of sea grass (this combo makes for great swimming but no snorkeling). The waves are gentle and relaxing once you get past the easy break. The water sports staff is friendly and helpful and always around to dole out umbrellas if you need more shade. The one small negative is the beach vendors. Most were pleasant and accepted “no” for an answer, but there were one or two that severely encroached on our personal space. I alerted Bougainvillea security to this, and they took it very seriously. Overall, the vendor situation isn’t bad at all, especially compared to other islands. There were maybe 5-10 vendors on the beach per day. And actually, I got a very nice, custom made cuff bracelet which was sized to my wrist from a very cool jewelry vendor/artist on the beach.

Service
The service at the resort is friendly, professional and attentive. It is obvious that the resort places a high priority on customer service, and it shows from the front desk to the restaurant to the valets to the water sports team. I’ve travelled all over the Caribbean and understand the concept of “island time”, yet I didn’t really see this phenomenon reflected in the service at Bougainvillea, except a few instances at the restaurant.

Hotel Grounds
The hotel lobby has a distinct, open-air West Indies architecture. Immediately past the lobby, a winding path leads you to tropical-style pool area. Being a beach lover, I’m usually not one to get too excited about the pool area at a hotel, but the pool grounds at Bougainvillea are an exception. Winding paths, flora and fauna, waterfalls, swim up bars, free flowing rum drinks and gorgeous ocean views – why wouldn’t I want to hang out here? There is no excessive luxury in evidence here. What you will find is an intimate, relaxed, friendly vibe that is sure to make you forget the stresses of New York or London life.

Food
I found that the food was really hit or miss. Some dishes were a hit, and others left something to be desired. The hotel’s Italian restaurant was closed, so Lanterns was the only choice. The buffet breakfast was terrible. I wish I had better things to report, but there was really nothing redeeming about the breakfasts. We had better luck at lunch, but I still wasn’t really impressed. We quickly realized that we needed to go out to The Gap or the West Coast for good food. The hotel will deliver groceries to your room, so we promptly took advantage of this service and made our own breakfasts. The service at the restaurant was good.

I would definitely recommend Bougainvillea to those looking for a low-key, intimate resort on an amazing beach. The overall value is excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv4travelNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

This beach resort is everything and more. Excellent value for money, and the service is exceptional. I visited with my family, husband and daughter and my sister's family as well. We were very comfortable in the rooms provided. We stayed in the 1 bed penthouse, and it was more than sufficient. The hotel's Italian restaurant isn't very good though, but that's the only negative to the place. Would definitely recommend it to any young families.....great location as well! :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Nice hotel, nice rooms, couple of problems with AC, old machines ( which is very important in this very hot climate).
The food not so good, same breakfast every day, canned beans and scrambled eggs.
A la carte it is very expensive (much more than in London or Geneva !) with poor quality
Good point is that is a BBQ grill and you can buy from the fish market cheap and frresh fish and grill it in the resort for free. This operation with side dishes included gets you a cheaper cost 6-7 times lower than you are eating in any restaurant on the island
.Everything on the island is expensive and poor quality and there are only few ,,attractions'' to see.
You might say that you do not need them and stay on the beach...but it is not like this because the continuous heat (day-night) due to 90-95% humidity it is not comfortable.
Going to Barbados you think that you receive high quality services.........but....not true.
Beach & Sea are really beautifull and the hotel is placed in a really nice area
OK for kids, swimingpool available
Starting with 18.30 ( when the night is comming) untill morning you have to get use with the noisy crickets
Due to AC problems we have received complementary service room untill 18.00 hours in the last day which was very nice.
Bottom line....we have expected that Barbados to be a good quality place where to spend a holliday but it is not like this. Probably other readers will not agree with our thoughts probably others will strongly agree with us.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simple68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks for our honeymoon in July-August 2010. The hotel is just a 10 minute drive from the airport. We were greated by a young lad called Kherrie who tool our suitcases to our room on the fourth floor.

We had a deluze studio which had everything we needed, including the good old A/C. (Room 5-419). The balcony was bigger than expected with fantastic vioews over the pool and out onto the beach. The only criticism of the room is that the kitchen area isn;t very large so would be an issue if you wanted to cook anything more than a simple breakfast.

The hotel staff were fantastic (apart from the woman in the shop in the hotel "La Tienda" which sells the usual tourist crap- think she dropped out of charm school).

The internet facilities are good (modern, fast computers), the games room could be a bit better (very basic). The main pool is busy with kids in holiday season with their inflatables as it's only 1.4m deep, but there's a second pool which goes up to 1.9m and is better for adults.

The beach is lovely and clean. The two restaurants are nice but very expensive. You're much better going to the Gap (St Lawrence Gap) or Oistins. Service can seem a little slow but everything out here runs to a much slower pace (they call it 'Bajan time!) The hotel has lovely cocktail nights and traditional dinner and dance nights where you do get much better value for money on the food ($65BDS per person for 3 courses) which are nice treats.

Our housekeeper was fantastic. She always managed to clean our room when we had popped out for half an hour!

Overall highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baffers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BougainvilleaResort, Manager at Bougainvillea Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2010

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and recommendation. We appreciate you choosing Bougainvillea for your honeymoon and taking the time to share your views.
However, we are concerned about your experience at La Tienda, as from what was mentioned, it is not in-keeping with the usual feedback we receive. If there was a shortfall, please accept our apologies and we would be very grateful if you would contact us directly to let us know what occurred. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I have never been back to the same place twice, however the Bougainvillea is an exception, we have been back 4 times in the last 18 months.
The staff are all wonderful and friendly, nothing is ever too much trouble, each time we have been we have had a lovely room with sea views. The rooms could be described as a little tired however they are spotlessly clean, the linen and towels, are wonderfuly white which always impresses a clean freak like myself. The grounds of the hotel are also very nicely kept and very well maintained. The Lantern restaurant is perfect for lunch, we have never had dinner there as we do like to try different places.
The first 3 times we went it was just myself and my husband, this time we took his 12 year old daughter, we were a little worried she would find it boring as we do just like to chill out and relax (Barbados is the perfect place do do that) however she loved it, there are lots of watersports on offer, plus the 3 lovely pools and the perfect beach.
One of the previous reviews said it was down a scruffy little road, that really is not true it is tucked away at the end of a small road which is perfect as there is no noise from the road or bars, restaurants e.t.c It is close enough to St Lawerence Gap where there are plenty of nice restaurants, there are always taxi's outside the hotel which aren't expensive. I fail to see how anyone can give this hotel a bad review, i think visiting 4 times in 18 months speaks for itself. If you visit the Bougainvillea you really will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoelou1138966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

My fiance and I travelled to Barbados for the first time in April of this year (for our wedding and honeymoon), and had chosen the Bougainvillea due to the good reviews and beautiful photos. We were far from disappointed!

From the moment we were greeted at the airport to the moment we left, we felt as if we were staying with friends. Every member of staff was SO friendly and happy!

Everything was just pure perfection! Jamilya, the wedding co-ordinator, was fantastic - nothing was too much trouble. The wedding was exactly what we had wanted! The photographer was brilliant - we had such a laugh with him so the photos are superb, and very natural.

We stayed for a further week, for our honeymoon. We were staying in the honeymoon suite for our whole stay which was so romantic with it's four poster bed, lovely balcony and private decking area. When we returned to the room after going out to Champers Restaurant on the evening of the wedding, we found our room had been decorated with balloons and streamers, and a present and card were waiting for us, A few days later, we received a further card and present - hoping we were enjoying our honeymoon. They certainly know how to make a couple feel special!

Definitely get down to Pablo Donte bar at the end of the road - their cocktails are cheap yet lethal! Also, make sure you visit McBrides in St Lawrence Gap where you can easily get hooked on their rum and cokes (especially when they are on offer - buy one get one free!). The bar staff are real entertainers too.

I cannot rave enough about this hotel, the staff, the beach, the location - everything really. We are hoping to go back as often as we can as it's just gorgeous.

If you are considering getting married and/or having your honeymoon here I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Your day WILL be perfect!

Top tip - you MUST go to Oistens on Friday night for the fish fry. The food is fantastic, the locals are so friendly and the atmosphere is amazing - I can't begin to describe it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneKYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
353 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,090 reviews
2.9 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#6 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#8 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: $197 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing