We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff and Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Staff and Customer Service”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I just returned from a week at the Bougainvillea Beach Resort. I have never in my entire travels experienced such amazing customer service and people. Every single employee there was kind, genuine and wanting to make your experience an amazing one. I just can't say enough good things about the staff and people there.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The beach is absolutely beautiful outside of the resort. The waters are a bit rough at times but that's to be expected on the south side of the island. My week there still provided 3-4 good days of being able to go into the ocean and play. Just laying by the beach is incredible with the green blue waters. They also keep the beach and pools very clean and tidy.

I would most definitely go back to this resort. My only complaint would be that the walls were slightly thin. I had a neighbor that had an awful cough and was sick and I could hear him quite a bit. It wasn't bad enough though to not make me want to return!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    636
    145
    32
    28
See reviews for
591
945
36
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
K-W, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We returned to the Bougainvillea again this year may 2014. The staff were great from check-in to check-out we were treated with friendly attitudes and a helpful staff, a real treat. Cudos to the management for keeping the hotel and staff working so well.
We enjoyed a one bedroom suite room 516, the beach view was a bit tighter than what we had last year but more than adequate. and we still had nice breezes coming in off the ocean. The one bedroom suite came with what I would call a full size kitchen and loads of space.
The Water can be rough at times but on the whole the wave action this year was quite do-able.
If one goes to the Bougainvillea, keep an eye out for Leroy's catering van around 1pm across the street from the hotel lobby. He serves wonderful take out food fresh each day and varied each day, I tried the curried lamb, just delightful. an easy way to get a take out lunch for beach dining or back in the room, $20 Barbadian or $10 US.
To get groceries its easiest to take a taxi $10 US each way, or if you want the grocery store does have a van which will take you back but you may have to wait, plus our taxi driver waited for us which was super convenient.
Make sure you book the shuttle for Oisten's Friday fish fry through the Hotel as well, Wayne the driver does a great job and he gets you there and back no hassle.
Overall a great place to vacation in Barbados.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was our fourth visit to The Bougainvillea and each times just gets better. We can't say enough about the staff. The maids, gardeners, bar staff, waitresses, are all so friendly while the reception staff and management, can't do enough for you. It's situated right on the beach and the views are stunning. If you're thinking of going to Barbados, we can't recommend The Bougainvillea enough. Book it - you won't be disappointed. - Mac & Anne

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

On my last day here...sob sob. My friend and I had a wonderful time. We had a deluxe one bedroom apartment, which was fabulous, a view of the pool and ocean, room 5325. We self catered rather my friend he did. Side note to all the ladies make sure your beau can cook, makes the vacation more enjoyable as i'm drinking my champagne and eating horsd'oevers he made, love him for it. The king size bed very comfy, bathroom big enough for two. Housekeeping emmaculate. Some what reaonable walking distance to the big supermarkets, but you can always hail a cab or get a bus. Ok here are just a few down siders 1) Happy hour limted on what kind of drinks you can order that are 2 for 1. 2) the ocean can be very rough at times, we worked around that we walked to Enterprise Beach which is about a mile and the water is nice and calm. 3) The entertainment was lacking a little a little bit on the dry side, however if you go down to St.Lawerence Gap you should get your entertainment on...by the way if you do go down to the St.Lawrence Gap do visit this restaurant named Tapas it is right on the boardwalk ask for a outside table ,i promise you the food and the ambience will not disappoint.Other than that we had a grand time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NyNiftyfifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Having just returned from my first trip to Barbados and the Bougainvillea Beach Hotel; I can honestly say this was the best holiday by far that I have ever experienced. The staff throughout the complex were friendly and could not do enough to make our stay one to remember. The rooms where immaculate and very comfortable, the food was fantastic (we stayed all inclusive, the menu was extensive and offered excellent variety). It is well wort a trip into Oistins and the famous fish fry which has an excellent atmosphere where locals and visitors can enjoy a night side by side. The beach is literally steps away from the hotel, uncrowded so loungers are not a problem.
I cannot fault this hotel in anyway, if you want a holiday where you return feeling totally relaxed then book now, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We are a family of four, including a 20 year old daughter and 22 year old son. We all agreed that our weeks stay at Bougainvillea was the best vacation that we've ever had. We stayed in two of the junior suites on the second floor (5218 and 5219). The suites have a small, but very functional kitchenette with a two burner electric stove top, microwave, nice size refrigerator and everything needed for our family. The beds were comfortable. The entire resort was beautiful with the flowers and landscaping, the swimming pools, and the rooms and grounds were very well-maintained. Even the maid service was exceptional, keeping the rooms immaculate during our stay.

The staff was a great resource for helping us make the most of our stay in Barbados. They gave us excellent advice on area entertainment and restaurants. The food at Bougainvillea was good too.

The beaches are beautiful also. We loved just walking along the beaches on the South coast around the resort. We would walk in the mornings towards St. Lawrence Gap and back. It's a nice location too. You're close to Oistin's and the fish fry there, and also to the Gap in the other direction. Taxis are always available to take you anywhere you want on the island. Our first day in Barbados we hire a taxi driver to give our family a full-day tour of the island. We travelled the entire island and the driver was an exceptional resource of information regarding what activities to do and places to visit. We were able to spend as long or as short a time as we wanted at each stop. Taxis are very reasonable on the island so we felt no need to ride the buses.

Tonight is our first night back home in the USA and we're already talking about returning again. It was just a dream vacation at a wonderful resort.

Room Tip: The junior suites are a good value. We stayed on the second floor and had a fantastic view of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LifeJourney222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We have just returned from our first trip to Barbados and this hotel made our holiday perfect. Check in was easy and efficient, our room wasn't ready when we first arrived as we were slightly early so we were given tokens for the pool bar to use whilst we waited. We stayed in a junior suite which was perfect for us. There is a fully equipped kitchen to use and room is very spacious, we were lucky enough to be given one of the 3 rooms in the hotel that had a private plunge pool at the end of our patio which was a perfect touch!

We only ate in one of the restaurants which was Lanterns by the sea. The food there is lovely and they were very happy to accommodate for my fussy partner and offer things that were not on the menu. Staff were very friendly and always made sure our glasses were topped up. If you are self catering like we were there is a large supermarket 5 minutes away from the hotel (Super centre) where you can buy all the groceries you need. We later discovered Big B super centre which we found offered a lot more choice and preferred it to the Super Centre. There are always taxi drivers outside of the hotel who are very friendly and will take you anywhere so getting around is not problem at all.

I cannot fault this hotel in any way at all and I can fully understand why the reviews are so good. Our room was absolutely spotless and cleaned everyday by housekeeping who did a great job. The grounds of the hotel are kept immaculate by the maintenance staff who you will see during the day making sure everything (pools etc) are kept clean. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: If you are staying in a junior suite request one with a plunge pool if it is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,030 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,613 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
2.1 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#23 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Property: Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#5 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing