We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love Bougainvillea!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We love Bougainvillea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2007

We love Bougainvillea! Great beach, great location, great staff, great rooms! When we visit Barbados we always stay at Bougainvillea. We've stayed in a Penthouse, a one bedroom delux and a studio delux...depending on what they had available. All the rooms are nice and well appointed. This resort is small but it has everything we need including a small but decent gym. We are an active couple in our early 50's. We always rent a car and explore the island restaurants, beaches, nightlife, etc. The Gap is still the place to go at night... lots of locals and tourists out and about. We also ventured to Holetown and had great fun at the new piano bar one evening. Champers restaurant has a new and even better location for seaside dining and the food is as good as the Cliff but not as expensive, It's our favorite!. The best way to spend a Sunday is to drive over to Bathsheba, Eat lunch at the Roundhouse and listen to Aubrey Cummings play guitar and sing. He is a wonderful musician with a supurb voice and keeps us coming back every time. If you need to keep in touch back home there is a shopping center accross from the Accra hotel with a great coffee shop and a internet cafe called Picasso's. They have the best rates and you can even call the states for a dollar per minute. The guy that runs it is super nice from Montreal. He also serves breakfast. All in all , Babados is a wonderful island with great people. Don't forget Oistins fish fry on Friday nights. They moved the location temporarily while making improvements. The original spot is better and I look forward to them moving it back. There is much construction on the island due to the Crickett World Cup coming which was a little disappointing but it should be done soon.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank Paula&Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    627
    141
    32
    27
See reviews for
578
923
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2007

We returned from The Bougainvillea on the 17th Feb, and can honestly say, that from a family point of view, the hotel was wonderful and the 1 bed suite is well worth booking. Our girls, aged 7 and 3 loved the kids club (note that a min of 2 children is needed for it to run) and I felt wonderfully safe on my own whilst hubby off diving near Bridgetown. Our patio had a little tub at the end of it that during the day bubbled and became a waterfall into the pool, and you were never more than a couple of mins from the beach. The building work next door really is very quiet and nearing completion, and whilst our room was over the laundry, we never heard any machine noise or were disturbed.

The Gap is not really worth walking with kids in our opinion (can't speak for nightime but in the day we found it disappointing), however the Italian restaurant at the start of the Gap (Bellini's) is superb - do not miss this venue!! Also worth lunch out one day is Mannie's Suga Suga just for the location - gorgeous fish sandwiches and right on the beach (near Speightstown). Holetown is well worth a visit and very pretty. Lots of shops here and very colourful. We tended to have lots of taxis around the island and ate at Just Grillin' at Quayside (Rockley) and Bubba's Sports Bar which the kids loved - or was that just because the staff gave them crayons and paper and superb burgers......?!

It was our first stay on Barbados and definitely wont be the last!! Do have an island tour - you can hire a taxi for the day - $60BDS per hour for 6 hours then free or thereabouts if you want to be longer at anywhere, no problem!!! Taxi drivers are very friendly and obliging.

The only downside to our stay was we never saw the Virgin rep on the hotel site and they owed us a taxi fare from the airport to the hotel when we arrived as the bus had broken down, but it worked out cheaper the hotel or us organising things ourselves.

If you want to self cater at the Bougainvillea, you can and in the 1 bed appt there's a proper kitchen with large cooker. There is a small little shop a couple of mins down the road (you won't miss it, it's painted yellow), or a supermarket at Quayside which was between $10-15BDS to get to.

We have had the most wonderful holiday - thanks to all at the Bougainvillea. From the moment you arrive at the open air reception desk and see the view, you won't be disappointed!! The children declared "they wanted to live there forever"!!

Enjoy your stay - we're jealous!!!

  • Liked — Friendly staff, great accommodation, wonderful setting!
  • Disliked — Nothing springs to mind!
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank A_Derbyshire_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2007

We just loved, loved loved this hotel. I had last stayed there about 7 years ago when I was single. I worked in the travel industry for 15 years and as such have stayed in Barbados about 40 times , from Sandy Lane to the Ross Trevor and I have to say that the Bougainvillea is outstanding value for money.

This has to do mainly with the delightful staff (Michelle, Jameira, Kim, Desirey,Ray and Marguerite) as well as the excellent accomodations which are large and have fantastic views.

We had the two bedroom deluxe beach view with 4 large balconies, a pull out couch in the living room, 3 toilets/2 shower/2 bath one of which was jacuzzi tub in one of the bedrooms which was perfect for the kids bathtime!

There were some minor things that I would change (the beds are not super comfortable, the water pressure could be better and I am not a fan of "dispenser soap shampoo") but it really was a brilliant holiday for our two children and nanny.

We also like the type of clientele who stayed there-very down to earth Canadians and Brits who were friendly without being too in your face. To be honest, at some resorts you have to work too hard to be on vacation (at Sandy Lane and The Crane Handbags At Dawn types reign supreme) and other resorts have too much "organisation" ("No, I really don't want to join in on the beach limbo, thanks, I think I already mentioned that half an hour ago").

We considered staying at Port St Charles for our upcoming Christmas holidays and while the accommodations are splendid and front of house seemed very warm, the guests and owners staying there were aloof and did not seem to really being enjoying the luxurious surroundings. Of course PSC is also quite out of the way and about 4 times the price and perhaps if you want to spend that kind of money you don't want to seem like you are enjoying it! While we may be able to afford that kind of holiday, it is not interesting to us at all. I'd rather spend the savings on a couple more weeks at the Bougainvellia!

The food service in Lanterns is a bit on the slow side but friendly and helpful and I think you come to expect that "no rush" feeling in the Caribbean .All in all in compared favourably with similar priced restaurants on the island. We went to Josefs (terrible sommelier) South Sea-outstanding food service and excellent wine list, Harrlequin-charming staff, average food, nice ambiance , Cocomos, great location, fun staff, good food, average service and of course the Ship Inn-terrible service, rubbish food, but you should not go for either of those, but rather the fun dancing and bands later in the night!

Maggie the manager alway greeted me by name, something in my experience that only comes when you've either registered a complaint-which we didn't -or you have great people skills-which she did.
On our last day (Valentines Day) we were presented with a bottle of bubbly as the staff had found out it was also our anniversary.a nice touch.

If hiring a driver from the hotel I would recommend Eddie as his car is clean has seatbelts and he turns on the air! Another good one is David. I would skip Suzanne though, as she had us out for a day on the West Coast and left us stranded-when I called her to ask where she was she gave a real whopper of a story and we had to find our own way back. Not reliable at all.

We will be back!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
14 Thank indytravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2007

Let me first start by saying the Bougainvillea was not our first choice when we decided to go to Barbados, but after this trip, the Bougainvillea will be the ONLY hotel we stay at when we visit Barbados!

My husband and I have an RCI membership and last Feb we saw a week at the luxurious Crane Resort in a one bedroom, 1100 sq ft apartment was available. Naturally we jumped on it and for the next 11 months we dreamed about staying at the same resort as many celebrities do and lounging on the world famous Crane Beach. Three days before our departure, RCI called and said The Crane declined our reservation because, according to them, the owner of the apartment didn't pay their maintenance fees, thus locking us out. RCI did their best to fight for us, but in the end the only thing they could do was put us in a studio at the Bougainvillea. I was devestated and cried for three days straight. I was very close to just cancelling the whole trip all together. Boy am I glad I didn't!

We rented a car from Stoutes Car Rental (highly recommend them) and drove to the hotel. It was a little difficult finding the hotel, as the streets are not really named and signs were difficult to spot! The hotel is tucked in off the main drag, on a back road. The reception area is very nice, all open-air and very clean. Vicky, who checked us in, was upset over the treatment we received from The Crane, said it should never have happened and actually went out of her way to see if she could upgrade us to a one bedroom - which she was able to do two days later. Our ground floor studio was nice...small...but nice. The queen bed was actually hidden behind some closet doors, which was nice to have the separation. The kitchen was tiny and located in the "hallway" that connected the living area with the front door. The bathroom had a toilet and stand alone shower(no tub) and there was a separate vanity area with sink, mirror and a wall with cubes to store your clothes and items. Our porch was awesome as we were only 10 steps away from the beach. Despite the short distance, it was quiet, except for the waves crashing. The top floor one bedroom room we had was SUPERB!!! Lots of room, a full deck that extended the full length of the room and a view of the beach, which was less than a minute walk away. The living room was very spacious, the bathroom was large, but still no tub. Our bedroom had a king bed and full length closet with a ton of storage space. Air conditioning units were in the bedroom and the living room. (note: both of our units were located in the old Sand Acres Hotel, which the Bougainvillea now owns)

We had dinner at both restaurants on site and the food was good and basically the same price as the restaurants down in the Gap, which is only a short five minute drive away! We also ordered food twice from Lanterns to take back to our room, which is a nice feature. We had a couple drinks at the pool bar, but never actually got in the pool! It was so much more relaxing to lay out on the beach. Never had any issues finding a lounge chair, but I do wish they served drinks down on the beach (not a huge deal though!)! The ocean there is rough - my husband had fun jumping the waves with the other "boys!" Once you got past the rough crestline, the water was pretty calm and you could easily stay out there all day just floating and swimming.

The Bougainvillea was SO clean! Everywhere I turned a staff member was cleaning - there were even two men who were cleaning the bugs out of the hanging lights in the reception area! The grounds are beautiful and very family-friendly or couple-friendly!

Just to reassure ourselves, we did have lunch one day at The Crane. We took a tour of the one bedroom apartment we should have stayed in -while the accommodations were very luxurious and five star, the service was not! The lady who gave us the tour, never apologized for what happened to us and gave us the impression she didn't really care - she was more interested in telling us all the stars for that week's Jazz Festival stayed there and she was the personal assistant for one of them. (We truly believe our reservation was cancelled because they received a reservation from someone, well-known, who needed the room during the festival, but that is our opinion). To get to the beach you needed to walk through the restaurant and down all those rickety stairs and it easily would have taken you five minutes or more to get down there from your room. The new pool area is definitely beautiful, but again, would take you some significant time to get down there. We are accustomed to staying in four-five star resorts/hotels, but we will never stay at The Crane. While the accommodations at the Bougainvillea are not five star, the service, location and people make it a SIX STAR resort!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
27 Thank badney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2007

Our first trip was August 2005. We fell in love with the hotel, the people and the island. We returned for a second visit in April 2006 where we got married.
The hotel was everything we expected it to be and more. We stayed in a 1 bed as it had a seperate bedroom with a bed settee in the lounge. The rooms are very clean and spacious. There were little touches like flowers in the bathroom and bedroom on arrival. The bedrooms have plenty of wardrobe space and ample draws. The kitchen is very well equipt containing a full oven!! Everything you could think you need in a hotel you have at the Bougainvillia. The bathrooms are a generous size with plenty of fluffy towels replaced daily.

The staff are courtous and very helpful, especially Kim. Everyone at the hotel went above the call of duty which is a lovely touch. The pools were cleaned daily and were never overcrowded. The hotel had a kids club which my 7 and 11 year old enjoyed most days. It is very reasonable and includes lunch!!
The two restaurants on site are very nice. Lanterns we ate at mostly. It serves a lovely breakfast buffett of hot and cold food plus continential. There were daily specials at lunchtime where you could eat in or have takeaway. I found this most usefull as young children do not want to eat in a restaurant when they are having fun. Evening meals were lovely, candles on the tables, beach next to you hearing the waves crash all around you ......Heaven.
Our wedding day was ab fab. The hotel were stars and I couldnt have asked for a nicer venue or more helpful staff. They arranged everything from the service to the food and decoration. The hotel mads sure we had a day to remember.
The hotel also arranged a babysitter on 3 occassions. The babysitter generally is a member of staffs daughter which we were very pleased with.

The hotel is centrally located for nightlife and restaurants. There are plenty of taxi's waiting in the hotel reception. The Gap is a 5 minuite taxi ride where you will find dozens of restaurants to suit any budget of taste. We would highly recommend The restaurant at South Sea. What an experience of a lifetime. The service is second to none and the food out of this world.
I would recommend having an Island tour. Outside the hotel there will be a gentleman called Livingstone. He has an a/c Jeep which is very comfortable. We have been on the trip with him on the two trips. He is very reasonable and makes the day.
I will hopefully be returning to the Bougainvillia next year for the third time as I would not like to stay anywhere else!!!!!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
28 Thank JoPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2007

The Bougainvillea Resort was wonderful. My boyfriend and myself have never stayed at such a beautiful and well-kept resort. The service was impeccable, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The staff were very friendly and we felt safe throughout our entire vacation. The food at the resort was great - the selection for lunch and dinner was abundant. We both do not have one negative thing to say about the resort or the island and are recommending it to all of our family and friends!!! The trip will stay in our memories forever and we hope that we will be able to visit Barbados again in the future.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
24 Thank OntarioStephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2007

This hotel was absolutely fantastic! We wanted a clean, upscale (but not a stuffy posh place), beachfront hotel with a kitchenette. We took our college age daughter with us and wanted a nice second bedroom arrangement and a safe place. It was better than we could have imagined. Barbados is not a cheap place, but after visting around the island, the Bougainvillea was well priced and worth it for its location, great staff, cleanliness, safety, etc. Many of the staff are long term employees. It was well worth it to go the second week of December vs. the third or fourth week when the prices more than doubled for "holiday" rates. The weather was lovely. The food that some reviewers commented on about not being great - is the same food served everywhere on the island! If you want any kind of variety you need to go to a specific ethnic restaurant because all levels of restaurants literally served everything that you got at the Bougainvillea. We were a bit disappointed that island-wide there was not much in the way of Caribbean flare food like on other islands, but once we got over that and a meal was a meal, we just enjoyed the peaceful ambiance of the island instead.

I wouldn't really drive on the island - they are crazy drivers along with driving British style on the left. We just hired a driver for the day and got where we wanted without being stressed out - so be prepared for many taxi fees as the buses are usually crowded and we were too confused to use them. Unless you are staying right in a town, you will need transportation to get to any other restaurants or sightsee. Though we did quite a bit of walking (it is safe as far as crime), but the sidewalks disappeared a lot and it was dangerous walking on blind curves with the crazy drivers.

Back to the Bougainvillea - I would go there again in a heartbeat and my parents will be going there for five weeks next year based on our experience. It really is very safe. Around the island we never saw a beggar and never were hassled or felt unsafe ever. We liked our little poolside bar and the chairs on the beach and an umbrella any time you asked for it. They do wonderful Christmas events if you are there for that part of the season. I am glad, though, that we weren't there when it was totally full. We had two toilet clogs (in different toilets) and maintenance was there to fix it within minutes each time - very impressive. Next time I would probably get a little less expensive unit since we were always outside by the pool or on the beach (even late into the night), our three balconies were just about wasted on us.

The Pirate Cruise was a blast, the Bajan dance show at The Plantation "Roots and Rythyms" was fantastic (and they never stopped pouring the alcohol!!!), driving around to historic areas was interesting, and we even saw some of the elusive green monkeys running around in a residential area we were driving through. It is not a cheap island, but most people are employed and crime is low, so it is a nice place to go and not worry about leaving your resort - so it's a trade off on being a little more expensive (but knowing you are assisting in keeping their unemployment low) or going to a place where your resort is nice, but you won't leave it much or feel uncomfortable when you do. As I said, I feel very good about my parents going there (in their 70s) and not worrying about their safety.

You won't go wrong with Bougainvillea - I am glad I listened to the TripAdvisor reports. Most of the "all inclusive" on the island don't give you much more than food included (and alcohol is an add-on) - so save your money, get a good place to stay like the Bougainvillea, and spend that all inclusive money on other sightseeing - and then the Bougainvillea doesn't seem quite as expensive after all (and their drinks are reasonably priced for all the strong alcohol they put in them). Have fun there!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
31 Thank LDoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
8.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Property: Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#6 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#8 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Resort
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing