We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Beautiful Bougainvillea Beach Resort, my home away from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2010

The Bougainvillea Beach Resort, welcomes their guests with a breathtaking view from the moment you step into the elegant lobby. You can see and hear numerous waterfalls and pools, lush gardens that are home to a multitude of bird species and the brilliant turquoise sea just beyond the pools. Located in Christ Church Parish on the southern coast of Barbados it is within walking distance of Oistens where you can enjoy the Friday Night Fish Fry , walk in the other direction along the beach and it will take you right into the St. Lawrence Gap where one can find restaurants, convenience stores and night clubs.

Our deluxe suite was spacious, bright and spotless. The bedroom was furnished with a comfortable king-sized bed, plenty of drawers and closet space and large windows that opened to the garden below. At night we kept our window opened allowing the ocean breeze, the sound of tiny tree frogs and the steady rhythm of the surf to lull us into a deep and restful sleep. The large bathroom, decorated with fresh Bougainvillea flowers, was equipped with double sinks, liquid soaps, shampoos and conditioners provided in dispensers on the wall. The kitchen, dining area and living room are decorated in soothing peach, green and cream tones and comfortable furniture. The large bright dinning area next to the fully equipped kitchen makes it easy to prepare meals or enjoy a meal at one of the Bougainvillea's restaurants, Lanterns is right on the beach next to the ocean or Buono Amici for Italian are well worth treating yourself to.

We have stayed at the Bougainvillea many times over the years and we are welcomed back like we are family. Stephen who handles luggage is the first to greet us with his ever present smile, he is a voracious reader so please, bring him a book when you go. The ladies at the reception desk are always a joy to see, dressed in their bright outfits and ready to get you to your room as quickly as possible. Most of the staff have worked there for years and are friendly and happy to oblige most any request with a smile and can do attitude. Visit Marguerite at the pool bar for one of her especially tasty rum punches, one of the best on the island. There are three pools, a swim-up pool surrounding most of the bar, a kiddie pool and the waterfall pool. I use the waterfall pool for a water massage, just stand under it and feel the relief. I love the location, the staff, the spacious suites and the view...not to mention the variety of birds who join us for our morning coffee on the balcony. The Bougainvillea Beach Resort is my home away from home; I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G10Reporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,475 - 1,481 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying here for 2 weeks and found it a fabulous hotel. The hotel rooms and grounds are immaculate and the beach is combed daily. The location is perfect for St Lawrence gap and for Oistins and the staff are indeed very friendly and helpful. We had a studio and it was huge, well decorated and EVERY room has a beach view so dont worry. The restaurants are decent and well operated with varied choices. There are only 2 hotels on the island that can claim to be better than here and they are Sandy Lane and The Crane but neither of these offer such a secluded beach with ample sunloungers and personal service and are 3 times the cost. The only drawback of the hotel is the pool bar which is incredibly expensive except at happy hour between 3.30 and 4.30 daily, when it is packed and full of atmosphere. Its almost as though the hotel doesnt want a rowdy atmosphere of drinkers and have deliberately put the bar prices at unbelievable prices to deter them so in the evenings many go to Pablo's bar down the street for a reasonably priced beer or cocktail. This is also reflected in the evening entertainment which is very low key and more for the romantics than a family party atmosphere and it all finishes at 10pm so as not to disturb sleping guests with children. Of course if you want entertainment go to the Gap for 10USD taxi or walk up the road and get one of the taxi/vans indentifiable by their red stripe on the side for 1.50BDS a bargain and great fun and there's lots of them running from Bridgetown to Silver Sands. These vans can be flagged down anywhere and save a fortune on hideous taxi fares.
Whilst here we rented a car from Fat Jacks up the road and what a laugh that was. Fat Jack is in fact from Yorkshire and has lived here for 15 years. Fat Jack will undercut any quote you get but you must pay him cash ( he will even drive you to the bank!) his cars are all Stoutes old vehicles which to be honest have seen better days but are fun to drive as you dont mind bumping them around a bit as it only adds to the bumps they already have. We got a great deal on a Jimney jeep and always left doors windows and canopy down without fear of it being stolen as theives would probably laugh too much too drive them away!
People write about Oistins on a Friday and what a great night it is and they are absolutely right! Its not about eating fish at all but rather about having fun at the open air dance disco (very 80's) and ballroom style dancing too! Its a great atmosphere with everyone smiling having fun and no hint of trouble or hassle fron vendors.
Talking of vendors, the ones on the beach are easily brushed away with a polite no thanks but they will sell anything from Aloe Vera to cannabis and plenty of times you will be referred to as Charlie but believe me they are not guessing at your name.
I read Tripadvisor prior to my visit and was pleased by the tip given of the food vans at lunchtimes which park at the entrance to the hotel. These vans sell fresh Bajun food for next to nothing and even the hotel receptionists get their lunches from here. You can buy here and eat in the hotel no problem, in fact one night reception ordered a pizza for us from an outside company and the delivery man bought it staight to our loungers on the beach!
If your undecided about the similar priced hotels and cant make your minds up then just book here its sooooo wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wizardmagicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We went to the Bougainvillea back in December 2008 and I've only just got round to writing this review, sorry. I doubt if it's changed much to be fair.
At least I can add some more photos to the collection.


Flight

We flew with Virgin who were ok, nothing special but the entertainment centre embedded in the seat in front reduces the insanity of a 9 hour flight.

Weather

We were there over Christmas and it was cloudy for much of the two weeks and it rained for 24 hours straight at one point.
We asked the locals if this was normal for the time of year but they said it wasn't and that we'd been unlucky.
For future reference their summer is March/April time so that's the best time to go apparently.

Hotel

Firstly I should say that we were pleasantly surprised when The Bougainvillea informed us in advance that they would be upgrading us to a luxury suite because the pool outside some of the Sand Acres rooms was being refurbished.
So the room we had was 5310 on the third floor (no lift) and it was a lovely apartment with plenty of space and a large bathroom and lounge.
The balcony overlooked other apartments and the central pools.
It included a small kitchen with everything you need to cook a meal.

Self catering

To save money we deliberately chose a self-catering hotel rather than a full or half-board. This proved to be a bit counter-productive however, as the local supermarkets are very expensive and make M&S look like Kwik Save.
The quality of the food in the supermarkets was also pretty poor.
Consequently we tried eating out but found that to be ridiculously expensive. A meal that you would pay £40 for in London cost us £90 in Barbados.
This is partially due to the weak pound but only partially.
One of the benefits of living in London is that wherever you go on holiday in the world it's bound to be cheaper. This is the first time I've ever been anywhere more expensive and it was a shock.

Excursions

We booked the holiday through Virgin and their rep offered us various excursions including a Catamaran boat trip. They called it 'Virgins Ahoy'.
The main reason we booked that trip is because they promised us a swim with turtles but it was disappointingly short. We can't have been with the turtles for more than about 8-10 minutes.
It was still a good day out and well organised but we were mainly there for the turtles.
Seeing them so briefly gave us a taste for it so on another day we ended up getting a cab to a local pier near the hotel and throwing fish heads into the sea.
The turtles soon arrived and the underwater camera was put to good use. This time we could take as long as we liked and it cost us nothing.

The other excursion Virgin offered was called Bajan Roots & Rhythms.
This is a night out sold to us by Virgin at great expense which consisted of driving down the road for 5 minutes on a coach and sitting in a large theatre.
Kids would enjoy this night out but we didn't as we were genuinely hoping to be exposed to some Bajan roots and rhythms as the title says. As it turns out it consisted of a steel drums band playing Christmas tunes followed by a dance group who did African tribal dancing to 90's house music!
This was then followed by choreographed dancing to Rhianna tunes (she's from Barbados).
Essentially a culturally vacant night out for £75. The tasteless food was inclusive.

Beach & Sea

The beach that the hotel is on is stunning (see photos) soft white sand and bright turquoise sea.
Whilst we were there the sea was fairly rough which made snorkelling impossible but we were told that it can vary from year to year.
What was disappointing about the hotel is that they clearly didn't have enough sunbeds or parasols to go around. They were free to use which is nice but we had to complain more than once as there weren't enough loungers.
For the money we paid we expected better.
When it comes to watersports you can use the hotel jet ski on the beach but it'll cost you £43 for 30 minutes.

Self catering

To save money we deliberately chose a self-catering hotel rather than a full or half-board. This proved to be a bit counter-productive however, as the local supermarkets are very expensive and make M&S look like Kwik Save.
The quality of the food in the supermarkets was also pretty poor.
Consequently we tried eating out but found that to be ridiculously expensive. A meal that you would pay £40 for in London cost us £90 in Barbados.
This is partially due to the weak pound but only partially.
One of the benefits of living in London is that wherever you go on holiday in the world it's bound to be cheaper. This is the first time I've ever been anywhere more expensive and it was a shock.

Entertainment

On Monday nights the hotel puts on a BBQ night and a 'Cocktail party'.
The barbecue was quite tasty and we ate well but the cocktail party was nothing like you would imagine.
If someone invites you to a cocktail party you think of a large variety of exotic Carribean drinks perhaps with opportunities to try different types, maybe some music or a band - something to get the atmosphere going.

What actually happened was that the hotel staff put rum punch in small plastic cups on a table. One 'cocktail', no music, no party.
Next to the table of plastic cups they had sold floor space to local jewellers so they could try and sell us their wares.
Great business for the hotel - they charge the jewellers to put the tables there AND charge us a fortune for tickets to a cocktail 'party'.

Staff

Read through some of the reviews of the Bougainvillea and you'll notice a recurring theme - frosty reception staff.
I agree completely with the other reviewers who mentioned this.
For some unknown reason the girls on reception are not nice to deal with. It's not that they're rude it's just that they give the impression of complete indifference as if they couldn't care less about you.
Sometimes you feel like you are inconveniencing them by interrupting them from their paperwork.
For the money you pay to stay there you'd think they could manage to break a smile occasionally.
One day we asked them a question and they flatly said "I don't know" and we actually had to prompt them with "Do you think you could find out for us please?" because the thought hadn't occurred to them to ask someone else or look it up.

By contrast the bellmen are the complete opposite, they couldn't be warmer or friendlier.
We had a couple of problems with our room, the air con stopped working etc. but every time we called reception they sent staff up to us immediately.
You could never accuse maintenance of being slow to react.
The maid service is also to a good standard. They wash up for you and even fill your ice cube tray for you.
So the receptionists are the only people letting the side down and considering how often we spoke to them it was regularly disappointing.

To be fair to the hotel, they did leave us a Christmas present of a bottle of Rum which was a nice touch.

Overall we had a nice holiday but the only downside was the weather and the extremely high cost of food and drinks.
We went through twice the spending money that we normally would on any other holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inchpractice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BougainvilleaResort, Manager at Bougainvillea Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2010

Thank you very much for your kind comments. There are just a few points that we would like to clarify.

Barbados is as expensive or as affordable as you would like it to be. There is a wide range of restaurants, dining and grocery options; and it is reasonable to say that there is something to fit every budget. Self-catering is a great option as it offers flexibility - you can conveniently prepare something in your room or opt to dine at restaurant on or off property. There are also meal plans available at Bougainvillea, so there is the option of pre-booking some or all of your meals.

Christmas/New Years is the most expensive time to visit Barbados, so cost is a consideration for those opting to travel at that time. However, there really is no “bad” time to visit, most months have excellent weather but of course, weather can be unpredictable, this has been seen around the world recently. A good tip to note is that the summer and fall months are considerably more affordable.

With regard to the comment under the heading “Entertainment”, we would like to make clear that Bougainvillea does not charge any of the vendors who attend our weekly cocktail party nor do we charge our guests to attend. It is a complimentary hour with hors d’oeuvres, fruit and rum punch served, and is designed to provide a more informal opportunity for our guests to meet our management and staff. There are no tickets sold.

There is a barbeque buffet after the cocktail party, which is simply a dining option.

Finally, we have noted and appreciate both the positive and negative feedback under the heading “staff”. We continually work to improve and the comments from reviewers who have visited recently are good indicators that we have been making every effort to make the entire experience at Bougainvillea a wonderful and memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We just returned from a week at the Bougainvillea Resort, overall very enjoyable place on a friendly island. The front desk staff and bell men were very friendly during check in and very approachable for all other business. Our room was in a great location overlooking the water with a balcony to enjoy. Our suite was spacious and clean but could use some updating in decor and comfort. Both restaurants were serving and there were well attended cocktail hours and entertainment nightly. We enjoyed good service and food at Lanterns and a buffet dinner at Buono amici. The pool bar service was functional at best not a place to hang around. The gym and pool areas were well tended. Maxwell beach is wonderful, there are waves so if you want calm water look to the west coast. Location wise it is very easy to get a taxi and head to St. Lawrence Gap or Oistins (we walked to Oistins, not far but poor to non existent sidewalks on a busy road) We enjoyed our stay and would consider this resort for future visits

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NortheastRasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We fell in love with the Bougainvillea Beach Resort. Our room was spacious, bright, and beautifully decorated with white country furniture and green trim. The view was wonderful. The staff here is so amazingly wonderful. Any time I asked for something, the reply was likely to be, "Of course you can get ..." They are friendly, courteous, helpful, and know what they are doing. I think this is because the staff is happy. One woman at the desk said that she had been there for five years, and she was still considered a "newby". I think the staff stays there because it is a great place to work. The only drawback is that there were many days when the surf was too strong to be able to swim in the ocean. However, their organic shaped pool, with many waterfalls was wonderful for swimming and meeting people. Also, if you have a car, there is a beach in Oistins called Miami Beach, where there is a quiet cove where you can always swim. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else -- even though we had our second week on the west coast. I think it's the nicest place we have ever stayed -- and we have traveled far and wide. We just felt like we were at home. It's close to St. Lawrence and the St. Lawrence Gap where there are lots of restaurants and nightlife. I can recommend New Century Chinese restaurant, Harlequin's, and The Black Pearl. Our best meal was up south of Holetown at Cariba Restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FUBSYWOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We had a lovely week vacation in Barbados. After reading on this site about where to stay, we're glad to have chosen the Bougainvillea. Beautiful grounds and awesome location. Good service and the rooms are clean, which is more important to me than perhaps needing a touch of updating. Two plate hot plate, kitchen supplies, can opener, fridge / freezer, stove, microwave, kettle etc. in the room for making some meals. Food / restaurants expensive so some home cooking is a nice option. Small green mini-mart just to the right of the hotel for basic food, sandwiches and international calling cards. White lunch vans parked across from the hotel over lunch hour offer a full meal for $10 USD. Hotel offers shuttle to Bridgetown for duty-free shopping. For duty free, must have passport and return stub from customs form with flight info). Taxis everywhere also if you need. Oistins (small fishing village) an easy 15-20 min walk- tried to get there along the beach but interrupted by rocky areas. Instead, turn right from hotel and keep walking. At the intersection, keep right along the beach side. Oistins has a Super Center for groceries. We had our taxi stop there briefly coming from the airport to pick up breakfast / lunch supples (just each gave him $5 USD). In the other direction is St Lawence Gap, a busy area with lots of restaurants. Walk to right along beach until cannot go any longer as you hit Dover Beach Resort. You will see a path walkway that leads up to the Gap. It is only a 5 min beach walk, and we found a larger market where it is closer to get groceries. Walked back to resort later in evening and felt very safe as you pass resorts the whole way with lights and people. I think Bougainvillea has the nicest resort / beach on the south side. As the guys at the WaterSport area and they will set you up an umbrella. This is a quiet resort ..... outside entertainment and bar area closes at 10 pm so things are quiet. Fine with us, we actually got sleep and felt rested. Great gym and internet for $10 USD for 30 min (ask at desk). Felt very safe walking around, and island people are extrememly friendly and helpful. A pleasure to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank love2rest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

I booked our stay at the Bougainvillea based on Tripadvisor reviews and was not at all disappointed. The location on the south coast, very close to Oistens and the airport, made it a very convenient location. Yes, it can be a little windy by the beach and the pools, but that helps cool off the hot days. What could be more convenient than a few steps to the ocean and to the pools. While the hotel may be considered a "little dated", the property is extremely well maintained and the cleanliness of both the rooms and the outdoor surroundings is superb. We had a suite which worked out quite well as we could do a little food preparation for breakfast before heading off to our day's activities (or just lying by the pool). All in all, I didn't have any problem as the staff were very helpful.

The Barbadians were all so helfpul and warm and welcoming -- a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank devoted_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,094 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,737 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
2.1 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#24 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#6 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#8 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: $179 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Bougainvillea Resort
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing